Alexander von Humboldt Professorship – The Award Winners 2013

Gregory Ralph Crane

Classical Philology
Gregory Ralph Crane combines classical philology and computer science in an innovative approach, applying computer science methods to systematise human cultural development. He owes his reputation as a pioneer of digital humanities to his development of the Perseus Digital Library, a comprehensive and freely accessible online library for antique source material. By appointing him to the University of Leipzig, the university aims to expand its Institute of Computer Science into an internationally visible digital humanities centre.

Nominating university: University of Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Gregory Ralph Crane,
    born in 1957, currently holds a chair in the Department of Computer Science at TUFTS University, Medford, USA. He completed his doctorate in classical philology at Harvard University in 1985 and subsequently worked there as an assistant professor. From 1985, he was involved in planning the Perseus Project as a co-director; in 1992, he became an assistant professor and later an associate professor at TUFTS University where he has held the Winnick Family Chair of Technology and Entrepreneurship since 1998. He has received, among others, the Google Digital Humanities Award 2010 for his work.

Fotodownload

Links

Frank Fehrenbach

Art History
Frank Fehrenbach is globally recognised as an outstanding scholar who has revitalised art history and established it as overarching Visual Studies. He received international acclaim for his studies on the works of Leonardo da Vinci in which he examines aspects of art history in a new interdisciplinary context invoking mathematics, optics, physics, geoscience and psychology. Fehrenbach thus overcomes the boundaries of his discipline and sets new benchmarks for art history as one of the innovative humanities. In Hamburg Fehrenbach is due to spearhead the realignment of the long-established Department of Art History and build up and lead a cross-disciplinary Research Centre on Images of Nature which is set to play a pioneering role in art history internationally.

Nominating University: University of Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Fehrenbach,
    born in 1963, currently a senior professor in the Department of History of Art and Architecture at Harvard University, Cambridge, USA. Doctorate in Tübingen (1995), habilitation in Basel (2003), including an extended period as an assistant professor at the Max Planck Society’s Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence. From 2004 at Harvard with visiting professorships in Berlin and Jena. Honours include the Hans Janssen Prize for European Art History awarded by Göttingen Academy of Sciences (1996) and a research award from the Aby Warburg Foundation Hamburg (2004).

Fotodownload

Links

Michael Neil Forster

Philosophy
Michael Neil Forster owes his reputation as a philosopher with a globally unique profile not least to his work on the connection between modern language philosophy and its Romantic roots in Herder’s writing. In his work, he combines the Anglo-American analytic philosophy approach with the continental approach, and is thus considered an important representative of those who examine the historical connections between these two schools of thought. His areas of specialisation include the philosophy of German idealism in Kant and Hegel, ranging all the way to the hermeneutics of Heidegger and Gadamer.
At the University of Bonn, Forster is to help develop the newly founded Internationales Zentrum für Philosophie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen and thus raise the international profile of philosophy at Bonn.

Nominating university: University of Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Neil Forster,
    born in 1957, is currently the Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Philosophy at the University of Chicago, USA. He conducted a research stay at the University of Heidelberg from 1984 to 1985, and gained his doctorate in 1987 at Princeton, USA. He was an assistant professor from 1985-1990, then an associate professor, and later a full professor at the University of Chicago. Forster has received numerous awards and honours.

Fotodownload

Links

Stephan Hartmann

Philosophy of Science
Stephan Hartmann is one of the world’s leading academics in formal epistemology and the philosophy of science. He gained his reputation particularly for his transdisciplinary approach, for example in applying Bayesian network theory, a statistical model of probability distribution, to complex issues in various areas of philosophy.
At LMU Munich he is to hold a chair in “Philosophy of Science” in the Faculty of Philosophy, Philosophy of Science and the Study of Religion. In addition, he is to manage the faculty’s Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy together with Humboldt Professor Hannes Leitgeb The faculty aims to become one of the five most important institutions for logic and the philosophy of science.

Nominating university: LMU Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Hartmann,
    geb. 1968, derzeit Professor am Department of Philosophy und Gründungsdirektor des Tilburg Center for Logic and Philosophy of Science (TiLPS) an der Tilburg University, Niederlande. 1995 Promotion an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Forschungsaufenthalte an der University of Washington und an der University of Pittsburgh. Von 2002 bis 2005 Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Philosophy, Probability and Modeling an der Universität Konstanz, 2004 bis 2006 Leiter des Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science (CPNSS) an der London School of Economics and Political Science und von 2006 bis 2007 Professor (zuvor Lecturer und anschließend Reader) am Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method ebendort. Gastprofessuren an der University of California, Irvine, und an der Lund University.

Fotodownload

Links

 
 

Michael Köhl

Nuclear and Molecular Physics
Michael Köhl is one of the world’s leading researchers in the field of experimental atomic physics and quantum optics. He specialises in ultra-cold particles and their interactions. His achievements include developing methods for examining atomic fermi quantum gases that have been adopted by other research groups around the world. His research is of practical significance for, among other things, zero-resistance current flow in superconductors. Köhl has worked closely with Humboldtians and Nobel Laureates in Physics, Wolfgang Ketterle and Theodor Hänsch.
By continuing his research at the University of Bonn he is to lay the foundations for an outstanding research centre at the intersection of quantum optics and condensed matter.

Nominating university: University of Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Köhl,
    born in 1975, is currently in the Department of Physics at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. He gained his doctorate at LMU Munich in 2001, then worked as a research assistant at ETH Zurich, where he completed his habilitation in 2006. From 2007 to 2011, he was a university reader in Cambridge, becoming a professor in 2011. Köhl received the Roentgen Award of the University of Gießen in 2007 and, in 2009, a European Research Council starting grant and the Leadership Fellowship of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC).

Fotodownload

Links

Oskar Painter

Quantum Optics
Oskar Painter is a pioneer in the development and physical characterisation of optical nanosystems. His current research focus is the study of quantum mechanical characteristics of mechanical solid state structures and their interaction with light. In his research, he uses the characteristically very low radiation pressure of light to prepare and study mechanical resonators in a quantum state. Applications of this technique include the development of quantum-limited high-precision sensors and the realisation of integrated networks for quantum optical communication. Oskar Painter will work both at FAU’s Physics Department and at the MPI for the Science of Light, intensifying cooperation between the two institutions. At the university he will strengthen the existing research focus on optical sciences, which has also received funding from the German government’s Excellence Initiative.

Nominating University: University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) in combination with the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for the Science of Light, Erlangen
  • Prof. Dr. Oskar Painter,
    born in 1972, currently Professor in the Laboratory of Applied Physics at California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, USA. Doctorate there in 2001; subsequently assistant professor (2002) and associate professor (2008). Since 2011, co-director of the Kavli Nanoscience Institute at Caltech. Awards include the Caltech Graduate Student Council Mentoring Award (2005); IQEC/CLEO Pacific Rim Plenary Speaker (2011). Co-founder of Xponent Photonics, member of the Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers (IEEE), the Optical Society of America and the American Physical Society.

Fotodownload

Links

Wolfram Ruf

Medicine
Wolfram Ruf is one of the world’s leading authorities in the field of coagulation physiology. The main focus of his work is on examining the protein thromboplastin which plays an important role in blood clotting. Increased thromboplastin production resulting, for example, from cancer may have negative effects – in addition to causing thromboses, the protein can also increase tumour growth. Ruf has shown that these cellular processes caused by thromboplastin can be influenced without negatively affecting blood clotting.
His appointment to the University Medical Center (UMC) of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz is intended to strengthen UMC’s recently founded Center for Thrombosis and Hemostasis (CTH).

Nominating university: Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Ruf,
    born in 1958, currently works at the Scripps Research Institute/Department of Immunology and Microbial Science, La Jolla, USA. From 1984 to 1988, he was a doctoral candidate and research associate in the clinical research unit on Blood Coagulation and Thrombosis of the Max Planck Society; he has worked at the Scripps Research Institute since 1988, and been a professor there since 1996. In 2005, he received the Special Recognition Award in Thrombosis of the American Heart Association.

Fotodownload

Links

 

Contact

Barbara Wieners-Horst
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur – Die Preisträger 2013

Gregory Ralph Crane

Klassische Philologie
Gregory Ralph Crane kombiniert in einem innovativen Ansatz Altphilologie und Informatik. So wendet er Methoden der Informatik zur Systematisierung der kulturellen Entwicklung des Menschen an. Seine Reputation als Pionier der Digital Humanities, der digitalen Geisteswissenschaften, verdankt er der Entwicklung der Perseus Digital Library, einer umfangreichen und frei zugänglichen Online-Bibliothek für antike Quellen. Mit seinem Ruf an die Universität Leipzig soll das Institut für Informatik zu einem international sichtbaren Zentrum der Digital Humanities ausgebaut werden.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Gregory Ralph Crane,
    geb. 1957, derzeit Lehrstuhlinhaber am Department of Computer Science der TUFTS University, Medford, USA. Promotion im Bereich klassische Altertumswissenschaften an der Harvard University 1985, danach dort Assistant Professor. Seit 1985 als Co-Director an den Planungen zum Perseus-Projekt beteiligt, seit 1992 als Assistant Professor, dann als Associate Professor an der TUFTS University. Seit 1998 Inhaber des Winnick Family Chair of Technology and Entrepreneurship. Für seine Leistungen wurde er unter anderem mit dem Google Digital Humanities Award 2010 ausgezeichnet.

Fotodownload

Links

Frank Fehrenbach

Kunstgeschichte
Frank Fehrenbach ist einer der international herausragenden Wissenschaftler, die die Kunstgeschichte erneuert und als übergreifende Bildwissenschaft etabliert haben. Weltweite Anerkennung haben seine Arbeiten zum Werk Leonardo da Vincis gefunden, wobei er kunstgeschichtliche Aspekte in neue interdisziplinäre Zusammenhänge stellte, etwa zur Mathematik, Optik, Physik, Geowissenschaften oder Psychologie. Fehrenbach überschreitet damit die Grenzen seiner Disziplin und setzt neue methodische Maßstäbe einer Kunstgeschichte als innovativer Geisteswissenschaft. In Hamburg soll Fehrenbach im Zentrum einer Neuausrichtung des traditionsreichen Kunstwissenschaftlichen Seminars stehen und eine fächerübergreifende „Forschungsstelle Naturbilder“ aufbauen und leiten, die international eine kunsthistorische Vorreiterrolle übernehmen soll.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Frank Fehrenbach,
    geb. 1963, derzeit Senior Professor am Department of History of Art and Architecture der Harvard University, Cambridge, USA. Promotion 1995 in Tübingen, Habilitation in Basel 2003 mit längerer Assistentenzeit am kunsthistorischen Max-Planck-Institut in Florenz. Seit 2004 in Harvard mit Gastprofessuren unter anderem in Berlin und Jena. Erhielt 1996 den Hans-Janssen-Preis der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen und war 2004 Wissenschaftspreisträger der Aby-Warburg-Stiftung Hamburg.

Fotodownload

Links

Michael Neil Forster

Philosophie
Seinen Ruf als Philosoph mit weltweit einzigartigem Profil verdankt Michael Neil Forster unter anderem seinen Arbeiten über den Zusammenhang zwischen moderner Sprachphilosophie und ihren romantischen Wurzeln bei Herder. Er vereint in seinen Arbeiten die Ansätze analytischer Philosophie des anglo-amerikanischen Raumes mit den europäischen Ansätzen und gilt damit als wichtiger Vertreter derer, die die historischen Zusammenhänge zwischen beiden Ausrichtungen herausarbeiten. Zu seinen Spezialgebieten zählen die Philosophie des deutschen Idealismus bei Kant und Hegel bis hin zur Hermeneutik Heideggers und Gadamers.
An der Universität Bonn soll Forster das neu gegründete Internationale Zentrum für Philosophie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen ausbauen helfen und somit die internationale Sichtbarkeit der Bonner Philosophie verstärken.

Nominierende Universität: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Neil Forster,
    geb. 1957, derzeit Glen A. Lloyd Distinguished Service Professor am Department of Philosophy der University of Chicago,USA. 1984-1985 Forschungsaufenthalt an der Universität Heidelberg, Promotion 1987 in Princeton/USA. Assistant Professor von 1985-1990, danach Associate Professor, später Professor an der University of Chicago. Forster hat zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen erhalten.

Fotodownload

Links

Stephan Hartmann

Wissenschaftstheorie
Stephan Hartmann ist einer der führenden Wissenschaftler in der formalen Erkenntnistheorie und der Wissenschaftstheorie. Bekanntheit erlangte er vor allem wegen seines transdisziplinären Ansatzes, beispielsweise in der Anwendung der wahrscheinlichkeitstheoretischen Theorie Bayesscher Netze, auf komplexe Fragestellungen aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Philosophie.
An der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München soll er an der Fakultät für Philosophie, Wissenschaftstheorie und Religionswissenschaft eine Professur im Bereich „Philosophy of Science“ antreten. Zusätzlich soll er gemeinsam mit Humboldt-Professor Hannes Leitgeb das ebenfalls dort angesiedelte Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy leiten. Ziel der Fakultät ist es, einer der fünf wichtigsten Einrichtungen für Logik und Wissenschaftsphilosophie zu werden.

Nominierende Universität: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Hartmann,
    geb. 1968, derzeit Professor am Department of Philosophy und Gründungsdirektor des Tilburg Center for Logic and Philosophy of Science (TiLPS) an der Tilburg University, Niederlande. 1995 Promotion an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen. Forschungsaufenthalte an der University of Washington und an der University of Pittsburgh. Von 2002 bis 2005 Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Philosophy, Probability and Modeling an der Universität Konstanz, 2004 bis 2006 Leiter des Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science (CPNSS) an der London School of Economics and Political Science und von 2006 bis 2007 Professor (zuvor Lecturer und anschließend Reader) am Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method ebendort. Gastprofessuren an der University of California, Irvine, und an der Lund University.

Fotodownload

Links

Michael Köhl

Atom- und Molekülphysik
Michael Köhl gehört zu den Top-Forschern auf dem Gebiet der experimentellen Atomphysik und der Quantenoptik. Sein Arbeitsgebiet sind ultrakalte Teilchen und deren Wechselwirkungen untereinander. So entwickelte er beispielsweise Methoden zur Untersuchung von atomaren Fermi-Quantengasen, die weltweit von anderen Forschergruppen übernommen wurden. Von praktischer Bedeutung ist seine Forschung unter anderem für den widerstandslosen Stromfluss in Supraleitern. Eng zusammengearbeitet hat Köhl mit den Humboldtianern und Nobelpreisträgern für Physik Wolfgang Ketterle und Theodor Hänsch.
Die Fortsetzung seiner Forschungen an der Universität Bonn soll den Grundstein für ein herausragendes Forschungszentrum an der Schnittstelle von Quantenoptik und kondensierter Materie legen.

Nominierende Universität: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Köhl,
    geb. 1975, derzeit am Department of Physics der University of Cambridge, Großbritannien. 2001 Promotion an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, danach wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der ETH Zürich, 2006 dort Habilitation. Von 2007 bis 2011 University Reader in Cambridge, seit 2011 dort auch Professor. 2007 erhielt Köhl den Röntgen-Preis der Universität Gießen, 2009 den ERC Starting Grant des European Research Council und das Leadership Fellowship des Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC).

Fotodownload

Links

Oskar Painter

Quantenoptik
Oskar Painter ist ein Pionier auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung und physikalischen Beschreibung von optischen Systemen auf der Nanoskala. Sein momentaner Forschungsschwerpunkt konzentriert sich auf das quantenmechanische Verhalten von mechanischen Festkörperstrukturen und deren Wechselwirkung mit Licht. Seine Forschungsarbeit nutzt den typischerweise sehr schwachen Strahlungsdruck von Licht, um mechanische Resonatoren in einem Quantenzustand zu präparieren und zu studieren. Anwendungsmöglichkeiten liegen unter anderem in der Entwicklung von quantenoptischen Kommunikationsnetzwerken und quantenlimitierten Präzisionssensoren. Oskar Painter soll zugleich an der Universität Erlangen am Institut für Physik und am MPI für die Physik des Lichts arbeiten und die Kooperation zwischen beiden Einrichtungen intensivieren. An der Universität soll er unter anderem den bereits in der Exzellenzinitiative geförderten Schwerpunkt der Optical Sciences verstärken.

nicht mehr in Förderung

Nominierende Universität: Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für die Physik des Lichts, Erlangen
  • Prof. Dr. Oskar Painter,
    geb. 1972, derzeit Professor am Laboratory of Applied Physics des California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, USA. Dort promovierte er 2001, wurde 2002 Assistant Professor und 2008 Associate Professor, seit 2011 ist er Co-Director des Kavli Nanoscience Institute am Caltech. Erhielt unter anderem 2005 den Caltech Graduate Student Council Mentoring Award und war 2011 IQEC/CLEO Pacific Rim Plenary Speaker. Mitbegründer des Unternehmens Xponent Photonics, Mitglied am Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers (IEEE), der Optical Society of America und der American Physical Society.

Fotodownload

Links

Wolfram Ruf

Medizin
Wolfram Ruf ist einer der international am besten ausgewiesenen Wissenschaftler im Bereich der Gerinnungsphysiologie. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt in der Erforschung des Proteins Thromboplastin, das eine wichtige Rolle bei der Blutgerinnung spielt. Die vermehrte Produktion von Thromboplastin bei beispielsweise Krebserkrankungen kann negative Auswirkungen haben – neben der Entstehung von Thrombosen kann das Protein auch ein verstärktes Tumorwachstum bewirken. Ruf hat gezeigt, dass diese durch das Thromboplastin ausgelösten Zellvorgänge beeinflusst werden können, ohne die Blutgerinnung negativ zu beeinflussen.
Seine Berufung an das University Medical Center (UMC) der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz soll das dort angesiedelte und neu gegründete Centrum für Thrombose und Hämostase (CTH) verstärken.

Nominierende Universität: Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfram Ruf,
    geb. 1958, zurzeit am Scripps Research Institute/Department of Immunology and Microbial Science, La Jolla, USA tätig. 1984 bis 1988 Doktorand und Research Associate bei der Klinischen Forschungsgruppe Blutgerinnung und Thrombose der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Seit 1988 am Scripps Research Institute, seit 1996 dort auch Professor. 2005 erhielt er den Special Recognition Award in Thrombosis der American Heart Association.

Fotodownload

Links

 

Kontakt

Barbara Wieners-Horst
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de