25 June 2015

Humboldtians at Nobel Laureate Meeting

Numerous members of the Humboldt Family amongst young researchers and Nobel Prize winners attending the Nobel Laureate Meeting on Lake Constance.

This year marks the 65th time that Nobel laureates and young researchers from throughout the world will come together for scholarly discussions in Lindau, Germany. Ten of the 650 young researchers who were invited to come to Lake Constance from 28 June to 3 July were nominated by the Humboldt Foundation. Humboldtians will also account for 15 of the 65 Nobel Prize winners attending the Nobel Laureate Meeting. They include, for example, Humboldt Research Award winner Steven Chu, who was U.S. Secretary of Energy from 2009 to 2013, and the physicist Albert Fert, a current Humboldt Research Award winner who is collaborating with Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg.

Logo of the Nobel Laureate Meeting

This year's Nobel Laureate Meeting will take an interdisciplinary approach and focus on the three natural sciences: chemistry, physics and medicine/physiology. With its panel discussions and lectures, the meeting offers opportunities for scientific dialogue that is cross-generational and cross-cultural. The "junior scientists" will be able to use programme activities such as the Master Classes to present their work to the attending Nobel laureates and seek feedback and advice.

The participants of this high-calibre event are designated in the course of a multi-stage process by a special selection committee for the Nobel Laureate Meeting. In its capacity as a scientific partner to the meeting, the Humboldt Foundation nominates young researchers from its network each year to attend the meeting.


The 65 Nobel laureates who have been invited to attend the meeting include the following Humboldtians:

  • Bruce Beutler, USA, Nobel Prize for Medicine 2011
  • Steven Chu, USA, Nobel Prize for Physics 1997
  • Aaron Ciechanover, Israel, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2004
  • Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Algeria, Nobel Prize for Physics 1997
  • Albert Fert, France, Nobel Prize for Physics 2007
  • Walter Gilbert, USA, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 1980
  • Roy Glauber, USA, Nobel Prize for Physics 2005
  • John Hall, USA, Nobel Prize for Physics 2005
  • Theodor Hänsch, Germany, Nobel Prize for Physics 2005
  • Serge Haroche, Morocco, Nobel Prize for Physics 2012
  • Jules Hoffmann, Luxembourg, Nobel Prize for Medicine 2011
  • Jean-Marie Lehn, France, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 1987
  • Rudolph Marcus, Canada, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 1992
  • Ei-ichi Negishi, China, Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2010
  • Martinus Veltman, Netherlands, Nobel Prize for Physics 1999

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 51 Nobel Prize winners.


Kristina Güroff
Press, Communication and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-455
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Further information