Members of the Selection Committee for the Allocation of the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship - International Award for Research in Germany

As of May 2019

Information on the composition of the committee

The central instrument for conferring the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship is an interdisciplinary selection committee.


The members are assigned certain applications, on which they report to the committee. All decisions are discussed and taken jointly by the interdisciplinary committee; the Foundation’s Board of Trustees must approve the committee’s choices for the bestowal of Alexander von Humboldt Professorships.

The selection committee is composed of:

  • specialist members: recognised researchers of various disciplines (= specialist selection committee members)
  • non-specialist members: voting and non-voting representatives of public and private funders as well as representatives of other science (funding) organisations and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

This composition ensures the necessary scientific expertise to review applications, complemented by institutional expertise on strategic-structural aspects.

The total number and the representation of disciplines by experts on the committees is based on the average number and subject representation of the applications received. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s choice of expert committee members forms the basis for recognising and selecting excellence in its sponsorship programmes. The selection of specialist selection committee members is, therefore, a core process at the Foundation that seeks to identify the finest scientific minds. The Selection Department takes great care to regularly include domestic and international researchers on its committees who are new to the Foundation’s broader network in order to remain open to new perspectives and angles.

For each new appointment or replacement, the Foundation consults numerous experts as well as representatives of science organisations to draw up a shortlist. Scientific excellence is a basic prerequisite for a candidate to be considered. Other core prerequisites are:

  • international contacts and experience, as possible extended academic professional activity abroad
  • preferably broad scientific expertise
  • willingness and ability to engage in interdisciplinary discourse
  • willingness to actively support the work of the Humboldt Foundation
  • sufficient availability.

The following additional aspects are also considered when appointing committee members:

  • gender and age balance
  • balanced regional representation
  • complementing existing expertise on the committee
  • including researchers who work abroad whilst ensuring the necessary familiarity with the German science system.

The decision to appoint a new member is approved by the Board of Trustees. The appointment is for an initial term of three years and can be renewed once.


Professor Dr. Hans-Christian Pape
Präsident der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Specialist Committee Members

  • Professorin Dr. Andrea Abele-Brehm
    Department Psychologie und Sportwissenschaften, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Professor Dr. Markus Aspelmeyer
    Fakultät für Physik, Institut für Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation, Universität Wien
  • Professorin Dr. Leena Bruckner-Tuderman
    Klinik für Dermatologie und Venerologie, Universität Freiburg
  • Professorin Dr. Nicole Dubilier
    Max-Planck-Institut für Marine Mikrobiologie, Bremen
  • Professor Dr. Daniel Frost
    Bayerisches Forschungsinstitut für Experimentelle Geochemie und Geophysik (BGI), Universität Bayreuth
  • Professor Dr. Alois Fürstner
    Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim / Ruhr
  • Professor Dr. Gerhard Huisken
    Mathematisches Forschungsinstitut Oberwolfach (MFO)
  • Professor Dr. Johannes Kabatek
    Romanisches Seminar, Universität Zürich
  • Professor Dr. Thomas Kaufmann
    Theologische Fakultät, Seminar Kirchengeschichte, Universität Göttingen
  • Professor Dr. Dierk Raabe
    Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Düsseldorf
  • Professorin Dr. Barbara Stollberg-Rilinger
    Historisches Seminar, Universität Münster
  • Professorin Dr. Ruth H. Strasser
    Herzzentrum Dresden, Technische Universität Dresden
  • Professorin Dr. Maria-Roser Valenti
    Institut für Theoretische Physik, Universität Frankfurt am Main

Non-specialist Voting Committee Members

  • Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung:
    Min. Dir. Ulrich Schüller 
  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft:
    Professor Dr. Peter Strohschneider
  • Hochschulrektorenkonferenz:
    Professor Dr. Peter-André Alt
  • Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ)
    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt
  • Ständige Konferenz der Kultusminister der Länder:
    Udo Michallik

Non-specialist Non-voting Committee Members

  • Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung:
    Dr. Enno Aufderheide
  • Auswärtiges Amt:
    Heidrun Tempel
  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft:


Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Selection Department
Jean-Paul-Str. 12
53173 Bonn, Germany

Fax: 0228-833 212