22 September 2010, No. 22/2010

2010 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

18 international junior researchers each receive 1.65 million EUR

For the fifth time, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is granting the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award, valued up to 1.65 million EUR,  to young research talents, providing them with venture capital for innovative projects at an early stage in their careers. The award winners are all between 29 and 38 years of age. They will set up  research groups at German host institutes and spend five years working on research there. The award is financed by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The award ceremonywill take place on the evening of 9 November in Berlin.

The Award Winners, their home countries, most recent places of residence, research areas and host institutes are:

  • Isabel Bäurle, Germany/United Kingdom, Plant Genetics, University of Potsdam, Institute of Biochemistry and Biology
  • Lapo Bogani, Italy/France, Solid-State Physics, University of Stuttgart, 1. Physikalisches Institut
  • Camin Dean, USA, Neurobiology, University Medicine Göttingen, European Neuroscience Institute
  • Christian Doeller, Germany/United Kingdom, Medical Neurobiology, Max Planck Institute of Biological Cybernetics, Tübingen
  • Brandon Dotson, USA/United Kingdom, Tibetan Studies, LMU Munich, Institut für Indologie und Tibetologie
  • Gustavo Fernandez Huertas, Spain/Germany, Organic Chemistry, University of Würzburg, Institute of Organic Chemistry
  • Joern Fischer, Germany/Australia, Ecology, Leuphana University of Lüneburg, Institute of Ecology and Environmental Chemistry
  • Christiana Fountoulakis Mäsch, Germany/United Kingdom, Arbitral Jurisdiction, European Legal Studies Institute, University of Osnabrück
  • Jörg Fröbisch, Germany/USA, Palaeozoology, Natural History Museum, Leibniz Institute for Research on Evolution and Biodiversity at Humboldt University Berlin
  • Joseph Hennawi, USA/Germany, Astronomy, Max Planck Institute of Astronomy, Heidelberg
  • Shigeyoshi Inoue, Japan/Germany, Inorganic Chemistry, Technische Universität Berlin, Institute of Chemistry
  • Eike Kiltz, Germany/Netherlands, Theoretical Informatics, University of Bochum, Mathematics Faculty, Chair of Cryptology and IT Security
  • Philipp Alexander Lang, Austria/Canada, Hepatology, University of Düsseldorf, Clinic for Gastroenterology and Infectiology
  • Pierpaolo Mastrolia, Italy, Theoretical Physics, Max Planck Institute of Physics, Munich
  • Andreas Möglich, Germany/USA, Biophysical Chemistry, Humboldt University Berlin, Institute of Biology, Chair of Experimental Biophysics
  • Simone Pika, Germany/United Kingdom, Behavioural Physiology, Max Planck Institute of Ornithology, Seewiesen
  • Roberto Rinaldi, Brazil/Germany, Organic-Chemical Technology, Max Planck Institute of Coal Research, Mülheim an der Ruhr
  • Dmitry Volodkin, Russia/Germany, Biotechnology, Fraunhofer Institute for Biomedical Engineering, Potsdam-Golm

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of over 24,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 130 countries worldwide – including 43 Nobel Prize winners.


Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Press, Communications ans Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications ans Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441