Members of the Selection Committee for the sponsorship programme "Philipp Schwartz Initiative" of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

As of January 2019


Dr. Enno Aufderheide
Secretary General
Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Committee Members

  • Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst
  • Bielefeld University:
    Prof. Dr. Thomas Faist
    Professor of Sociology of Transnationalization, Migration and Development
  • German National Academy of Sciences - Leopoldina:
    Prof. Dr. Rainer Godel
    Head of Department Centre for Science Studies
  • Global Public Policy Institute (GPPi):
    Dr. Katrin Kinzelbach
    Associate Director
  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft:
    Dr. Johanna Kowol-Santen
    Deputy Head Scientific Affairs
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology:
    Prof. Dr. Annie Powell
    Professor of Inorganic Chemistry
  • German Rectors' Conference:
    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Scholz-Reiter
    Vice-President for International Affairs
  • Council for At-Risk Academics:
    Prof. Dr. Paul Weindling


Head of
Strategic Planning Division

Dr. Barbara Sheldon
Phone: +49 228 833 109

Philipp Schwartz Initiative

Programme Director
Frank Albrecht
Phone: +49 228 833 122

Programme Officers
Katja Machacsek, phone: +49 228 833 182
Katharina Poth, phone: +49 228 833 166
Svetlana Strobel, phone: +49 228 833 409


For Press Inquiries
Phone: +49 228 833 144

Further information

Humboldt Kosmos edition No.106/2016

Humboldt Kosmos: "Threatened"

The 106th edition of the magazine of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation focuses on researchers at risk.

Financed by

Supported by