22 August 2012, No. 22/2012

2012 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

14 international junior researchers each receive up to 1.65 million EUR

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is bestowing 14 international junior researchers with the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award. They will each receive up to 1.65 million euros, providing them with the risk capital they need for innovative projects at an early stage of their careers. The award winners are aged between 27 and 35 and will spend guest periods at German universities and research institutions. They will develop their own research groups at their host institutes, where they will conduct research for five years. The award is financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Please note: The award ceremony will take place on the evening of 20 November in Berlin.

The Award Winners, their home countries, research areas and host institutes are:

  • Pavel Buividovich, Belarus, Theoretical Physics, University of Regensburg, Institute of Physics I
  • Dmitry A. Fedosov, Russia, Biophysics, Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), Institute of Complex Systems, Theory of soft matter and biophysics
  • Tanja Gaich, Austria, Organic Chemistry, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Institute of Organic Chemistry
  • Kerstin Kaufmann, Germany, Basic Research in Plant Biology, University of Potsdam, Institute of Biochemistry and Biology
  • Na Liu, China, Optics, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Stuttgart
  • Veronika Lukacs-Kornek, Hungary, Hepatology, Saarland University, Saarbrücken, University Hospital, Faculty of Internal Medicine II
  • Ulf A. Orom, Denmark, Molecular Biology, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, Department of Computational Molecular Biology
  • Miriam Ronzoni, Italy, Political Theory, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Institute of Political Science
  • Patricia Schady, Great Britain, Astrophysics, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching
  • Richard Stancliffe, Great Britain, Stellar Physics, University of Bonn, Argelander Institute for Astronomy
  • Athanasios Typas, Greece, Microbial Genetics, EMBL Heidelberg - European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Genome Biology
  • Samuel Wagner, Germany, Microbiology, University of Tübingen, Institute of Medical Microbiology and Hygiene
  • Nils B. Weidmann, Germany, Political Science, University of Konstanz, Department of Politics and Public Administration
  • Yan Yu, China, Electrochemistry, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Department of Physical Chemistry

    The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

    Every year, the Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of over 25,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 130 countries worldwide – including 48 Nobel Prize winners.


Regine Laroche
Susanne Arning
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441