15 August 2019, No. 16/2019

2019 Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards granted

Six talented young international researchers will receive up to 1.65m euros each in award money with which to establish their own working groups in Bochum, Duisburg-Essen, Cologne, Constance, Münster and Regensburg.

Die Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger 2019
Sofja Kovalevskaja Award Winners 2019: Jan De Graaf, Doris Hellerschmied, Joshua Philip Barham, Tonni Grube Andersen, Angelo Di Bernardo and Ottaviano Ruesch (from top left to bottom right)

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has selected six talented international researchers aged between 28 and 36 for one of the highest-valued research awards in Germany. The award winners will receive up to 1.65m euros each.
The Sofja Kovalevskaja Award provides junior researchers with risk capital for innovative projects in an early phase of their careers. They will conduct research for five years at German universities and research institutions and establish own working groups at their host institutes. The award is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

The Sofja Kovalevskaja Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Berlin on 20 November. A press invitation will follow.

The newly selected award winners, their countries of origin and most recent countries of residence, their specialisms and their host institutes are:

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time conducting research in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 29,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 55 Nobel Prize winners.


Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441