Dossier Philipp Schwartz Initiative

Their home countries are blighted by war, their freedom of research is curtailed or they are persecuted: in many parts of the world, scientists and scholars are in danger. The Philipp Schwartz Initiative helps researchers who have fled their countries to find their feet at German universities and research institutions.
 

Nedal Said from Syria (second from left) and the Turkish translation scholar Meral Camci (second from right)
Two of the first fellows to conduct research with German colleagues in summer 2016: Nedal Said from Syria (second from left) at UFZ Leipzig; the Turkish translation scholar Meral Camci (second from right) at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz (Photos: Humboldt Foundation/Nikolaus Brade/Alexander Paul Englert).

Safe at last

The Syrian microbiologist Nedal Said was one of the first fellows to benefit from the Philipp Schwartz Initiative. He fled to Germany via Turkey and embarked on his fellowship at the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research in Leipzig in summer 2016. “I work in science. Colleagues support me, and my family is with me at last – I am a whole person again,” he said. The translation scholar Meral Camci from Istanbul was also one of the first Philipp Schwartz Fellows. She had been subjected to massive pressure in Turkey, given her notice as a professor and even held in custody for several weeks. In Germany she conducted research at the University of Mainz.

Hope for 159 researchers

In the course of the Initiative, 159 researchers at risk have been awarded Philipp Schwartz Fellowships. So far, 139 researchers (as of May 2019) have embarked on their fellowships.The initiative grants funding to German universities and research institutions which they can use to finance these foreign academics for two years. The Humboldt Foundation launched the programme together with the Federal Foreign Office. Universities that apply for sponsorship under the Philipp Schwartz Initiative must submit, amongst other things, a strategy explaining how they will treat endangered researchers and integrate them academically.

A bonus for German universities

“We want to set an example for the international mindset of academia in Germany,” emphasises Hans-Christian Pape, the President of the Humboldt Foundation. “We help people who can benefit our science system and who will be urgently needed in their own countries when the time comes, in the hopefully not too distant future, for reconstruction.”

Following the selection of 24 researchers in summer 2016, it was possible to increase the number of new recipients to 44 in the second round and 56 in the third round. In the fourth round in summer 2018, 31 universities were selected to receive funding to enable them to host a further 35 Philipp Schwartz Fellows. In comparison with the first call, the fellows’ home countries have changed: whilst the majority of fellows in the first selection round came from Syria, since then, most of the fellows have hailed from Turkey.

Philipp Schwartz
The Philipp Schwartz Initiative is named after the Jewish pathologist who had to flee from Nazi Germany in 1933 and founded the “Emergency Society of German Scholars Abroad” (Photo: Archive G. Kreft).

Networks for researchers at risk

As well as sponsoring individuals, the initiative also seeks to provide a platform for information sharing on the situation of endangered researchers. In this context, the Humboldt Foundation cooperates with international partner organisations such as the Scholars at Risk Network, the Scholar Rescue Fund and the Council for At-Risk Academics. Until March 2022, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is also hosting the secretariat of the German Section of the Scholars at Risk Network, founded in 2016.

Contact

Press Office
Phone: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Dossier Philipp Schwartz-Initiative

In ihrer Heimat herrscht Krieg, ihre Forschungsfreiheit wird eingeschränkt oder sie werden verfolgt: In vielen Teilen der Welt sind Wissenschaftler gefährdet. Die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative hilft geflohenen Forschern, an deutschen Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen Fuß zu fassen.
 

Nedal Said aus Syrien (zweiter von links) und die türkische Translationswissenschaftlerin Meral Camci (zweite von rechts)
Zwei der ersten Stipendiaten, die im Sommer 2016 gemeinsam mit deutschen Kollegen forschten: Nedal Said aus Syrien (zweiter von links) am UFZ Leipzig, die türkische Translationswissenschaftlerin Meral Camci (zweite von rechts) an der Universität Mainz (Fotos: Humboldt-Stiftung/Nikolaus Brade/Alexander Paul Englert).

Endlich sicher

Der syrische Mikrobiologe Nedal Said gehörte zu den ersten Stipendiaten der Philipp Schwartz-Initiative. Er ist über die Türkei nach Deutschland geflohen und hat im Sommer 2016 sein Stipendium am Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung in Leipzig begonnen. „Ich arbeite in der Wissenschaft, die Kollegen unterstützen mich, und meine Familie ist endlich bei mir – ich bin wieder ein ganzer Mensch“, sagte er. Auch die Translationswissenschaftlerin Meral Camci aus Istanbul war eine der ersten Philipp Schwartz-Stipendiatinnen. Sie wurde in der Türkei massiv unter Druck gesetzt, ihre Stelle als Professorin wurde gekündigt, für einige Wochen kam sie sogar in Haft. In Deutschland forschte sie an der Universität Mainz.

Hoffnung für 198 Wissenschaftler

Insgesamt wurden im Zuge der Initiative 198 gefährdeten Forscherinnen und Forschern Philipp Schwartz-Stipendien zugesprochen. Bislang haben davon 160 Wissenschaftler (Stand August 2019) ihre Förderung in Deutschland angetreten. Die Initiative vergibt Fördermittel an deutsche Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen, mit denen diese ausländische Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zwei Jahre lang finanzieren können. Die Humboldt-Stiftung hat das Programm gemeinsam mit dem Auswärtigen Amt ins Leben gerufen. Hochschulen, die eine Förderung durch die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative beantragen, müssen unter anderem ein Konzept zum Umgang mit gefährdeten Forschern und ihrer wissenschaftlichen Einbindung vorlegen.

Eine Bereicherung für deutsche Hochschulen

„Wir wollen ein Zeichen für die Weltoffenheit der deutschen Wissenschaft setzen“, betont der Präsident der Humboldt-Stiftung Hans-Christian Pape. „Wir helfen Menschen, die unser Wissenschaftssystem bereichern können und zugleich in ihrer Heimat dringend gebraucht werden, wenn es dort eines hoffentlich nicht allzu fernen Tages an den Wiederaufbau geht.“

Nachdem im Sommer 2016 insgesamt 24 Forscher eine Förderung erhielten, konnte die Zahl der Geförderten in der zweiten Runde der Initiative auf 44 und in der dritten Runde auf 56 erhöht werden. Im Sommer 2018 wurden in der vierten Auswahlrunde 31 Hochschulen ausgewählt, um 35 weitere Philipp Schwartz-Stipendiaten bei sich aufzunehmen. Gegenüber der ersten Ausschreibung haben sich auch die Herkunftsländer der Stipendiaten verändert: Während in der ersten Auswahlrunde die meisten Stipendiaten zunächst aus Syrien kamen, stammen die meisten der Stipendiaten seither aus der Türkei.

Netzwerke für gefährdete Forscher

Neben der Förderung von Personen ist es ein weiteres Ziel der Initiative, eine Plattform für den Austausch zur Situation gefährdeter Forscher zu organisieren. Dabei arbeitet die Humboldt-Stiftung mit internationalen Partnerorganisationen wie dem Scholars at Risk Network, dem Scholar Rescue Fund und dem Council for At-Risk Academics zusammen. Bis März 2022 übernimmt die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung auch das Sekretariat der 2016 gegründeten deutschen Sektion des Scholars at Risk Network.

Philipp Schwartz
Die Philipp Schwartz-Initiative ist nach dem Pathologen jüdischen Glaubens Philipp Schwartz benannt, der selbst 1933 vor den Nazis aus Deutschland fliehen musste und die „Notgemeinschaft deutscher Wissenschaftler im Ausland“ gründete (Foto: Archiv G. Kreft).

Kontakt

Pressereferat
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing 
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de