Alexander von Humboldt Professorship – Award Winners 2009

Oliver Brock

Computer science
Oliver Brock is a pioneer in the field of research into artificial intelligence for the next generation of autonomous robots which can produce complicated reactions and motion sequences and are thus suitable for use in medicine, space travel or in case of accidents involving radioactivity. At Berlin’s University of Technology Brock is not only expected to develop this research focus area but also propel forward partnerships with other academic institutions and industry.
 
no longer receiving sponsorship

Nominating University:  Berlin University of Technology (TU)
  • Oliver Brock
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock,
    39, computer scientist from Germany, studied at Berlin and Stanford where he completed his doctorate in 2000. He spent time researching at Rice University in Houston, USA, before returning to Stanford in 2001. Since 2002, he has been conducting research and teaching at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA. He has been awarded, amongst others, the NSF Career Award (2006).

Links

Downloads

Piet Wibertus Brouwer

Theoretical solid state physics
Piet Wibertus Brouwer is considered to be one of the most productive and important minds in his discipline. He investigates current themes in solid state theory and quantum transport at the interface of the quantum and classical worlds. Under his leadership a centre for theoretical physics is proposed at Berlin's Free University, the Dahlem Centre for Complex Quantum Systems.
 
no longer receiving sponsorship

Nominating University:  Berlin Free University (FU)
  • Piet Wibertus Brouwer
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Piet Wibertus Brouwer,
    37, theoretical solid state physicist from the Netherlands, studied physics and mathematics at Leiden, Netherlands, where he completed his doctorate in physics in 1997. He then spent time researching at Harvard before moving to Cornell University, Ithaca, USA, in 1999 where he has been conducting research ever since. Brouwer was granted the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation in 2006 and the Provost's Award for Distinguished Scholarship by Cornell University in 2007.

Links

Downloads

Georgi Dvali

Particle physics and cosmology
Georgi Dvali is considered to be one of the world's leading experts in the field of particle research and is highly respected in his discipline for his theories on gravitational interaction. With his help Munich University wants to develop into a leading global location for cosmological particle research which can hold its own with Princeton, Harvard or Stanford.

Nominating University:  Munich University (LMU)
  • Georgi Dvali
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Maurice Haas

    Prof. Dr. Georgi Dvali,
    44, particle physicist and cosmologist from Georgia, where he studied and completed his doctorate in high energy physics and cosmology at Tbilisi State University in 1992. His academic career took him to the International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Trieste and Pisa University. Since 1998, Dvali has been conducting research and teaching at New York University. Since 2007, he has also been working concurrently at the European Organisation for Nuclear Research CERN in Geneva.

Links

Downloads

Ulrike Gaul

Developmental biology
Ulrike Gaul is a world leader and innovative expert in systems biology, a research field which has not yet fully established itself in Germany. Rather than isolating individual genes or proteins systems biology investigates their combined impact in the body. At the Munich Gene Centre, Gaul is expected to raise systems biology research to international cutting-edge level and network with other working groups through interdisciplinary collaboration.

no longer receiving sponsorship
 
Nominating University:  Munich University (LMU)
  • Ulrike Gaul
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Ulrike Gaul,
    48, developmental biologist from Germany, studied biochemistry and physics at Tübingen where she completed her doctorate at the Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology in 1988. She spent time researching at the University of Washington and the University of California in Berkeley and has been a professor at Rockefeller University in New York since 1993.

Links

Downloads

Norbert Langer

Astrophysics
Norbert Langer has been one of the world’s leading experts in the field of theoretical astrophysics for more than two decades. He investigates the development of high mass stars up to the point when they explode as supernovae. His expertise will fill a gap in astronomy in Bonn, complementing the current scientific portfolio. Much is also expected from collaboration planned with the neighbouring Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy.
 
no longer receiving sponsorship

Nominating University:  Bonn University
  • Norbert Langer
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Jasper Zwartjes

    Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer,
    50, astrophysicist from Germany, studied at Göttingen where he completed his doctorate in 1986. In the same year, Langer became the first recipient of the German Astronomical Society’s Ludwig Biermann Award. From 1993 to 1996, he worked at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics in Garching on the strength of a Heisenberg Fellowship and subsequently moved to Potsdam University. He has been conducting research and teaching at Utrecht University, Netherlands, since 2000.

Links

Downloads

Martin Bodo Plenio

Quantum optics and quantum information
Martin Bodo Plenio is a world authority in the field of quantum information science and has produced ground-breaking work on entanglement in quantum systems and the practical realisation of quantum information processing. In Ulm he is expected to make a significant contribution to establishing the planned Centre for Quantum Engineering where mathematicians, physicists and electrical engineers are supposed to work together on a par with the best in the world.

Nominating University:  Ulm University
  • Martin Bodo Plenio
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Ulrike Leyens

    Prof. Dr. Martin Bodo Plenio,
    40, quantum optician from Germany, studied physics at Göttingen where he completed his doctorate in theoretical physics in 1994. A Feodor Lynen Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation took Plenio to Imperial College London, UK, in 1995 where he has been conducting research ever since. Amongst other awards, Plenio has been invited to give the Royal Society Clifford Paterson Lecture (2008) and has received the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2005) and the IOP’s Maxwell Medal and Prize (2004).

Links

Downloads

Burkhard Rost

Bioinformatics
Burkhard Rost is one of the researchers who has decisively shaped the development of bioinformatics into the indispensable discipline we know today. He is expected to provide new impetus and be a driving force for his subject in Germany and also build a bridge between biological sciences and medicine. To this end he will gather together a top-flight researcher group.

no longer receiving sponsorship

Nominating University: Munich University of Technology (TU)
  • Burkhard Rost
    Photo: Humboldt Foundation/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Burkhard Rost,
    47, bioinformatics scientist from Germany, studied physics, philosophy, history and psychology in Gießen and Heidelberg and completed his doctorate in physics at Heidelberg in 1994. In 1995, he spent time researching at Hinxton, Cambridge, UK and has been conducting research and teaching at Columbia University, New York, since 1998. Rost is, amongst others, a member of the New York Academy of Sciences.

Links

Downloads

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Press, Communications
and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of Press,
Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur – Die Preisträger 2009

Oliver Brock

Informatik
Oliver Brock ist ein Vorreiter der Erforschung von künstlicher Intelligenz für autonome Roboter der nächsten Generation, die komplizierte Reaktionen und Bewegungsabläufe beherrschen und so beispielsweise zum Einsatz in Medizin, Raumfahrt oder bei radioaktiven Unfällen geeignet sind. An der TU Berlin soll Brock nicht nur diesen Forschungsschwerpunkt ausbauen, sondern auch den Partnerschaften mit anderen Wissenschaftseinrichtungen und der Industrie einen neuen Schub geben.
 
nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität:  Technische Universität Berlin
  • Oliver Brock
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Oliver Brock,
    geb. 1969, Informatiker aus Deutschland, studierte in Berlin und Stanford, wo er 2000 promoviert wurde. Ein Forschungsaufenthalt führte ihn danach an die Rice University in Houston, USA, von wo er 2001 nach Stanford zurückkehrte. Im Jahr 2002 begann Brock seine Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit an der University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA. Er wurde unter anderem mit dem NSF Career Award (2006) ausgezeichnet. 2008 wurde er für die Alexander von Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt, in deren Rahmen er seit dem 1. Juli 2009 an der TU Berlin forscht.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Piet Wibertus Brouwer

Theoretische Festkörperphysik
Piet Wibertus Brouwer gilt in seiner Disziplin als einer der produktivsten und wichtigsten Köpfe. Er erforscht aktuelle Themen der Festkörpertheorie und des Quantentransports an der Schnittstelle der Quantenwelt und der klassischen Welt. Unter seiner Federführung soll ein Zentrum für theoretische Physik an der FU Berlin entstehen, das Dahlem Center for Complex Quantum Systems.
 
nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität:  Freie Universität Berlin
  • Piet Wibertus Brouwer
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Piet Wibertus Brouwer,
    geb. 1971, Theoretischer Festkörperphysiker aus den Niederlanden, studierte Physik und Mathematik in Leiden, Niederlande, wo er 1997 im Fach Physik promoviert wurde. Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt in Harvard wechselte Brouwer 1999 an die Cornell University, Ithaca, USA. Brouwer wurde 2006 mit dem Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel-Preis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung ausgezeichnet und erhielt 2007 den Provost's Award for Distinguished Scholarship der Cornell University. Ausgewählt für die Alexander von Humboldt-Professur 2008, begann er seine Tätigkeit an der FU Berlin am 1. Juli 2009.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Georgi Dvali

Teilchenphysik & Kosmologie
Georgi Dvali gilt als einer der internationalen Topexperten der Teilchenforschung, der mit seinen Theorien zur Gravitationswechselwirkung in seinem Fach große Beachtung findet. Die Universität München will mit seiner Hilfe zu einem weltweit führenden Standort für kosmologische Teilchenforschung werden, der den Vergleich mit Princeton, Harvard oder Stanford nicht zu scheuen braucht.

Nominierende Universität: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München zusammen mit dem MPI für Physik, München
  • Georgi Dvali
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Maurice Haas

    Prof. Dr. Georgi Dvali,
    geb. 1964, Teilchenphysiker und Kosmologe aus Georgien, wo er auch studierte und 1992 an der Tbilisi State University in Hochenergiephysik und Kosmologie promoviert wurde. Seine wissenschaftliche Laufbahn führte ihn unter anderem an das International Center for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) in Triest und die Universität Pisa. Ab 1998 forschte und lehrte Dvali an der New York University. Gleichzeitig arbeitet er seit 2007 am Europäischen Kernforschungszentrum CERN in Genf. 2008 als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor ausgewählt, trat er seine Stelle an der LMU München in enger Anbindung an das Max-Planck-Institut für Physik Anfang 2010 an.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Ulrike Gaul

Entwicklungsbiologie
Ulrike Gaul ist eine der weltweit führenden und innovativsten Expertinnen für Systembiologie, einem in Deutschland bislang wenig etablierten Forschungsgebiet, das einzelne Gene oder Proteine nicht isoliert, sondern im Gesamtzusammenhang ihrer Wirkung im Körper erforscht. Gaul soll am Genzentrum München die Forschung zur Systembiologie auf internationales Topniveau bringen und durch die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Arbeitsgruppen vernetzen.

nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Ulrike Gaul
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Ulrike Gaul,
    geb. 1960, Entwicklungsbiologin aus Deutschland, studierte Biochemie und Physik in Tübingen, wo sie 1988 am Max-Planck-Institut für Entwicklungsbiologie promoviert wurde. Nach Forschungsaufenthalten an der University of Washington und der University of California in Berkeley war sie von 1993 bis 2009 Professorin an der Rockefeller University in New York. 2008 als Alexander von Humboldt-Professorin ausgewählt, trat sie ihre Stelle an der LMU München im Jahr 2009 an.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Norbert Langer

Astrophysik
Norbert Langer gehört seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten zu den international führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet der theoretischen Astrophysik. Er erforscht die Entwicklung massereicher Sterne bis hin zu ihrer Explosion als Supernovae. Mit seiner Expertise schließt er eine Lücke innerhalb der Bonner Astronomie und ergänzt so das vorhandene wissenschaftliche Portfolio. Erfolg versprechend ist auch die geplante Zusammenarbeit mit dem benachbarten Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie.
 
nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
  • Norbert Langer
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Jasper Zwartjes

    Prof. Dr. Norbert Langer,
    geb. 1958, Astrophysiker aus Deutschland, studierte in Göttingen, wo er 1986 promoviert wurde. Im gleichen Jahr war Langer der erste Ludwig-Biermann-Preisträger der Astronomischen Gesellschaft. Ein Heisenberg-Stipendium führte ihn von 1993 bis 1996 an das Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching. Anschließend wechselte er an die Universität Potsdam. Ab 2000 forschte und lehrte Langer an der Universität Utrecht, Niederlande. 2008 wurde er für die Alexander von Humboldt-Professur ausgewählt, und so forscht er seit Januar 2009 am Argelander-Institut für Astronomie der Uni Bonn.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Martin Bodo Plenio

Quantenoptik & Quanteninformation
Martin Bodo Plenio ist international führend auf dem Gebiet der Quanteninformationstheorie und hat bahnbrechende Arbeiten zur Verschränkung zwischen Quantensystemen sowie der praktischen Realisierung von Quanteninformationsverarbeitung geleistet. In Ulm soll er maßgeblich zur Entstehung des geplanten Center for Quantum Engineering beitragen, an dem Mathematiker, Physiker und Elektroingenieure auf Augenhöhe mit der Spitze der internationalen Konkurrenz zusammenarbeiten sollen.

Nominierende Universität:  Universität Ulm
  • Martin Bodo Plenio
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Ulrike Leyens

    Prof. Dr. Martin Bodo Plenio,
    geb. 1968, Quantenoptiker aus Deutschland, studierte Physik in Göttingen, wo er 1994 in Theoretischer Physik promoviert wurde. Mit einem Feodor Lynen-Stipendium der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung ging Plenio 1995 an das Imperial College London, Großbritannien, wo er bis 2009 forschte. Plenio wurde unter anderem mit der Royal Society Clifford Paterson Lecture (2008), dem Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award (2005) und dem Maxwell Medal and Prize der IOP (2004) ausgezeichnet. 2008 wurde er als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor ausgewählt, er trat seine Professur in Ulm im Oktober 2009 als Direktor des Instituts für Theoretische Physik an.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

Burkhard Rost

Bioinformatik
Burkhard Rost hat die Entstehung der Bioinformatik als heute unverzichtbare Disziplin maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Er soll seinem Fach in Deutschland neue Impulse und Schubkraft verleihen sowie eine Brücke schlagen zwischen den Biowissenschaften und der Medizin. Hierfür wird er in München eine Exzellenzforschergruppe aufbauen.

nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität: Technische Universität München
  • Burkhard Rost
    Foto: Humboldt-Stiftung/
    Antony Nagelmann

    Prof. Dr. Burkhard Rost,
    geb. 1961, Bioinformatiker aus Deutschland, studierte Physik, Philosophie, Geschichte und Psychologie in Gießen und Heidelberg und wurde 1994 in Heidelberg im Fach Physik promoviert. Ein Forschungsstipendium führte ihn 1995 nach Hinxton, Cambridge, Großbritannien. Seit 1998 forschte und lehrte er an der Columbia University New York. Rost ist unter anderem Mitglied der New York Academy of Sciences. Ausgewählt im Jahr 2008, trat er seine Alexander von Humboldt-Professur im Juni 2009 an.

Links

Downloads und Multimedia

 

Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing 
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de