29 January 2018, updated on 5 April 2018

2018 Anneliese Maier Award Winners selected

Eight top international humanities scholars and social scientists each receive €250,000 to collaborate with researchers in Germany

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has selected eight researchers from abroad – three women and five men – to receive this year’s Anneliese Maier Research Award. Each award is valued at €250,000 and is granted to outstanding humanities scholars and social scientists who are nominated by collaborative partners at German universities and research institutions. The award is designed to finance research collaboration over a period of up to five years with specialist colleagues in Germany. Funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, it seeks to help promote the internationalisation of the humanities and social sciences in Germany.

The eight award winners were selected from a total of 111 nominees from 30 countries. Most of the nominees came from the USA (22), the United Kingdom (14), Denmark (6), Israel (6) and the Netherlands (6).

The Anneliese Maier Research Award Winners 2018
The Anneliese Maier Research Award Winners 2018 (from top left to bottom right): Douglas Cairns, José Maurício Domingues, Pascal Mamassian, Alan Mikhail, Ingrid Piller, Annelise Riles, Sylvia Walby, Wang Hui
(Coyright: see bottom of page*)

The new award winners, their research topics and specialist fields, current countries of residence and host institutes in Germany are:

*Copyright: University of Edinburgh, Adriana Herz Domingues, private, Matt Bennington, Marcin Debski, Cornell University, Lancester University, MatjazTancic.com


Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Division Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Supported by