Welcome Centres
(initiative closed)

International researchers can feel at home at German universities

From 2006 to 2011, in cooperation with the Deutsche Telekom Stiftung and the Stifterverband, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation ran the ideas competition “Welcome Centres for internationally mobile researchers”. The aim was to send a signal and generate models that would drive the creation of professional service structures to support internationally mobile researchers in Germany.

Welcome Centres are a central point at a university offering wide-ranging advisory and support services for visiting researchers and their families. They not only help them to feel at home at German universities but also enhance Germany’s pulling-power as a research location. Moreover, they allow universities to have a better overview of their visiting scientists and scholars from abroad, which helps them to develop their profile for foreign researchers.

In 2006, 2008 and 2010, German universities were able to take part in this ideas competition. Over the three rounds, 13 strategies were selected which received funding to establish or extend service structures. By the second round, the success of the competition had already made itself apparent right across the country: Many universities were inspired by the competition and the strategies it generated to establish their own Welcome Centres. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation therefore looks back with great satisfaction on this successful initiative.

In the wake of the ideas competition, non-university research institutions also started to work on joint models of collaboration and there was also considerable interest in the strategies internationally: the first delegations have already paid visits.

 

Contact

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
Strategic Planning Division
Jean-Paul-Str. 12
53173 Bonn Germany

Tel.: +49 228-833 271
Fax: +49 228-833 114
info(at)avh.de

Further Information

Welcome Centres
(abgeschlossenes Projekt)

Internationale Forscherinnen und Forscher können sich an deutschen Universitäten willkommen fühlen

Die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung hat von 2006-2011 gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Telekom Stiftung und dem Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft die Initiative Ideenwettbewerb  „Welcome Centres für international mobile Forscher“ durchgeführt. Ziel war es durch eine Signal- und Vorbildfunktion die Schaffung professioneller Servicestrukturen für die Betreuung international mobiler Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler in Deutschland voranzutreiben.

Welcome Centres dienen als zentrale Stelle an der Hochschule und bieten ausgiebige Beratungs- und Betreuungsangebote für Gäste und deren Angehörige an. Sie fördern so nicht nur das Willkommensgefühl an deutschen Hochschulen, sondern verstärken auch die Attraktivität des Forschungsstandortes Deutschland. Darüber hinaus bekommen die Hochschulen so einen besseren Überblick über ihre ausländischen Gastforschenden, was ihnen dabei hilft, ihr Profil für ausländische Forschend einschätzen weiterzuentwickeln zu können.

Deutsche Hochschulen hatten in den Jahren 2006, 2008 und 2010 die Möglichkeit an diesem Ideenwettbewerb teilzunehmen. Ausgezeichnet wurden in den drei Runden insgesamt 13 Konzepte, die eine Förderung zur Schaffung beziehungsweise Erweiterung ihrer Servicestrukturen erhielten. Der Erfolg dieser Ausschreibungen war bereits nach der zweiten Auswahlrunde deutschlandweit spürbar: Zahlreiche Hochschulen hatten sich von dem Wettbewerb und den daraus resultierenden Konzepten inspirieren lassen und eigene Welcome Centres gegründet. Die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung blickt daher mit Freude auf diese gelungene Impulsgebung zurück.

Im Nachgang an diesen Ideenwettbewerb konnte beobachtet werden, dass auch außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen begonnen haben an gemeinsamen Kooperationsmodellen zu arbeiten. Auch aus dem internationalen Umfeld war ein starkes Interesse an den Konzepten zu spüren, erste Delegationsbesuche haben bereits stattgefunden.

 

Kontakt

Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
Referat Strategische Planung
Jean-Paul-Str. 12
53173 Bonn

Tel.: 0228-833 271
Fax: 0228-833 114
info(at)avh.de

Weitere Informationen