30 August 2018, No. 20/2018, updated on 22 October 2018

2018 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

Six international researchers to receive up to €1.65 million each and develop their own research group in Berlin, Bochum, Freiburg, Heidelberg, Saarbrücken and Würzburg.

Die Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger 2018
Sofja Kovalevskaja Award winners 2018: Aydan Bulut-Karslioglu, Kenji Fukushima, Milica Gašić, Hitoshi Omori, Paola Pinilla and Fritz Renner (from top left to bottom right)

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has singled out six international researchers between 31 and 36 years of age for one of Germany’s most valuable science awards: the winners will each be granted up to €1.65 million.
With the Sofja Kovalevskaja Award, young researchers receive risk capital for innovative projects during an early stage in their careers. The Sofja Kovalevskaja Award allows them to conduct research at a German university or research institute for a period of up to five years and develop their own research groups for this at their host institutes. The award is financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards will be presented to the recipients on 22 November in a formal ceremony in Berlin.

The recently selected award winners, their respective home country, last country of residence, research focus and host institute are:

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 29,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 55 Nobel Prize winners.


Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441