Alexander von Humboldt Professorship – The Award Winners 2015

Elisabeth Décultot

Literature

How did scholars in the 18th and 19th centuries read other scholars? What did they record of this in their notes and extract notebooks? And what found its way into their works? The French literary scholar Elisabeth Décultot follows tracks like these in order to understand the transfer of knowledge in the art theory and aesthetics of the Enlightenment. With success: Décultot is one of the world’s most distinguished researchers on the history of aesthetics in the 18th century. With her help, the Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg wants to become the leading address for Enlightenment research in Germany. Elisabeth Décultot is to extend the focus at Halle-Wittenberg to include the European and global context.

Nominating university: Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg

  • Elisabeth Décultot
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Décultot
    Born in 1968; research professor with the title Directrice de Recherche at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique in Paris (CNRS/EHESS-Centre Georg Simmel) since 2005. Following studies of the German language and literature, Elisabeth Décultot obtained her doctorate at the École normale supérieure de Paris (ENS) in 1995 and her post-doctoral degree (habilitation) in 2004. Elisabeth Décultot has already conducted research in Germany, including as a Humboldt Fellow in Cologne and Berlin. In her work, such as on Johann Joachim Winckelmann, a pioneer in scientific archaeology and art history, she goes far beyond the bounds of her discipline: In 2010 she curated an exhibition in the Louvre Museum, where she has been a member of the scientific advisory board since 2011.

Harald Andrés Helfgott

Pure Mathematics

Every odd number from seven upwards is the sum of three prime numbers according to Goldbach’s ternary conjecture, which has kept mathematicians busy since the 18th century. They have been searching for evidence to prove or refute the conjecture for over two hundred years - but, in spite of remarkable advances in the early 20th century and steady progress since then, a proof was not forthcoming. In 2013, Peruvian mathematician, Harald Andrés Helfgott, gave a complete proof of the ternary Goldbach conjecture with some computer assistance. And it was not his first breakthrough in mathematics. He has solved fundamental problems on growth in groups and has contributed to the application of diophantine geometry in number theory. He is now set to become an Alexander von Humboldt Professor at the University of Göttingen, reinforcing the research focus on algebraic geometry and number theory and helping Göttingen to advance from an internationally recognised centre of excellence to become a global leader in the field.

Nominating university: University of Göttingen

  • Harald Andrés Helfgott
    Photo: Kate Juschenko

    Prof. Dr. Harald Andrés Helfgott
    Born in Peru in 1977, Harald Andrés Helfgott has been a senior researcher at the Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) in Paris since 2010, becoming a research professor in October 2014. He studied in the United States, first at Brandeis University and then at Princeton University, where he took his doctorate in 2003. He continued his career as a postdoc at Yale University, USA, and as a lecturer at the Université de Montréal, Canada. After a sojourn at the University of Bristol, UK, Helfgott joined CNRS in France in 2010. He is a member of the American Mathematical Society and the Société Mathématique de France. In his home country of Peru he holds an honorary professorship at the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos.

Sharon Jeanette Macdonald

Cultural Anthropology / Museology

How do you choose which of a culture’s or society’s objects and artefacts should be exhibited in museums? And, in this context, how do countries deal with their own, perhaps difficult, cultural heritage? These are the kinds of question that interest the eminent cultural anthropologist and museologist, Sharon Macdonald, and the ones she always links to socially relevant themes. She investigated the treatment of the Nazi past in Germany, for instance, by focussing on the historical heritage of Nuremberg. Amongst other things, she is currently examining how Islam is presented and conveyed in museums. The British scholar also specialises in museum theory and has produced many seminal works on the subject. Under Macdonald’s leadership, Humboldt-Universität, the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) and the Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin want to establish a new, world-leading Centre for Cultural Heritage and Museum Research. In her capacity as an Alexander von Humboldt Professor, Sharon Jeanette Macdonald will also be involved in the continuing development of concrete museum projects as the future Humboldt Forum and Berlin’s Museum Island.

Nominating University: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in conjunction with the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) and the Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin

  • Sharon Jeanette Macdonald
    Photo: Mike Beaney

    Prof. Dr. Sharon Jeanette Macdonald
    Born in 1961, Sharon Jeanette Macdonald is a professor at the University of York, United Kingdom. She completed her doctorate at the University of Oxford in 1987 and subsequently spent time at Brunel University in London and Keele University near Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK. In 1996, Macdonald became a lecturer at the University of Sheffield, where she was appointed to a professorship in cultural anthropology in 2002. From there, she moved to the University of Manchester in 2006 and, finally, in 2012, to the University of York. In the context of a Humboldt Research Fellowship, Macdonald conducted research in Germany on a number of occasions between 2000 and 2007, at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In 2011, she was a visiting professor at Peking University. Macdonald is a member of diverse specialist associations, including the Royal Anthropological Institute, and a member of the editorial boards of journals such as the International Journal of Heritage Studies.

Karen Radner

Classical and Ancient Studies

Ancient Near Eastern history specialist, Karen Radner, sets her research sights on the big picture. She is one of the world’s leading experts on the history of Mesopotamia at the time of the Neo-Assyrian Empire (9th to 7th century BC), which is considered the first major empire in human history. Trained as a cuneiform philologist, she studies the written evidence from the period in order to reconstruct its cultural and social history. Radner, an Austrian, has produced numerous first editions of previously unknown cuneiform texts, delving in particular into hitherto neglected sources such as evidence of everyday life. She also chooses unusual publication paths: she is a supporter of the Digital Humanities and provides open access to part of her work and editions online. Her mission as an Alexander von Humboldt Professor at LMU Munich will be to shift the focus of classical and ancient studies more towards a universal history of antiquity.

Nominating University: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

  • Karen Radner
    Photo: University College
    London

    Prof. Dr. Karen Radner
    Born in Austria in 1972, Karen Radner is currently a professor at University College London (UCL), UK. She studied in Austria, at the University of Vienna, and in Germany, at Freie Universität Berlin, taking her doctorate in Vienna in 1997. She then moved to the University of Helsinki, Finland, and, after various positions in Germany and Austria, transferred to UCL in 2005, initially as a lecturer and, as of 2010, as a professor. Radner has also taken part in many excavations and research projects in Greece, Syria, Iraq and Turkey. She is a member of the editorial boards of numerous journals, including the Journal of Near Eastern History.

Marja Timmermans

Molecular genetics

How do the patterns in leaves develop? Where do the differences between the top and the underside of a leaf come from? Leaf development is the special field of the plant geneticist Marja Timmermans who has made several internationally acclaimed discoveries and whose methods are used in laboratories around the world. In the course of her work, Marja Timmermans succeeded in finding an explanation for the mechanism behind leaf development and the role of mobile RNA molecules in this connection. For Tübingen University, a Humboldt Professorship for Marja Timmermans at the Center for Plant Molecular Biology (ZMBP) would target bridging the interface between basic and applied research. Tübingen also wants to extend the profile of model organisms such as moss to crop plants such as maize, which Marja Timmermans is researching.

Nominating university: Tübingen University

  • Marja Timmermans
    Poto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Marja Timmermans
    Born in 1964, since 2009 full professor at the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, USA. Marja Timmermans began working there in 1998 and was soon promoted to assistant professor in 2001. Since completing her studies in the Netherlands, she has conducted research in the USA, including at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, and Yale University, New Haven. Marja Timmermans also sits on the editorial boards of various professional journals and on selection committees of organisations such as the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Human Frontiers Science Program (HFSPO).

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur – Die Preisträger 2015

Elisabeth Décultot

Literaturwissenschaften

Wie haben Gelehrte des 18. und 19. Jahrhunderts andere Gelehrte gelesen? Was haben sie darüber in Exzerptheften und Notizen niedergeschrieben? Und was findet sich davon wiederum in ihren eigenen Werken? Spuren wie diese verfolgt die französische Literaturwissenschaftlerin Elisabeth Décultot, um den Transfer von Wissen in der Kunsttheorie und Ästhetik der Aufklärung nachzuvollziehen. Mit Erfolg: Décultot zählt weltweit zu den profiliertesten Forschern zur Ästhetikgeschichte des 18. Jahrhunderts. Die Universität Halle-Wittenberg möchte mit ihr zur ersten Adresse für Aufklärungsforschung in Deutschland werden. Elisabeth Décultot soll den Fokus in Halle-Wittenberg auf den europäischen und globalen Kontext ausweiten.

Nominierende Universität: Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

  • Elisabeth Décultot
    Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Décultot,
    geb.1968, ist seit 2005 als Directrice de Recherche Forschungsprofessorin am Centre national de la recherche scientifique in Paris (CNRS/EHESS-Centre Georg Simmel). Nach ihrem Germanistik-Studium folgten 1995 die Promotion an der École normale supérieure de Paris (ENS) und 2004 die Habilitation. Elisabeth Décultot forschte bereits in Deutschland, unter anderem als Humboldt-Stipendiatin in Köln und Berlin. Mit ihren Arbeiten, etwa zum Vorreiter der wissenschaftlichen Archäologie und Kunstgeschichte Johann Joachim Winckelmann, wirkt sie weit über ihre Disziplin hinaus: 2010 kuratierte sie eine Ausstellung im Pariser Louvre, wo sie seit 2011 dem wissenschaftlichen Beirat angehört.

Harald Andrés Helfgott

Reine Mathematik

Jede ungerade Zahl größer oder gleich 7 ist die Summe von drei Primzahlen, so lautet die Goldbachsche Vermutung. Sie beschäftigt die Mathematik seit dem 18. Jahrhundert. Nach einem Beweis, der sie eindeutig belegt oder widerlegt, wurde über 200 Jahre gefahndet – trotz vieler Ansätze vergeblich. Um ihre Richtigkeit zu beweisen, entwickelte der Peruaner Harald Andrés Helfgott 2013 einen Lösungsweg für die Schwache Goldbachsche Vermutung, auch mithilfe von Tests am Computer. Dies ist nicht der einzige Durchbruch in der Mathematik, an dem er beteiligt war. Helfgott leistete auch in der Gruppentheorie, der diophantischen Geometrie und der Zahlentheorie wesentliche Beiträge zur Lösung grundsätzlicher Probleme. An der Universität Göttingen soll er nun als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor den Forschungsschwerpunkt Algebraische Geometrie und Zahlentheorie verstärken – und Göttingen von einem international anerkannten zu einem weltweit führenden Standort auf diesem Gebiet ausbauen.

Nominierende Universität: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

  • Harald Andrés Helfgott
    Foto: Kate Juschenko

    Prof. Dr. Harald Andrés Helfgott,
    1977 in Peru geboren, forscht seit 2010 am Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) in Paris. Dort ist er seit Oktober 2014 als Directeur de Recherche Forschungsprofessor. Nach seinem Studium an der Brandeis-University wurde er 2003 an der Princeton University, beide USA, promoviert. Danach setzte er seine Karriere als Postdoc an der Yale University, USA, und als Lecturer an der Université de Montréal, Kanada, fort. Nach einer Station an der University of Bristol in Großbritannien wechselte Helfgott 2010 nach Frankreich an das CNRS. Er ist daneben Mitglied der American Mathematical Society sowie der Société mathématique de France. In seinem Geburtsland Peru ist er Honorarprofessor an der Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos.

Sharon Jeanette Macdonald

Ethnologie / Museumswissenschaft

Wie wird ausgewählt, welche Objekte und Artefakte einer Kultur oder Gesellschaft in Museen ausgestellt werden? Wie gehen Gesellschaften dabei mit ihrem eigenen, womöglich schwierigen kulturellen Erbe um? Fragen wie diese greift die international renommierte Ethnologin und Museumswissenschaftlerin Sharon Macdonald auf. Und verbindet sie stets mit gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen: Den Umgang mit der NS-Vergangenheit in Deutschland etwa erforschte sie am Beispiel des historischen Erbes Nürnbergs. Derzeit beschäftigt sie sich unter anderem mit der Frage, wie der Islam in Museen dargestellt und vermittelt wird. Daneben befasst sich die Britin auch mit der Museumstheorie, zu der sie zahlreiche Grundlagenwerke beigesteuert hat. Unter Macdonalds Leitung wollen die Humboldt-Universität, die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz und das Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin ein neues Zentrum für Kulturerbe- und Museumsforschung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau gründen. Als Alexander von Humboldt-Professorin soll sie in Berlin zudem die Weiterentwicklung konkreter Museumsprojekte wie das zukünftige Humboldt-Forum oder die Museumsinsel begleiten.

Nominierende Universität: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin zusammen mit der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz und dem Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin

  • Sharon Jeanette Macdonald
    Foto: Mike Beaney

    Prof. Dr. Sharon Jeanette Macdonald,
    1961 geboren, ist Professorin an der University of York, Großbritannien. Promotion 1987 an der University of Oxford, danach Stationen an der Brunel University London, und der Keele University bei Newcastle-under-Lyme, Großbritannien. 1996 wurde Macdonald Lecturer an der University of Sheffield, wo sie 2002 eine Professur für Kulturanthropologie erhielt. Von dort wechselte sie 2006 an die University of Manchester und 2012 schließlich an die University of York. Als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiatin hielt sich Macdonald zwischen 2000 und 2007 mehrmals in Deutschland an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und der Humboldt-Universität Berlin auf. In China war sie 2011 Gastprofessorin an der Peking University. Macdonald ist Mitglied verschiedenster Fachverbände, darunter das Royal Anthropological Institute, und sitzt im redaktionellen Beirat von Fachzeitschriften wie dem International Journal of Heritage Studies.

Karen Radner

Altertumswissenschaften

Die Altorientalistin Karen Radner forscht mit Blick aufs große Ganze. Sie zählt zu den weltweit führenden Expertinnen für die Geschichte Mesopotamiens zur Zeit des neuassyrischen Reichs (9. bis 7. Jahrhundert vor Christus), das als das erste Großreich der Weltgeschichte gilt. Die Keilschriftforscherin befasst sich insbesondere mit den schriftlichen Überlieferungen dieser Epoche und nutzt sie zur Rekonstruktion der Zeit- und Sozialgeschichte. Radner hat zahlreiche Ersteditionen bislang unbekannter Keilschriften vorgelegt. Dabei widmet sich die Österreicherin auch bislang wenig beachteten Quellen wie Alltagsüberlieferungen. Auch bei der Publikation ihrer Arbeiten geht sie ungewohnte Wege: Radner gilt als Anhängerin der Digital Humanities, der digitalen Geisteswissenschaften. Ihre Arbeiten und Editionen macht sie zum Teil im Internet öffentlich zugänglich. Als Alexander von Humboldt-Professorin soll sie die Altertumswissenschaften an der Universität München verstärkt auf eine antike Weltgeschichte ausrichten.

Nominierende Universität: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

  • Karen Radner
    Foto: University College
    London

    Prof. Dr. Karen Radner,
    1972 in Österreich geboren, ist derzeit Professorin am University College London in Großbritannien. Sie studierte in Österreich an der Universität Wien sowie an der Freien Universität Berlin in Deutschland und wurde 1997 in Wien promoviert. Danach wechselte sie nach Finnland an die Universität Helsinki. Nach Stationen an verschiedenen Universitäten in Deutschland und Österreich ging sie ans University College London, wo sie 2005 als Lecturer begann und seit 2010 Professorin ist. Daneben hat Radner hat an zahlreichen Grabungs- und Forschungsprojekten in Griechenland, Syrien, im Irak und in der Türkei teilgenommen. Radner ist zudem im redaktionellen Beirat zahlreicher Fachzeitschriften, darunter das Journal of Near Eastern History.

Marja Timmermans

Pflanzengenetik

Wie bilden sich die Muster eines Blattes? Woher kommen die Unterschiede zwischen Ober- und Unterseite? Die Entwicklung des Blattes ist das Spezialgebiet der Pflanzengenetikerin Marja Timmermans. Sie steht für gleich mehrere international beachtete Entdeckungen, ihre Methoden werden in Laboren weltweit angewendet. Timmermans gelang es etwa, den Blattbildungsmechanismus und die Rolle mobiler RNA-Moleküle dabei zu erklären. Eine Humboldt-Professur für Timmermans am Zentrum für Molekulare Pflanzenbiologie (ZMBP) soll für die Universität Tübingen der Brückenschlag an der Schnittstelle von Grundlagen- zur angewandten Forschung sein. Zudem will man in Tübingen das Profil von Modellorganismen wie Moos auf die Nutzpflanze Mais erweitern, mit der Timmermans forscht.

Nominierende Universität: Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

  • Marja Timmermans
    Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Marja Timmermans,
    geb. 1964, ist seit 2009 Full Professor am Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, USA. Dort ist sie seit 1998 tätig und schaffte schnell den Aufstieg: Timmermans erhielt schon 2001 den Ruf zum Assistant Professor. In den USA forscht sie bereits seit dem Ende ihres Studiums in den Niederlanden, mit Stationen an der Rutgers University, New Brunswick, und der Yale University, New Haven. Timmermans ist daneben im redaktionellen Beirat mehrerer Fachzeitschriften und in Auswahlausschüssen von Organisationen wie dem National Science Foundation (NSF) oder dem Human Frontiers Science Program (HFSPO) vertreten.

Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de