Humboldtians at Nobel Laureate Meeting

Numerous members of the Humboldt Family amongst young researchers and Nobel Prize winners attending the Nobel Laureate Meeting on Lake Constance.

Logo der Nobelpreistr├Ągertagung

This year marks the 66th time that Nobel laureates and young researchers from throughout the world will come together for scholarly discussions in Lindau, Germany. Nine of the approximately 400 young researchers from 80 countries who were invited to come to Lake Constance from 26 June to 1 July were nominated by the Humboldt Foundation. Humboldtians will also account for six of the 30 Nobel Prize winners attending the Nobel Laureate Meeting:

  • Steven Chu, USA, Nobel Prize in Physics 1997
  • Aaron Ciechanover, Israel, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2004
  • Roy Glauber, USA, Nobel Prize in Physics 2005
  • Theodor Hänsch, Germany, Nobel Prize in Physics 2005
  • Serge Haroche, Morocco, Nobel Prize in Physics 2012
  • Martinus Veltman, The Netherlands, Nobel Prize in Physics 1999

This year's Nobel Laureate Meeting will focus on physics. With its panel discussions and lectures, the meeting offers opportunities for scientific dialogue that is cross-generational and cross-cultural. The "junior scientists" will be able to use programme activities such as the Master Classes to present their work to the attending Nobel laureates and seek feedback and advice.

The participants of this high-calibre event are designated in the course of a multi-stage process by a special selection committee for the Nobel Laureate Meeting. In its capacity as a scientific partner to the meeting, the Humboldt Foundation nominates young researchers from its network each year to attend the meeting.


Kristina Güroff
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-455
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Further Information