Alexander von Humboldt Professorship – Award Winners 2011

Harald Clahsen

Psycholinguistics
Harald Clahsen is one of the internationally most renowned German linguists. He is a leading researcher in the fields of language acquisition, language processing and language disorders. His work links linguistic theory with experimental psycholinguistics and techniques of neuroscience. Clahsen is to become professor for the Psycholinguistics of Multilingualism at the University of Potsdam and will be the founding director of the new Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism (PRIM), to reinforce the Area of Excellence in Cognitive Sciences of the Human Sciences Faculty.

Nominating university: University of Potsdam
  • Harald Clahsen
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Harald Clahsen,
    born in Germany in 1955, doctorate in Wuppertal in 1981, initial research and teaching positions there and in Hamburg. From 1983 to 1993, lecturer at the University of Düsseldorf, where he was granted the university's Habilitation Award. Since then, full professor at the University of Essex, Department of Language and Linguistics, Colchester, UK. In October 2011, the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship award winner became Professor of Psycholinguistics and Multilingualism at the University of Potsdam, also being appointed founding director of the new Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism (PRIM). Memberships on several boards and numerous distinctions, including the Gerhard Hess Award of the German Research Foundation, and Fellow of the British Academy.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Harald ClahsenView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

David DiVincenzo

Quantum Physics
David DiVincenzo was one of the first physicists to engage in quantum information and is considered an eminent authority on quantum information processing. In particular, his name is associated with the development of criteria for the quantum computer, known as the DiVincenzo Criteria. In addition, his work is also significant in the fields of materials science and solid-state physics. As part of the Jülich Aachen Research Alliance (JARA), DiVincenzo is to become the head of the Institute of Theoretical Quantum Information, which is to be founded at RWTH Aachen University. He will also be heading the Institute of Nanoelectronics at the Forschungszentrum Jülich.

Nominating university: RWTH Aachen University in conjunction with the Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • David DiVincenzo
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Dr. David DiVincenzo,
    born in the USA in 1959, doctorate at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA in 1983, then postdoctoral position at Cornell University, Ithaca, USA; Research Manager at IBM Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York, USA since 1985. Having been granted an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship in 2010, he became a professor at the Institute of Theoretical Quantum Information at RWTH Aachen University and director of the Peter Grünberg Institute of Theoretical Nanoelectronics at the Forschungszentrum Jülich in January 2011. Various distinctions and memberships, such as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

David DiVincenzoView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Brian Foster

Particle Physics
Brian Foster is acknowledged as one of the most important experimental particle physicists of the day. He has played a leading role in numerous international projects involving particle accelerators, and both his theoretical and his practical work developing innovative measuring instruments have expedited progress in accelerator physics. He has received countless awards, including the Humboldt Research Award (1999). Foster is invited to work at DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrontron), Hamburg, and as a professor, teaching and researching on the future of particle acceleration at the University of Hamburg.

Nominating university: University of Hamburg in conjunction with DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron), Hamburg
  • Brian Foster
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Brian Foster,
    born in the United Kingdom in 1954, graduate Student at the University of Oxford, 1975-1978. Research Associate, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Chilton, 1978-1982. Research Associate, Imperial College of Science and Technology, London, 1982-1984. Various positions in the Department of Physics, Bristol University, 1984-2003. Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Oxford, Subdepartment of Particle Physics, Oxford, United Kingdom since 2003. Winner of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s Humboldt Research Award, 1998. Member of the Royal Society, London, since 2008. He was selected to become an Alexander von Humboldt Professor in 2010 and took up his position as a professor for experimental physics at the University of Hamburg in June 2011. The appointment was made jointly with DESY in the context of their collaborative Partnership for Innovation, Education and Research (PIER).

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Brian FosterView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)


Gerhard Kramer

Information Theory and Engineering
Gerhard Kramer is one of the world’s leading researchers in information theory and communications engineering. His innovative achievements in the most diverse areas of telecommunications technology, from radio engineering to optical data communication, have been highly acclaimed. In the course of his career, Kramer has continually combined theory and applications, working, for example, at the Bell Laboratories in the USA, one of the world’s top addresses for industrial applied research. Kramer will be invited to assume the chair in communications engineering at TUM (Technische Universität München) and to help uphold and enhance Munich’s position as a global leader in the field.

Nominating university: TUM (Technische Universität München)
  • Gerhard Kramer
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kramer,
    born 1970, studied electrical engineering at the University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada. Doctorate at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zürich), Switzerland, 1998. Consultant at Endora Tech AG in Basel, Switzerland, until 2000. Member of the technical staff at Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, Murray Hill, USA, 2000-2008. Visiting professorships at Columbia University, New York, USA, and Korea University, Seoul, South Korea. Full Professor at the University of Southern California, Department of Electrical Engineering, Los Angeles, California, USA since 2009. Kramer became an Alexander von Humboldt Professor holding the chair in communications engineering at TUM Munich in October 2010.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Gerhard KramerView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Dirk Kreimer

Mathematical Physics
Dirk Kreimer is one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of mathematical physics. As a physicist, he is not only held in the highest esteem by his colleagues in the discipline, but also by top mathematicians with whom he regularly cooperates. At Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Kreimer is supposed to drive the symbiosis of mathematics and theoretical physics in Germany, focusing on fields such as quantum field theory, and helping Germany draw level with the best in the world. Kreimer is scheduled to become a member of the Department of Mathematics and the Department of Physics as well as the Director of the new Interdisciplinary Centre for Mathematical Physics.
 
no longer receiving sponsorship

Nominating university: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Dirk Kreimer
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Dirk Kreimer,
    born 1960, doctorate and post-doctorate at Johannes Gutenberg Universität Mainz, 1992. Post-doctorate at the University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia, 1993-1995. Return to Mainz, 1995. Professor of Mathematical Physics and Scientific Director at Boston University, USA, 2001-2002. From 2002, he was a researcher at the IHÉS (Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques), Bures-sur-Yvette, France. In January 2011, Kreimer became Alexander von Humboldt Professor for Mathematical Physics at HU Berlin.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Dirk KreimerView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Hannes Leitgeb

Philosophy
Hannes Leitgeb is one of the world’s leading academics working at the interface of logic, mathematics and cognitive science. His numerous innovative achievements include his work on artificial neural networks. This is where Leitgeb closes the interdisciplinary gap between research into artificial intelligence and brain research. In Munich Leitgeb will build up a new centre of mathematical philosophy which will cooperate closely with neurophilosophy and neuroscience.

Nominating university: LMU München
  • Hannes Leitgeb
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Hannes Leitgeb,
    born Austria, 1972, doctorates in mathematics (1998) and philosophy (2001), both at Salzburg, subsequently assistant professor there; in 2004, a year in Stanford as Erwin Schrödinger Fellow; from 2005, at University of Bristol, UK, initially as reader and from 2007 – at the age of 35 – as holder of the chair bridging the philosophy and mathematics departments. Granted the Humboldt Foundation’s Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award and the Philip Leverhulme Prize in 2007. Selected as an Alexander von Humboldt Professor in 2010; assumed the chair in logic and philosophy of language in October 2010, concurrently becoming head of the Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy at LMU Munich.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Hannes LeitgebView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Vahid Sandoghdar

Nano-optics
Vahid Sandoghdar is one of the world’s leading scientists in nano-optics, a field to which he has added a further area of study: single-molecule nanophotonics. The experimental techniques he introduced were also highly influential in other fields of research, such as physical chemistry, biophysics, optical microscopy and quantum optics. Sandoghdar is to become the director of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light and professor at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, where he will sharpen the strategic research focus of the field of optics. In cooperation with various departments, he will develop new fields of research, such as biophotonics and nano quantum optics. The establishment of a Centre for Light Microscopy is also planned under his direction.

Nominating university: University of Erlangen-Nürnberg in conjunction with the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Erlangen
  • Vahid Sandoghdar
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Vahid Sandoghdar,
    born in Iran in 1966, studies at the University of California, doctorate from Yale University New Haven, Connecticut, USA in 1993. From 1993 to 1995, he worked at the École normale supérieure in Paris, France. Between 1995 and 2001, he worked in Germany at the University of Konstanz. From 2001, he has been professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, Laboratory of Physical Chemistry, Switzerland. In March 2011, he became an Alexander von Humboldt Professor, Director of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen and holder of the chair in nano-optics, plasmonics and biophotonics in the Department of Physics at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg. Memberships of various bodies, e.g. the American Chemical Society, the Swiss Chemical Society and the German Physical Society.

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

Vahid SandoghdarView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Alec Michael Wodtke

Physical Chemistry
Alec Wodtke has made significant contributions to photo and atmospheric chemistry and is a world leader in the field of molecular interactions at interfaces. His work has produced fundamental contributions to catalysis research, the storage and conversion of chemical energy into electrical energy and interface research. This topic is set to be developed into a focus area at Göttingen University as well as at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen. Wodtke is scheduled to become the founding director of a new Centre for Advanced Studies in Energy Conversion.

Nominating university: University of Göttingen in conjunction with the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen
  • Alec Michael Wodtke
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Alec Michael Wodtke,
    born USA, 1959, study and doctorate at the University of California, Berkeley, two-year post-doc at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organisation in Göttingen. Subsequently university career at the University of California, Santa Barbara, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Santa Barbara, USA; since 1996 Full Professor. Wodtke started working in the Department of Physical Chemistry at the University of Göttingen as an Alexander von Humboldt Professor and as the director of the Department of Dynamics at Surfaces at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen in April 2011. Numerous awards, including the National Science Foundation’s Young Investigator Award and the 1997 Humboldt Research Award (at the age of 38).

Links

Downloads

Multimedia

lec Michael WodtkeView Movie (Flash)

Download (QT)

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Press, Communications
and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of Press,
Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur – Die Preisträger 2011

Harald Clahsen

Psycholinguistik
Harald Clahsen ist einer der international angesehensten deutschen Linguisten. Er zählt zu den führenden Forschern auf den Gebieten Spracherwerb, Sprachverarbeitung sowie Sprachstörungen und verbindet bei seiner Arbeit theoretische Linguistik mit experimenteller Psycholinguistik und neurowissenschaftlichen Techniken. An der Universität Potsdam soll Clahsen Professor für "Psycholinguistics of Multilingualism" und Gründungsdirektor des neuen "Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism (PRIM)" werden und damit den "Exzellenzbereich Kognitionswissenschaften" der Humanwissenschaftlichen Fakultät verstärken.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Potsdam
  • Harald Clahsen
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Harald Clahsen,
    geb. 1955 in Deutschland, Promotion 1981 in Wuppertal, dort sowie in Hamburg erste Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeiten, von 1983 bis 1993 Dozent an der Universität Düsseldorf und Auszeichnung mit dem dortigen Habilitationspreis, ab dann als Full Professor an der University of Essex, Department of Language and Linguistics, Colchester, Großbritannien. Zum Oktober 2011 hat er als Preisträger der Alexander von Humboldt-Professur die Professur für Psycholinguistik und Mehrsprachigkeit an der Universität Potsdam angetreten. Verbunden mit der Berufung ist die Ernennung zum Gründungsdirektor des neuen "Potsdam Research Institute of Multilingualism (PRIM)“. Zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften in Gremien, etwa Gerhard Hess-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft sowie Fellow der British Academy.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Harald ClahsenFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

David DiVincenzo

Quantenphysik
David DiVincenzo hat sich als einer der ersten Physiker mit der Quanteninformation beschäftigt und gilt als Koryphäe der Quanteninformationsverarbeitung. Mit seinem Namen wird insbesondere die Entwicklung von Kriterien für den Quantencomputer verbunden, den so genannten "DiVincenzo criteria". Seine Arbeiten haben darüber hinaus auch Bedeutung in den Materialwissenschaften und der Festkörperphysik. DiVincenzo soll im Rahmen der Jülich Aachen Research Alliance (JARA) Leiter des neu zu gründenden Instituts "Theoretical Quantum Information" der RWTH Aachen werden und zugleich am Forschungszentrum Jülich das Institut für Nanoelektronik leiten.

Nominierende Universität: Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen (RWTH) gemeinsam mit dem Forschungszentrum Jülich
  • David DiVincenzo
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. David DiVincenzo,
    geb. 1959 in den USA, Promotion 1983 an der University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, anschließend Postdoktorand an der Cornell University, Ithaca, beide USA. Ab 1985 Research Manager am IBM Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York, USA. Ausgezeichnet mit der Alexander von Humboldt-Professur 2010 ist er seit Januar 2011 erster JARA-Professor am Institut für Quanteninformation der RWTH Aachen und Direktor des Peter Grünberg Instituts für Theoretische Nanoelektronik am Forschungszentrum Jülich. Verschiedene Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften, unter anderem Fellow der American Physical Society.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Brian Foster

Teilchenphysik
Brian Foster gilt als einer der bedeutendsten experimentellen Elementarteilchenphysiker. Er war führend bei zahlreichen internationalen Projekten an Teilchenbeschleunigern und trug durch seine theoretischen Arbeiten, aber auch praktisch, etwa durch die Entwicklung innovativer Messinstrumente, zum Fortschritt der Beschleunigerphysik bei. Zu seinen zahlreichen Auszeichnungen zählt der Humboldt-Forschungspreis. Foster soll am Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY arbeiten und als Professor an der Universität Hamburg zur Zukunft der Teilchenbeschleuniger forschen und lehren.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Hamburg zusammen mit DESY, Hamburg
  • Brian Foster
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Brian Foster,
    geb. 1954 in Großbritannien, 1975-1978 Graduate Student an der University of Oxford, 1978-1982 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Rutherford Appleton Laboratory in Chilton, 1982-1984 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Imperial College of Science and Technology, London. 1984-2003 in verschiedenen Positionen am Department of Physics, Bristol University. Ab 2003 Professor für Experimentelle Physik an der University of Oxford, Subdepartment of Particle Physics, Oxford, Großbritannien. 1998 Humboldt-Forschungspreis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung. Seit 2008 Mitglied der Royal Society, London. 2010 wurde er als Humboldt-Professor ausgewählt und trat an der Universität Hamburg im Juni 2011 eine Professsur für Experimentalphysik an. Die Berufung erfolgte gemeinsam mit DESY im Rahmen der Kooperation der beiden Einrichtungen PIER "Partnership for Innovation, Education and Research".

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Brian FosterFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

Gerhard Kramer

Nachrichtentechnik
Gerhard Kramer ist einer der weltweit herausragenden Wissenschaftler in der Informationstheorie und Nachrichtentechnik. Seine innovativen Leistungen auf den verschiedensten Gebieten der Telekommunikationstechnik von Funktechnik bis hin zur optischen Datenübertragung sind hoch anerkannt. In seiner Karriere verband Kramer stets Theorie mit Anwendung, etwa während seiner Tätigkeit bei den Bell Labs in den USA, eine der weltweit führenden Industrieadressen für angewandte Forschung. An der TU München soll Kramer den Lehrstuhl für Nachrichtentechnik einnehmen und helfen die weltweite Spitzenstellung Münchens auf diesem Gebiet zu erhalten und auszubauen.

Nominierende Universität: Technische Universität München
  • Gerhard Kramer
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kramer,
    geb. 1970 in Kanada, Studium der Elektrotechnik an der University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Kanada. Promotion 1998 an der ETH Zürich, Schweiz. Bis 2000 Consultant bei der Endora Tech AG in Basel, Schweiz. 2000-2008 Technischer Mitarbeiter an den Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, Murray Hill, USA. Gastprofessuren an der Columbia University in New York, USA und der Korea University in Seoul, Südkorea. Ab 2009 Full Professor an der University of Southern California, Department of Electrical Engineering, Los Angeles, Kalifornien, USA. An der TU München leitet Kramer seit Oktober 2010 als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor den Lehrstuhl für Nachrichtentechnik.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Gerhard KramerFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)


Dirk Kreimer

Mathematische Physik
Dirk Kreimer ist einer der international führenden Forscher auf dem Gebiet der mathematischen Physik. Als Physiker genießt er nicht nur höchste Anerkennung unter Kollegen seiner Disziplin, sondern auch unter Spitzenmathematikern, mit denen er regelmäßig zusammenarbeitet. An der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin soll Kreimer die Symbiose von Mathematik und theoretischer Physik in Deutschland auf Gebieten wie der Quantenfeldtheorie voranbringen und dazu beitragen, dass Deutschland zur Weltspitze aufschließt. Kreimer soll sowohl Mitglied des Instituts für Mathematik als auch des Instituts für Physik werden sowie Direktor am neuen "Interdisziplinären Zentrum für Mathematische Physik".

Nominierende Universität: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Dirk Kreimer
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Dirk Kreimer,
    geb. 1960, 1992 Promotion an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, dort Postdoc. 1993-1995 Postdoc an der University of Tasmania in Hobart, Australien. 1995 Rückkehr nach Mainz. 2001-2002 Professor für Mathematische Physik und Wissenschaftlicher Direktor an der Boston University, USA. Ab 2002 Forscher am Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, Bures -sur-Yvette, Frankreich. Seit Januar 2011 ist Kreimer Alexander von Humboldt-Professor für Mathematische Physik an der HU Berlin.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Dirk KreimerFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

Hannes Leitgeb

Philosophie
Hannes Leitgeb ist einer der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftler an der Schnittstelle zwischen Logik, Mathematik und Kognitionswissenschaften. Zu seinen zahlreichen innovativen Beiträgen zählt die Arbeit an künstlichen neuronalen Netzwerken. Hier schlägt Leitgeb die interdisziplinäre Brücke zur Erforschung Künstlicher Intelligenz und zur Hirnforschung. In München soll Leitgeb ein neues Zentrum für mathematische Philosophie aufbauen, das eng mit den Bereichen Neurophilosophie und Neurowissenschaften zusammenarbeiten soll.

Nominierende Universität: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Hannes Leitgeb
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Dr. Hannes Leitgeb,
    geb. 1972 in Österreich, Promotionen in Mathematik (1998) und Philosophie (2001), jeweils in Salzburg. Dort bis zum Assistant Professor, 2004 ein Jahr in Stanford als Erwin Schrödinger Fellow, ab 2005 in Bristol, Großbritannien, zunächst als Reader und ab 2007 - mit damals 35 Jahren - als Lehrstuhlinhaber mit Einbindung sowohl in das Philosophie- wie in das Mathematik-Department. 2007 Auszeichnung mit dem Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Preis der Humboldt-Stiftung sowie mit dem Philip Leverhulme Prize. 2010 für eine Alexander von Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt, seit Oktober 2010 Lehrstuhlinhaber für Logik und Sprachphilosophie und Leiter des Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy an der LMU München.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Hannes LeitgebFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

Vahid Sandoghdar

Nanooptik
Vahid Sandoghdar ist einer der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Nanooptik, die er mit der Nanophotonik mit Einzelmolekülen um ein neues Thema erweitert hat. Mit den von ihm eingeführten experimentellen Techniken hatte er einen großen Einfluss auch auf andere Forschungsgebiete, wie die Physikalische Chemie, Biophysik, optische Mikroskopie und Quantenoptik. Sandoghdar soll Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts und Professor an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg werden, um dort den strategischen Forschungsschwerpunkt Optik zu verstärken und in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Fachbereichen neue Forschungsgebiete wie "Biophotonics" und "Nano Quantum Optics" aufzubauen. Darüber hinaus ist die Einrichtung eines Zentrums für Lichtmikroskopie unter seiner Federführung geplant.

Nominierende Universität: Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts, Erlangen
  • Vahid Sandoghdar
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Vahid Sandoghdar,
    geb. 1966 im Iran, Studium an der University of California, 1993 Promotion an der Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, USA. Von 1993 bis 1995 an der École normale supérieure in Paris, Frankreich. Von 1995 bis 2001 in Deutschland an der Universität Konstanz. Ab 2001 Professor an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) Zürich, Laboratorium für Physikalische Chemie, Zürich, Schweiz. Seit März 2011 ist er als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für die Physik des Lichts in Erlangen und Lehrstuhlinhaber für Nanooptik, Plasmonik und Biophotonik am Department für Physik der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg. Mitgliedschaften in verschiedenen Gremien, wie der American und der Swiss Chemical Society sowie der German Physical Society.

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Vahid SandoghdarFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

Alec Michael Wodtke

Physikalische Chemie
Alec Wodtke hat wesentliche Beiträge im Bereich der Photo- und Atmosphärenchemie geleistet und gehört zu den international führenden Wissenschaftlern im Bereich der molekularen Wechselwirkungen an Grenzflächen. Seine Arbeiten liefern grundlegende Beiträge zu Fragen der Katalyseforschung, der Speicherung und Umwandlung von chemischer in elektrische Energie und der Grenzflächenforschung. Dieses Thema soll als Schwerpunkt der Universität Göttingen sowie des Max-Planck-Instituts für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen ausgebaut werden. Wodtke ist als Gründungsdirektor des hierzu neu zu etablierenden Centre for Advanced Studies in Energy Conversion vorgesehen.

Nominierende Universität: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen zusammen mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen
  • Alec Michael Wodtke
    Foto:Humboldt-Stiftung/
    David Ausserhofer

    Prof. Dr. Alec Michael Wodtke,
    geb. 1959 in den USA, Studium und Promotion an der University of California, Berkeley, Postdoc für zwei Jahre in Göttingen am Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation. Anschließend Hochschulkarriere an der University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, ab 1996 dort als Full Professor am Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Seit April 2011 ist er als Humboldt-Professor am Institut für Physikalische Chemie der Universität Göttingen tätig sowie als Direktor der Abteilung Dynamik an Oberflächen am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen. Zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Young Investigator Award der National Science Foundation und den Humboldt-Forschungspreis 1997 (mit nur 38 Jahren).

Links

Fotodownload

Multimedia

Alec Michael WodtkeFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download (QT)

Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de