Alexander von Humboldt Professorship – The Award Winners 2014

Giuseppe Caire

Communications engineering

Giuseppe Caire is one of the world’s leading experts on the principles of telecommunications and information theory. His pioneering work on coded modulation and many other publications and applications have had a lasting impact on the practice and standards of modern wireless communications. They are at the bottom of many digital communication technologies such as WLAN and mobile phone transmission. By conducting top-level theoretical research at university whilst working on practical applications at the Heinrich Hertz Institute, Caire would continue to combine productive research with concrete applications and consolidate TU Berlin’s position at the international forefront of the field.

Nominating university: Technische Universität Berlin (TU Berlin) in conjunction with the Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute, Berlin

  • Guiseppe Caire
    Photo: University of
    Southern California

    Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Caire,
    born in 1965, is currently a professor at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA. Italian by birth, he worked as a research assistant at the European Space Agency ESTEC in The Netherlands after completing his doctorate at the Politecnico di Torino in 1994, returning to Turin as an assistant professor in 1995. From 1997 to1998, he was an associate professor at the University of Parma, receiving a research fellowship to Princeton University, USA, in 1997. He was a full professor at the Eurecom Institute, Antipolis, France, from 1998 to 2005, and spent several months at the University of Sydney in 2000. He has received numerous honours, particularly from IEEE for whom he worked as president of the Information Theory Society, ITS.

Emmanuelle Marie Charpentier

Molecular biology

Emmanuelle Charpentier is considered one of the most innovative researchers in the field of RNA regulation and the molecular biology of infectious diseases worldwide. Her work on bacterial pathogens, for example, and the ability of bacteria to defend themselves against pathogens, has generated much attention. At Hannover Medical School and the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research she would combine basic research into molecular mechanisms with translations into clinical therapies and promote clinical infectiology, a field recently neglected in Germany.

Nominating university: Hannover Medical School in conjunction with the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig

no longer receiving sponsorship

  • Emmanuelle Marie Charpentier
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier,
    born in 1968, has been associate professor at Umeå University in Sweden since 2009, where she heads a research group at the Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden. After taking her doctorate in her home country of France, she became a postdoc at Rockefeller University, USA, in 1996, and a research assistant in New York and Memphis. From 2002, she continued her career in Vienna, transferring to Umeå after completing her habilitation in 2006. The Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden is part of the Nordic EMBL Partnership for Molecular Medicine, where Emmanuelle Charpentier is developing an additional working group. She received awards from the Swedish Fernström Foundation in 2011 and the City of Vienna in 2009.
     

Stefanie Engel

Environmental economics

Stefanie Engel is one of the world’s leading researchers in environmental economics, particularly in the field of the economics of ecosystems services. She investigates how individuals and groups treat their environment and natural resources, how their behaviour is influenced and how it can be controlled. To this end, she employs a broad spectrum of methods deriving, for example, from behavioural economics or game theory. At Osnabrück University, Stefanie Engel could invigorate the interdisciplinary Institute of Environmental Systems Research and help to guide the focus on “Governance of sustainable socio-ecological systems” to the international forefront. Stefanie Engel is a member of the Research Committee on Environmental and Development Economics of the “Verein für Socialpolitik”, the largest association of economists in the German-speaking world. She was also a member of the Task Force on Environmental Economics which is part of the Initiative for Policy Dialogue headed by Nobel economics laureate, Joseph E. Stiglitz.

Nominating university: Osnabrück University

  • Stefanie Engel
    Photo: ETH Zürich

    Prof. Dr. Stefanie Engel,
    born in 1968, has been a professor of Environmental Policy and Economics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich, Switzerland, since 2006. She took her doctorate at the University of Maryland (USA) in 1999, having previously been engaged in research and teaching at the Universidad de Los Andes and Fedesarrollo (Fundación para la Educación Superior y el Desarrollo), an economic and social research think-tank, also in Bogotá, Colombia, from 1997-1999. She subsequently continued her research at the Centre for Development Research (ZEF) at the University of Bonn, from 2000 to 2005, where she headed a Junior Research Group on “Institutions for the Management of Natural Resources in Developing Countries,” financed by the Robert Bosch Foundation; from 2002, she led the “Natural Resources” working group. She gained her Habilitation from the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Bonn in 2005. Stefanie Engel is a member of the Research Committee on Environmental and Development Economics of the “Verein für Socialpolitik”, the largest association of economists in the German-speaking world, and of the Task Force on Environmental Economics which is part of the Initiative for Policy Dialogue headed by Nobel economics laureate, Joseph E. Stiglitz.

Stuart S. P. Parkin

Solid state physic

Stuart Parkin has an international reputation as an outstanding, innovative solid state physicist who knows how to transpose theoretical developments in material science into technological applications. Amongst other things, his work has had a global impact on magnetic data storage. His pioneering achievements include the development of oscillatory interlayer coupling in magnetic multilayers for industrially-produced giant magnetoresistance and the discovery and utilisation of tunnelling magnetoresistance. He is currently investigating the potential for enhancing storage density with the help of a three-dimensional storage medium. Stuart Parkin is invited to become a professor in the Institute of Physics at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg and the Director of the Max Planck Institute (MPI) of Microstructure Physics. This would help to establish Halle’s position as an outstanding international location for applied spintronics and materials science.

Nominating university: Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg in conjunction with the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics

  • Stuart Parkin
    Photo: IBM Almaden
    Research Center

    Prof. Dr. Stuart Parkin,
    born in the UK in 1955, heads the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, USA, and is the Director of the Spintronic Science and Applications Center (SpinAps) in Stanford, USA, which was founded in 2004. He is also a consulting professor at Stanford University. After taking his doctorate at the University of Cambridge he became a postdoc at IBM and was made a fellow in 1999 – the highest technical honour granted by IBM. From 2004 to 2006, he conducted research at RWTH Aachen University on the strength of a Humboldt Research Award. He holds honorary doctorates from RWTH and Eindhoven University of Technology. He is a member of numerous international academies including the Royal Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He travels the world as a visiting professor. Most recently, he received the Von Hippel Award, the highest accolade granted by the Materials Research Society.

Andreas S. Schulz

Applied mathematics (operations Research)

Andreas Schulz is a world leader in the field or Operations Research (OR) and a driving force in the new research discipline of algorithmic game theory. Thanks to his interdisciplinary strategy he has become an expert in combining mathematical OR research with established economic theory – an approach that has not been adopted very widely in Germany so far. At Technischen Universität München (TUM), Andreas Schulz is invited to accept a professorship in Quantitative Methods in Management at the TUM School of Management and also be involved in the TUM School of Mathematics. The aim of this interdisciplinary research is to put collaboration between the two departments on a new footing and thus steer TUM towards a vanguard position in fundamental research in Germany.

Nominating university: Technische Universität München (TUM)

  • Andreas Schulz
    Photo: Sonja Èukiæ

    Prof. Dr. Andreas Schulz,
    born in 1969, is a professor of Mathematics of Operations Research and holder of the Patrick J. McGovern Chair of Management at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA. He was appointed to the professorship in 1998, at the age of 29. In 1996, his doctoral dissertation at Technische Universität Berlin (TU Berlin) was awarded the Carl Ramsauer Prize and the Dissertation Award of the German Society for Mathematics, Econometrics and Operations Research (GMÖOR). Between 2011 and 2013, he returned to TU Berlin as a Humboldt Research Award winner to teach and conduct research. He has already held numerous visiting professorships at institutions such as the University of British Columbia, the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich and Maastricht University. Furthermore, he is a founding member of the “Junge Akademie” (academy of young academics) Berlin, Germany.

Jairo Sinova

Theoretical physics

Jairo Sinova is one of the most eminent theoretical physicists of the younger generation in semi-conductor spintronics. Whilst still a postdoc in 2003, he became famous overnight when he proposed the notion of the intrinsic Spin Hall Effect. Since then, he has continued his theoretical work in cooperation with many experimental colleagues. He is invited to join the Institute of Physics at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and help drive the field of Spintronics/Spin Related Phenomena to the international forefront; he would also take centre stage in establishing the new Humboldt Center for Emergent Spin Phenomena (H-CESP). Jairo Sinova’s presence at the interface of theory and experimentation would enhance the Institute of Phsyics’s existing experimental expertise and develop its as yet non-existent theoretical group focused in spin related phenomena.

Nominating university: Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

  • Jairo Sinova
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova,
    born in 1972, is a professor of Physics at Texas A&M University (TAMU) in College Station, USA. He also works as an independent researcher for the Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic. After completing his doctorate at Indiana University in 1999, he worked as a postdoc at the University of Tennessee and the University of Texas at Austin before relocating to TAMU in 2003. He is a member of the American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers. Jairo Sinova has received numerous honours including the National Science Foundation’s Career Award and the Cottrell Scholar Award of the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA).

Hidenori Takagi

Solid state physics

Hidenori Takagi is one of the most eminent and best networked international researchers in modern solid state research and materials sciences worldwide. His contributions to high-Tc superconductivity, correlated materials and magnetic oxide compounds are considered just as innovative and outstanding as his achievements in the synthesis of novel compounds. At the University of Stuttgart and the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Stuttgart he would augment the strategic focus area of solid state research, drive a new research direction from “classic” semi-conductor and metals research to “advanced materials” and help extend interdisciplinary research.

Nominating university: University of Stuttgart in conjunction with the Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research Stuttgart

  • Hidenori Takagi
    Photo: Stuttgart University

    Prof. Dr. Hidenori Takagi,
    born in 1961, is currently a professor at the University of Tokyo and, since 2002, director of the Magnetic Materials Laboratory at RIKEN Advanced Science Institute in Wako, Saitama, Japan. During and after his doctorate (1989), he worked as a member of the technical staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories in the USA. In 1994, he returned to Tokyo as an associate professor, becoming a full professor in 1999. His most important awards include the IBM Science Prize (1988) and the Prize for Science and Technology, granted by the Japanese Ministry of Education (2010). In 2010, he was also a Fellow of the American Physical Society. Hidenori Takagi has edited several journals such as the Journal of the Physical Society of Japan. He is the co-editor of a number of international specialist journals and a member of various international bodies, including the International Advisory Committee at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (since 2008).

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Alexander von Humboldt-Professur – Die Preisträger 2014

Giuseppe Caire

Nachrichtentechnik

Giuseppe Caire ist einer der weltweit führenden Experten auf dem Gebiet der Grundlagen der Nachrichtentechnik und der Informationstheorie. Seine bahnbrechenden Arbeiten zur kodierten Modulation und viele weitere Publikationen und Anwendungen haben die Praxis und Standards in der modernen drahtlosen Kommunikation nachhaltig beeinflusst. Sie stecken hinter vielen aus dem Alltag nicht mehr wegzudenkenden Techniken der digitalen Kommunikation wie W-Lan-Verbindungen oder Mobilfunkübertragungen. Durch die Verbindung von theoretischer Forschung an der Universität auf höchstem Niveau mit praktischen Anwendungen am Heinrich-Hertz-Institut soll er weiterhin produktive Forschung und konkrete Umsetzung miteinander verbinden und die internationale Spitzenstellung der Technischen Universität Berlin auf dem Gebiet festigen.

Nominierende Universität: Technische Universität Berlin gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institut, Berlin

  • Guiseppe Caire
    Foto: University of
    Southern California

    Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Caire,
    geb. 1965, ist derzeit Professor an der University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA. Im Anschluss an die Promotion 1994 am Politecnico di Torino war der gebürtige Italiener Forschungsmitarbeiter bei der European Space Agency ESTEC in den Niederlanden, bis er 1995 als Assistant Professor zurück nach Turin ging. 1997-1998 war er Associate Professor an der Universität Parma und war 1997 Forschungsstipendiat an der Princeton University, USA. Von 1998 bis 2005 war er Full Professor am Institut Eurécom in Sophia Antipolis, Frankreich, 2000 verbrachte er mehrere Monate an der University of Sydney. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, insbesondere durch den IEEE, wo er auch als Präsident einer Fachgesellschaft (Information Theory Society ITS) tätig war.

Emmanuelle Marie Charpentier

Molekularbiologie

Emmanuelle Charpentier gilt als eine der innovativsten Forscherinnen auf dem Gebiet der RNA-Regulation und der molekularbiologischen Infektionsforschung. Zu ihren vielbeachteten Arbeiten gehört beispielsweise die Erforschung bakterieller Krankheitserreger sowie die Fähigkeit von Bakterien, sich ihrerseits gegen Krankheitserreger zu verteidigen. An der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover sowie am Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung soll sie Grundlagenforschung zu den molekularen Mechanismen mit der Umsetzung in klinische Therapien verbinden und die in Deutschland zuletzt vernachlässigte klinische Infektiologie stärken.

Nominierende Universität: Medizinische Hochschule Hannover zusammen mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung Braunschweig

nicht mehr in Förderung

  • Emmanuelle Marie Charpentier
    Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Emmanuelle Charpentier,
    geb. 1968, ist seit 2009 Associate Professor an der Umeå University in Schweden, wo sie eine Forschungsgruppe am Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden leitet. Nach der Promotion in Frankreich ging die Französin 1996 als Postdoktorandin an die RockefeIler University, USA, und war Forschungsassistentin in New York und Memphis. Seit 2002 verfolgte sie ihre Karriere in Wien, nach der Habilitation 2006 ging sie nach Umeå. Das "Laboratory for Molecular Infection Medicine Sweden" ist Teil der Nordischen EMBL-Partnerschaft für Molekulare Medizin, wo Emmaunelle Charpentier eine weitere Arbeitsgruppe aufbaut. Auszeichnungen erhielt sie durch die Schwedische Fernström Stiftung 2011 und die Stadt Wien 2009.
     

Stefanie Engel

Umweltökonomie

Stefanie Engel ist eine der weltweit führenden Forscherinnen auf dem Gebiet der Umweltökonomie. Sie untersucht, wie Individuen und Gruppen mit ihrer Umwelt und natürlichen Ressourcen umgehen und wie ihr Verhalten beeinflusst wird sowie gesteuert werden kann. Hierzu nutzt sie ein breites Spektrum von Methoden, etwa aus der Verhaltensökonomie oder der Spieltheorie. An der Universität Osnabrück könnte Stefanie Engel das interdisziplinäre Institut für Umweltsystemforschung mit ihrer wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Expertise verstärken und helfen, den Profilbereich "Governance von nachhaltigen sozio-ökologischen Systemen" zur internationalen Spitze zu führen.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Osnabrück

  • Stefanie Engel
    Foto: ETH Zürich

    Prof. Dr. Stefanie Engel,
    geb.1968, ist seit 2006 Professorin für Umweltpolitik und Umweltökonomie an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) Zürich. Ihre Promotion schloss sie 1999 an der University of Maryland (USA) ab, zuvor forschte und lehrte sie von 1997 bis 1999 an der Universidad de Los Andes sowie am Wirtschafts- und Sozialforschungsinstitut Fedesarrollo (Fundación para la Educación Superior y el Desarrollo), beide in Bogotá, Kolumbien. Anschließend forschte sie von 2000 bis 2005 am Zentrum für Entwicklungsforschung (ZEF) der Universität Bonn. Dort leitete sie eine von der Robert-Bosch-Stiftung finanzierte Nachwuchsforschergruppe zum Thema „Institutionen für das Management natürlicher Ressourcen in Entwicklungsländern“ sowie ab 2002 die Arbeitsgruppe „Natürliche Ressourcen“. 2005 habilitierte sie an der Agrarwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Bonn. Stefanie Engel ist Mitglied des umweltökonomischen und des -entwicklungsökonomischen Ausschusses des Vereins für Socialpolitik, der größten Vereinigung von Wirtschaftswissenschaftlern im deutschsprachigen Raum, und war Mitglied der Task Force on Environmental Economics innerhalb der vom Wirtschaftsnobelpreisträger Joseph E. Stiglitz geleiteten Initiative for Policy Dialogue.

Stuart S. P. Parkin

Festkörperphysik

Stuart Parkin ist als herausragender und innovativer Festkörperphysiker weltweit angesehen, der theoretische Entwicklungen in der Materialwissenschaft in technologische Anwendungen umzusetzen versteht. So haben seine Arbeiten die magnetische Datenspeicherung weltweit revolutioniert. Zu seinen Pionierleistungen zählen die Entwicklung von Schichtsystemen für den in industriellen Verfahren hergestellten Riesenmagnetowiderstand sowie die Entdeckung und Nutzbarmachung des Tunnelmagnetowiderstands. Zurzeit erforscht er die Möglichkeit einer noch höheren Speicherdichte mit Hilfe eines dreidimensionalen Speichermediums. Stuart Parkin soll Professor am Institut für Physik der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg sowie Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für Mikrostrukturphysik werden und damit die Etablierung eines international herausragenden Wissenschaftsstandorts im Bereich angewandte Spintronic und Materialwissenschaften in Halle unterstützen.

Nominierende Universität: Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für Mikrostrukturphysik, Halle

  • Stuart Parkin
    Foto: IBM Almaden
    Research Center

    Prof. Dr. Stuart Parkin,
    geb. 1955, leitet das IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, USA, und ist Direktor des 2004 gegründeten Spintronic Science and Applications Centers (SpinAps) in Stanford, USA. Zudem ist er Consulting Professor der Stanford University. Im Anschluss an seine Promotion an der University of Cambridge kam der gebürtige Engländer als Postdoktorand zu IBM, wo er 1999 zum Fellow ernannt wurde und damit die höchste technische Auszeichnung bei IBM erhielt. Zwischen 2004 und 2006 forschte er mit einem Humboldt-Forschungspreis an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen. An der RWTH sowie an der Technischen Universität Eindhoven in den Niederlanden ist er Ehrendoktor. Er ist Mitglied zahlreicher internationaler Akademien, wie der Royal Society und der American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Als Gastprofessor ist er zudem weltweit tätig. Zuletzt wurde er 2012 mit dem Von Hippel Award geehrt, der höchsten Auszeichnung der Materials Research Society.

Andreas S. Schulz

Angewandte Mathematik (Operations Research)

Andreas Schulz ist einer der weltweit führenden Forscher auf dem Gebiet Operations Research (OR) und eine treibende Kraft der neuen Forschungsdisziplin Algorithmische Spieltheorie. Interdisziplinär ausgerichtet gilt er als Experte dafür, mathematische OR-Forschung mit der originären Wirtschaftstheorie zusammenzubringen – ein Ansatz, der in Deutschland bislang wenig verfolgt wird. An der Technischen Universität München (TUM) soll Andreas Schulz eine Professur für Quantitative Methods in Management an der TUM School of Management bekommen und daneben der TUM School of Mathematics angehören. Ziel der interdisziplinären Forschungstätigkeit ist, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen beiden Fakultäten auf eine neue Grundlage zu stellen und damit die TUM in eine führende Position im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung in Deutschland zu bringen.

Nominierende Universität: Technische Universität München (TUM)

  • Andreas Schulz
    Foto: Sonja Čukić

    Prof. Dr. Andreas Schulz,
    geb. 1969, ist Professor of Mathematics of Operations Research und Lehrstuhlinhaber des Patrick J. McGovern Chair of Management am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, USA. Die Professur trat er 1998 bereits im Alter von 29 Jahren an. Für seine Dissertation an der Technischen Universität Berlin wurde er 1996 mit dem Carl- Ramsauer-Preis und mit dem Preis für herausragende Dissertationen der Gesellschaft für Mathematik, Ökonomie und Operations Research (GMÖOR) geehrt. Als Humboldt-Forschungspreisträger kehrte er zwischen 2011 und 2013 für einen Forschungs- und Lehraufenthalt an seine Alma Mater in Berlin zurück. Er hat bereits zahlreiche Gastprofessuren ausgeübt, wie an der University of British Columbia, der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) Zürich und der Universität Maastricht. Er ist zudem Gründungsmitglied der Jungen Akademie in Berlin/Deutschland.

Jairo Sinova

Theoretische Physik

Jairo Sinova ist einer der angesehensten theoretischen Physiker der jüngeren Generation im Bereich der Halbleiter-Spintronik. Noch in seiner Postdoc-Zeit wurde er 2003 mit seiner Vorhersage des intrinsischen Spin-Hall-Effekts mit einem Schlag weltweit bekannt. Seither hat er als Theoretiker seine Arbeiten hierzu in zahlreichen Kooperationen mit experimentellen Kollegen weitergeführt. Er soll am Institute of Physics der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz den Bereich Spintronic/Spin Related Phenomena zur internationalen Spitze entwickeln helfen und bei der Gründung eines neuen Humboldt Center for Emergent Spin Phenomena (H-CESP) im Zentrum stehen. Mit Jairo Sinova an der Schnittstelle soll die bestehende experimentelle Expertise des Institute of Physics gestützt sowie die bisher nicht vorhandene theoretische Gruppe mit Schwerpunkt Spin-bezogene Phänomene aufgebaut werden.

Nominierende Universität: Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

  • Jairo Sinova
    Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova,
    geb. 1972, ist Professor of Physics an der Texas A&M University (TAMU) in College Station, USA. Für das Institute of Physics of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic ist er zudem als unabhängiger Forscher tätig. Nach seiner Promotion 1999 an der Indiana University forschte er als Postdoktorand an der University of Tennessee und der University of Texas at Austin, bevor er 2003 an die TAMU wechselte. Er ist Mitglied der American Physical Society und der American Association of Physics Teachers. Jairo Sinova erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Career Award der National Science Foundation und den Cottrell Scholar Award der Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA).

Hidenori Takagi

Festkörperforschung

Hidenori Takagi ist einer der weltweit herausragenden und international bestens vernetzten Forscher für die moderne Festkörperforschung und Materialwissenschaft. Seine Beiträge auf dem Gebiet der Hochtemperatursupraleitung, der korrelierten Materialien und der magnetischen oxidischen Verbindungen gelten als ebenso innovativ und hervorragend wie seine Fähigkeiten bei der Synthese von neuartigen Verbindungen. An der Universität Stuttgart sowie am dortigen Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung soll er den strategischen Schwerpunkt der Festkörperforschung verstärken und eine Neuausrichtung von der "klassischen" Halbleiter- und Metallforschung hin zu "Advanced Materials" vorantreiben und die interdisziplinäre Forschung ausbauen helfen.

Nominierende Universität: Universität Stuttgart gemeinsam mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart

 

  • Hidenori Takagi
    Foto: Universität Stuttgart

    Prof. Dr. Hidenori Takagi,
    geb. 1961, ist derzeit Professor an der University of Tokyo sowie seit 2002 Direktor des Magnetic Materials Laboratory am RIKEN Advanced Science Institute in Wako, Saitama, Japan. Während und nach der Promotion (1989) war er an der University of Tokyo nach der Promotion war er als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei AT&T Bell Laboratories in den USA tätig. 1994 kehrte er als Associate Professor nach Tokio zurück, seit 1999 ist er ebendort Professor. Unter den wichtigsten Auszeichnungen sind der IBM Science Prize (1988) und der Prize for Science and Technology des japanischen Bildungsministeriums (2010). 2010 war er zudem Fellow der American Physical Society. Hidenori Takagi hat mehrere Zeitschriften wie das Journal of the Physical Society of Japan herausgegeben. Er ist Mitherausgeber mehrerer internationaler Fachzeitschriften sowie Mitglied mehrerer internationaler Gremien, u.a. dem International Advisory Committee am Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (seit 2008).

Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de