Members of the Selection Committee for the Allocation of Anneliese Maier Research Awards

As of May 2018

Information on the composition of the committee

The central instrument for conferring Anneliese Maier Research Awards is an interdisciplinary selection committee.


The members are assigned certain applications, on which they report to the committee. All decisions are discussed and taken jointly by the interdisciplinary committee; the Foundation’s Board of Trustees must approve the committee’s choices for research awards.

The selection committee is composed of:

  • specialist members: recognized researchers of different disciplines of the Humanities and Social Sciences (= specialist selection committee members)
  • non-specialist members: voting representatives of public and private funders; non-voting representatives of other science (funding) organisations.

This composition ensures the necessary scientific expertise to review the applications, complemented by institutional expertise on strategic-structural aspects.

The total number and the representation of disciplines by experts on the committees is based on the average number and subject representation of the applications received. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s choice of expert committee members forms the basis for recognising and selecting excellence in its sponsorship programmes. The selection of specialist selection committee members is, therefore, a core process at the Foundation that seeks to identify the finest scientific minds. The Selection Department takes great care to regularly include domestic and international researchers on its committees who are new to the Foundation’s broader network in order to remain open to new perspectives and angles.

For each new appointment or replacement, the Foundation consults numerous experts as well as representatives of science organisations to draw up a shortlist. Scientific excellence is a basic prerequisite for a candidate to be considered. Other core prerequisites are:

  • international contacts and experience, as possible extended academic professional activity abroad
  • preferably broad scientific expertise
  • willingness and ability to engage in interdisciplinary discourse
  • willingness to actively support the work of the Humboldt Foundation
  • sufficient availability.

The following additional aspects are also considered when appointing committee members:

  • gender and age balance
  • balanced regional representation
  • complementing existing expertise on the committee
  • including researchers who work abroad whilst ensuring the necessary familiarity with the German science system.

The decision to appoint a new member and, if necessary, the order in which candidates are shortlisted, is taken by the President of the Foundation in his capacity as President of the Board of Trustees; the Board of Trustees approves the appointment for an initial term of three years1, which can be renewed twice.

1As long as the programme is offered biennially, the term of office of the committee members may also be four years with a first possible extension of four years and a second possible extension of two years.


Professor Dr. Gerhard Lauer
Lehrstuhl für Digital Humanities, Universität Basel

Specialist Committee Members

  • Professor Dr. Lorraine J. Daston
    Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin
  • Professor Dr. Klaus Fiedler
    Psychologisches Institut, Universität Heidelberg
  • Professor Dr. Bernd Kortmann
    Englisches Seminar, Philologische Fakultät, Universität Freiburg
  • Professor Dr. Klaus Krüger
    Kunsthistorisches Institut (WE 2), Freie Universität Berlin
  • Professor Dr. Andrea Lenschow
    Fachbereich Sozialwissenschaften, Universität Osnabrück
  • Professor Dr. Christof Mauch
    Rachel Carson Center, Universität München
  • Professor Dr. Hartmut Rosa
    Institut für Soziologie, Universität Jena
  • Professor Dr. Anne Röthel
    Lehrstuhl Privatrecht I, Bucerius Law School - Hochschule für Rechtswissenschaft, Hamburg

Non-specialist Voting Committee Members

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), Berlin
    MinR Peter Hassenbach

Non-specialist Non-voting Committee Members

  • Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung:
    Dr. Enno Aufderheide


Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Selection Department
Jean-Paul-Str. 12
53173 Bonn, Germany

Fax: 0228-833 212