05. August 2014, No. 21/2014

2014 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

11 international junior researchers will each receive up to €1.65 million.

This year the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has singled out 11 international junior researchers between 29 and 40 years of age for one of the best-endowed science awards in Germany: The winners will each receive up to €1.65 million. Through this programme, the research talents receive risk capital for innovative projects during an early phase in their careers.

They conduct research at a German university or research institute for a period of up to five years and develop their own research group for this at their host institute. The junior researchers selected in 2014 will be presented the award by Federal Research Minister Johanna Wanka and the president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Helmut Schwarz, in Berlin on 11 November.

Please note: The award ceremony will take place on the evening of 11 November in Berlin. A press invitation will follow.

The recently selected award winners, their home countries, countries of residence, their research areas and their host institutes are:

  • Kamal Asadi, Iran / Netherlands, Electrical Engineering, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz
  • Gregory Brennecka, USA, Cosmochemistry, University of Münster, Institute for Planetology
  • Elizabeta Briski, Croatia / Canada, Ecology, GEOMAR – Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
  • Pierangelo Buongiorno, Italy, Roman Law, University of Münster, Institute for the History of Law
  • Jason Dexter, USA, Astrophysics, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching
  • Katja Dörschner-Boyaci, Germany / Turkey, General Psychology, Giessen University, Department of General Psychology
  • Roland Donninger, Austria / Switzerland, Mathematics, University of Bonn, Mathematical Institute
  • Fernando Febres Cordero, Venezuela, Elementary Particle Physics, University of Freiburg, Institute for Physics
  • Helen May-Simera, Great Britain / USA, Cell Biology, Mainz University, Institute of Zoology
  • Christian Straßer, Germany / Belgium, Formal Logic, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Institute for Philosophy II
  • Renske Marjan van der Veen, Netherlands / USA, Physical Chemistry, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen

The Sofja Kovalevskaja Award is financed by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Education and Research and is offered every two years to date. Thanks to additional financing from the ministry, the next round of awards will be granted already in 2015. Applications will be accepted until 1 September 2014. Further information is available at: www.humboldt-foundation.de/web/kovalevskaja-award.html

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 50 Nobel Prize winners.


Teresa Havlicek
Sebastian Kraußer
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-423/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441