Anneliese Maier Research Award 2013 - The Award Winners

Michal Biran

History of Asia

The historian Michal Biran is an internationally-renowned specialist in the field of Eurasian history from 10th to 14th century. Her transcultural historical research of the Mongol Empire enabled her to bridge the gap between Sinologists, Mongolists and Islamic studies scholars. Her publications have become standard reference works on the Mongol and Pre-Mongol periods. Born in Israel, she not only speaks her native language of Hebrew, but also English, French and German as well as Arabic, Persian, Chinese, Russian and classical Mongolian, which enables her to read the original versions of documents that are relevant to the regions of central and inner Asia, and to study the history of the nomadic people in its full Eurasian context. The research collaboration with the University of Bonn should promote academic exchange between Germany, Israel and Mongolia and help strengthen Eurasian history as a research topic.

Nominating university: University of Bonn, Institute of Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology
Host: Prof. Dr. Jan Bemmann

  • Michal Biran
    Photo: Hebrew University,
    Jerusalem

    Prof. Dr. Michal Biran
    Born in 1965, Michal Biran is Max and Sophie Mydans Foundation Professor in the Humanities and the director of the Louis Frieberg Center for East Asian Studies at the Institute of Asian and African Studies of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel, where she also studied and received her PhD (2000, Islamic and Middle Eastern Studies). She also studied at Shandong University (China) and at Harvard University, and was a fellow of the School of Historical Studies in Princeton, USA, from 2001-2002. She has just received a 5 years ERC grant for her project Mobility, Empire and Cross-Cultural Contacts in Mongol Eurasia, which maps and analyzes the movements of people, ideas and artifacts across the Old World in the 13th and 14th centuries. Together with Hodong Kim, she is now editing The Cambridge History of the Mongol Empire for Cambridge University Press. She is a member of several boards and committees, including the World History Association and the Association of Asian Studies, and has received numerous awards and fellowships.

Eva Illouz

Sociology of culture

Eva Illouz is a leading international sociologist who researches how emotional life has been transformed by capitalism and by the culture of modernity. Her studies on emotions, consumer society and media culture are regarded as milestones in the study of emotions and relations in the modern world. Eva Illouz also plays a key role in helping develop classic sociological theories. In as far back as 2004, she gave the ‘Adorno lectures’ at the University of Frankfurt’s Institute of Social Research, which led to her book ‘Gefühle in Zeiten des Kapitalismus’ (‘Capitalism with Feelings’). Her cooperation with the University of Frankfurt is also playing a role in her new project, which will examine the philosophical and sociological aspects of “authenticity” in contemporary culture.

Nominating university: Goethe University Frankfurt, Institute of Social Research
Host: Prof. Dr. Axel Honneth

  • Eva Illouz
    Photo: Susanne Shleyer
    Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz
    Born in 1961, Eva Illouz has been a Professor of Sociology at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Israel, since 2006. After receiving her PhD in the USA in 1991, she visited at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (School for Advanced Studies in the Social Sciences) in Paris and Princeton University in New Jersey, USA. Prior to this, she taught in New York, Philadelphia and Tel-Aviv. She has received numerous awards, including the Outstanding Researcher Award from the Hebrew University and the Best Book Award from the American Sociological Association. In 2009, the ZEIT newspaper named her as one of 12 intellectuals who are likely to change the way we think in the future.

Marie-Louise Bech Nosch

Ancient history

Marie-Louise Bech Nosch is an internationally-renowned historian who specialises in ancient history and one of the leading experts in the field of textile research. Born in Denmark, she has presented pioneering works on the textile industry in the Mycenaean period. In addition to her professorship at the University of Copenhagen, she is also Director of the associated Centre for Textile Research, which has developed into a leading international institution in this field since its establishment in 2005. At the centre, she conducts experimental research on ancient spinning and weaving techniques. Her innovative approach to research combines methods from the fields of science and humanities. As a globally-renowned historian and well-connected manager, she aims to assist the internationalisation and involvement of groups of junior researchers at the University of Hannover, and further collaborates with colleagues in Mainz, Kiel, Cologne, and Marburg, as well as with, among others, the Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz and the Centre for Baltic and Scandinavian Archeology.

Nominating university: Leibniz Universität Hannover, History Department
Host: Prof. Dr. Beate Wagner-Hasel

  • Marie-Louise Bech Nosch
    Photo: Suste Bonnen

    Prof. Dr. Marie-Louise Bech Nosch
    Born in 1970, Marie-Louise Bech Nosch has been a professor at the University of Copenhagen since 2009. She received her PhD in Salzburg, Austria, in 2000, and joined the University of Copenhagen in 2003. She is the author of more than 70 papers and editor of ten anthologies on textile themes. Also, she is member of several academic committees, including the Danish Council for Research Policy. In 2009, she was the first woman to receive the Danish Elite Researcher Prize from the Ministry of Research and Innovation.

Francis Jeffry Pelletier

Linguistics, Philosophy

The linguist Francis Jeffry Pelletier is one of the most important representatives of formal semantics. His interdisciplinary research at the University of Alberta combines the elements of linguistics, philosophy, artificial intelligence and cognitive science. In addition to highly influential publications on compositionality, vagueness and quantification, the US-born academic has published key works on the question of the interpretation of generic noun phrases. In his latest research at the University of Bochum, he combines theoretical approaches of semantics with empirical and quantitative approaches of computational linguistics.

Nominating university: Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Linguistics Institute
Host: Prof. Dr. Tibor Kiss

  • Francis Jeffry Pelletier
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Francis Jeffry Pelletier
    Born in 1944, Francis Jeffry Pelletier has been a Professor of Philosophy at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada, since 2009. He also previously worked there as a professor of philosophy and computing science from 1983 to 2003; from 2004 to 2009, he held the Canada Research Chair in Cognitive Science, a double-professorship in philosophy and linguistics, at the Simon Frasier University in Vancouver. Amongst others, he is also a member of the American Philosophical Association and the Society for Exact Philosophy (President 1992-94), and has been a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada since 2009.

Jean J. du Plessis

Company law and corporate governance

Jean J. du Plessis is a leading international scholar, active in the areas of corporate law and corporate governance. Born in South Africa, he became an expert in German company law and the German corporate governance model as a former Humboldt fellow with solid contacts to German research institutions. He also maintains close academic relations with New Zealand, South Africa, the UK and the USA. Jean J. du Plessis utilises these international relations to actively advance and promote German company law and corporate governance principles. Several of his articles and scholarly works in recent years were dedicated to German corporate governance in an international and European context. He will work closely with colleagues at the University of Münster to stimulate further research in Germany and elsewhere in these fields. His focus will be on numerous practical issues and the further internationalisation of these fields in Germany.

Nominating university: University of Münster, Institute of International Business Law
Host: Prof. Dr. Ingo Saenger

  • Jean J. du Plessis
    Photo: Deakin University

    Prof. Dr. Jean J. du Plessis
    Born in 1959, Jean J. du Plessis has been a Professor at Deakin University in Geelong, Australia, since 2000. He taught at the Rand Afrikaans University (now the University of Johannesburg) in Johannesburg, South Africa, from 1991-1998 and prior to that at the University of the Orange Free States (now the University of the Free State) in Bloemfontein, South Africa. He was Head of the Deakin Law School from 2000-2002 and President of the Australian Corporate Law Teachers Association from 2007-2009. He served and is still serving on several Editorial Boards, including the Journal of South African Law, Transactions of the Centre for Business Law (University of the Free State) and the Deakin Law Review.

Himanshu Prabha Ray

Archaeology

Himanshu Prabha Ray is a distinguished Indian archaeologist and historian. Among her many areas of expertise are the early periods of Indian history up to the 6th-7th century A.D., the cultural and economic exchange between South Asia and its neighbouring regions in the East and the West, the maritime archaeology of South and Southeast Asia, the influence of colonial attitudes and bias on the historiography of South Asia, and the interpretation of archaeological findings relating to Buddhism in this region. At the University of Munich, she will not only work with colleagues from her own disciplines but also with art historians.

Nominating university: LMU Munich, Institute of Indology and Tibetology
Host: Prof. Dr. Monika Zin

  • Himanshu Prabha Ray
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Himanshu Prabha Ray,
    Born on August 15, 1947, Himanshu Prabha Ray has been head of the newly established National Monuments Authority of the Ministry of Culture, Government of India since 2012. Prior to this, she taught as Professor at the Centre for Historical Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi, India, since 2006, having joined the university in 1980. Numerous fellowships have enabled her to research in Germany, the Netherlands, France, England, North America and Singapore. She is the editor of Routledge India series on Archaeology and Religion in collaboration with the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies, Oxford.

Jeffrey W. Sherman

Social psychology

Jeffrey Sherman is a leading international academic in the field of social cognition research. At the University of California, Davis, he uses an innovative approach in terms of both content and method to research how stereotypes and prejudices influence people’s judgment and behavior. Sherman develops mathematical models, such as his Quad model, to measure aspects of prejudices and stereotypes that people are either unwilling or unable to report. The research collaboration makes it possible to involve the Freiburg Graduate School and establish close contact with junior researchers.

Nominating university: University of Freiburg, Institute of Psychology
Host: Prof. Dr. Karl Christoph Klauer

  • Jeffrey W. Sherman
    Photo: private

    Prof. Dr. Jeffrey W. Sherman
    Born in 1967, Jeffrey Sherman has been a Professor of Social Psychology at the University of California, Davis, since 2005. After receiving his PhD from the University of California, Santa Barbara, in 1994, he taught at Northwestern University in Illinois, USA until moving back to California. He has received several commendations and awards, including the Theoretical Innovation Prize from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology and the Best Paper Award from the International Social Cognition Network. Sherman is a Fellow of several academic organizations, including the Association for Psychological Science, the Society for Experimental Social Psychology, and the Society for Personality and Social Psychology.

Contact

Barbara Wieners-Horst
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis 2013 - Die Preisträger

Michal Biran

Geschichte Asiens

Die Historikerin Michal Biran ist eine international renommierte Spezialistin auf dem Gebiet der Geschichte Eurasiens des 10. bis 14. Jahrhunderts. Mit ihrer transkulturellen historischen Forschung des mongolischen Weltreichs gelang ihr ein Brückenschlag zwischen der Sinologie, Mongolistik und Islamwissenschaften. Ihre Publikationen wurden zu Standardwerken über die Mongolen- und Vormongolenzeit. Die Israelin beherrscht neben ihrer Muttersprache Hebräisch auch Englisch, Französisch und Deutsch, sowie Arabisch, Persisch, Chinesisch und das klassische Mongolisch. Dies ermöglicht ihr, Textdokumente, die für die Regionen Zentral- und Innerasien relevant sind, im Original zu lesen, und die Geschichte der nomadischen Völker in ihrem eurasischen Kontext zu erforschen. Die Forschungskooperation mit der Universität Bonn soll den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen Deutschland, Israel und der Mongolei fördern und helfen, die Geschichte Eurasiens als Forschungsthema zu stärken.

Gastinstitut: Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, Institut für früh- und vorgeschichtliche Archäologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Jan Bemmann

  • Michal Biran
    Foto: Hebrew University,
    Jerusalem

    Prof. Dr. Michal Biran,
    geb. 1965, ist Professorin und Direktorin des Louis Friedberg Center für Ost-Asien-Studien am Institut für Asien- und Afrikastudien der Hebrew University of Jerusalem in Israel, wo sie auch studierte und promovierte (2000). Sie forschte auch an der Shandong Universität (China) und in Harvard (USA), und war als Fellow an der School of Historical Studies in Princeton, USA. Zuletzt erhielt sie ein Stipendium des European Research Council. Zusammen mit Hodong Kim editiert sie die Cambridge History of the Mongol Empire für die Cambridge University Press. Sie ist Mitglied in zahlreichen Gremien und Ausschüssen, darunter die World History Association und die Association of Asian Studies, und wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen und Stipendien ausgezeichnet.

Eva Illouz

Kultursoziologie

Eva Illouz ist eine der international führenden Soziologinnen auf dem Gebiet der Kultursoziologie. Sie erforscht den Einfluss, den Kapitalismus und die Kultur der Moderne auf emotionales Beziehungsverhalten haben. Ihre Studien zu Emotionen, Konsumgesellschaft und Medienkultur gelten dabei als Meilenstein. Außerdem leistet Eva Illouz einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung klassischer soziologischer Theorien. Am Institut für Sozialforschung der Universität Frankfurt hielt sie bereits 2004 die „Adorno-Vorlesungen“, aus denen das Buch „Gefühle in Zeiten des Kapitalismus“ hervorging. Die Kooperation mit der Universität Frankfurt wird auch für ihr neues Projekt, das sich mit philosophischen und soziologischen Aspekten der Authentizität in der gegenwärtigen Kultur befasst, eine Rolle spielen.

Gastinstitut: Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, Institut für Sozialforschung
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Axel Honneth

  • Eva Illouz
    Foto: Susanne Shleyer
    Prof. Dr. Eva Illouz,
    geb. 1961, ist seit 2006 Professorin für Soziologie an der Hebrew University in Jerusalem, Israel. Nach der Promotion 1991 in den USA war sie u.a. an der Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales in Paris und an der Princeton University in New Jersey, USA, tätig. Zuvor lehrte sie in New York, Philadelphia und Tel-Aviv. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Outstanding Researcher Award der Hebrew University und den Best Book Award der American Sociological Association. 2009 wurde sie von der ZEIT in eine Reihe von 12 Intellektuellen gewählt, die wahrscheinlich das Denken der Zukunft verändern werden.

Marie-Louise Bech Nosch

Alte Geschichte

Marie-Louise Bech Nosch ist eine international renommierte Althistorikerin und eine der führenden Expertinnen auf dem Gebiet der Textilforschung. Die Dänin hat wegweisende Arbeiten zur Textilwirtschaft in mykenischer Zeit vorgelegt. Neben ihrer Professur an der Universität Kopenhagen ist sie Direktorin am dort angegliederten Centre for Textile Research, das sich seit seiner Gründung 2005 zu einem international führenden Zentrum in der Erforschung von Textilien entwickelt hat. Dort führt sie experimentelle Forschungen zur antiken Spinn- und Webtechnik durch. In ihren innovativen Forschungsansätzen kombiniert sie natur- und geisteswissenschaftliche Methoden. Die weltweit angesehene Historikerin und gut vernetzte Managerin soll am Historischen Seminar der Universität Hannover zur Internationalisierung sowie zur Einbeziehung von Nachwuchsgruppen beitragen und kollaboriert mit Kollegen in Mainz, Kiel, Köln und Marburg sowie mit der Stiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz und dem Zentrum für Baltische und Skandinavische Archäologie.

Gastinstitut: Leibniz-Universität Hannover, Historisches Seminar
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Beate Wagner-Hasel

  • Marie-Louise Bech Nosch
    Foto: Suste Bonnen

    Prof. Dr. Marie-Louise Bech Nosch,
    geb. 1970, ist seit 2009 Professorin an der Universität Kopenhagen. Sie promovierte 2000 in Salzburg, Österreich, und lehrt seit 2003 an der Universität Kopenhagen. Sie publizierte mehr als 70 Artikel und 10 Anthologien über Textilforschung. Außerdem ist sie Mitglied in zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Ausschüssen, darunter dem dänischen Council for Research Policy. 2009 wurde sie als erste Frau vom Ministerium für Forschung und Innovation mit dem Danish Elite Researcher Prize ausgezeichnet.

Francis Jeffry Pelletier

Sprachwissenschaften

Francis Jeffry Pelletier gehört zu den wichtigsten Vertretern der formalen Semantik. In seinen interdisziplinären Forschungen an der University of Alberta vereint er Elemente der Linguistik, Philosophie, künstlichen Intelligenz und Kognitionswissenschaft. Neben einflussreichen Publikationen zu Kompositionalität, Vagheit und Quantifikation hat der gebürtige US-Amerikaner bedeutende Arbeiten zur Frage der Interpretation generischer Nominalphrasen veröffentlicht. In seiner neuesten Forschung, die er an der Universität Bochum weiterverfolgt, vereint er theoretische Ansätze der Semantik mit empirischen und quantitativen Ansätzen der Computerlinguistik.

Gastinstitut: Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Sprachwissenschaftliches Institut
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Tibor Kiss

  • Francis Jeffry Pelletier
    Foto: Privat

    Prof. Dr. Francis Jeffry Pelletier,
    geb. 1944, ist seit 2009 Professor für Philosophie an der University of Alberta in Edmonton, Kanada. Dort war er bereits von 1983 bis 2003 Professor für Informatik und Philosophie; von 2004-2009 hatte er den Canada Research Chair in Cognitive Science, einer Doppelprofessur in Philosophie und Linguistik, an der Simon Fraser University in Vancouver inne. Er ist Mitglied der American Philosophical Association und der Society for Exact Philosophy (Präsident von 1992-1994) und ist seit 2009 Fellow der Royal Society of Canada.

Jean J. du Plessis

Gesellschaftsrecht

Jean J. du Plessis ist ein international herausragender Wissenschaftler in den Bereichen Gesellschaftsrecht und Corporate Governance. Zum Experten für deutsches Gesellschaftsrecht und das deutsche Corporate Governance-Modell wurde der gebürtige Südafrikaner als früherer Humboldt-Stipendiat, der im Anschluss engen Kontakt zu deutschen Forschungseinrichtungen hielt. Auch pflegt er enge wissenschaftliche Beziehungen mit Neuseeland, Südafrika, Großbritannien und den USA, durch die er das deutsche Gesellschaftsrecht bereichert und bei der Entwicklung von Richtlinien unterstützt. In zahlreichen Artikeln widmete er sich der deutschen Corporate Governance im internationalen und europäischen Kontext. In seiner Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen der Universität Münster will Jean J. du Plessis sich auf praktische Fragen sowie auf die weitere Internationalisierung dieser Forschungsgebiete in Deutschland konzentrieren.

Gastinstitut: Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Ingo Saenger

  • Jean J. du Plessis
    Foto: Deakin University

    Prof. Dr. Jean J. du Plessis,
    geb. 1959, ist seit 2000 Professor an der Deakin University in Geelong, Australien. Von 1991-1998 lehrte er an der Rand Afrikaans University (heute die University of Johannesburg) in Johannesburg, Südafrika, zuvor an der University of the Orange Free States (die heutige University of the Free States) in Bloemfontein, Südafrika. Von 2002-2004 leitete er die Deakin Law School, von 2007-2009 war er Präsident der australischen Corporate Law Teachers Association. Er ist Mitglied im verschiedenen Editorial Boards, unter anderem dem Journal of South African Law, Transactions of the Centre for Business Law (University of the Free State) und dem Deakin Law Review.

Himanshu Prabha Ray

Archäologie

Himanshu Prabha Ray ist eine herausragende indische Archäologin und Historikerin. Zu ihren Spezialgebieten gehören die frühen Perioden der Geschichte Indiens bis zum 6. und 7. Jahrhundert, der kulturelle und wirtschaftliche Austausch zwischen Südasien und seinen Nachbarregionen, die maritime Archäologie im südasiatischen Raum, der Einfluss kolonialer Haltungen in der südasiatischen Geschichtsschreibung sowie die Interpretation archäologischer Funde, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Buddhismus stehen. An der Universität München wird sie nicht nur mit Kollegen aus ihrer unmittelbaren Disziplin, sondern auch mit Historikern und Kunstwissenschaftlern zusammenarbeiten.

Gastinstitut: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Institut für Indologie und Tibetologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Monika Zin

  • Himanshu Prabha Ray
    Foto: Privat

    Prof. Dr. Himanshu Prabha Ray,
    geb. 1947, leitet seit 2012 die neue indische National Monuments Authority im indischen Kulturministerium. Zuvor lehrte sie seit 2006 als Professorin am Centre for Historical Studies der Jawaharlal Nehru University, Dehli, Indien, wo sie bereits seit 1980 unterrichtete. Mit zahlreichen Stipendien forschte sie in Deutschland, den Niederlanden, Frankreich, England, Nordamerika und Singapur. Sie ist Herausgeberin der Indien-Serie von Routledge über Archäologie und Religion in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Oxford Centre für Hinduistische Studien in Oxford.

Jeffrey W. Sherman

Sozialpsychologie

Jeffrey Sherman ist ein international führender Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Social Cognition-Forschung. An der University of California, Davis, forscht er mit einem inhaltlich sowie methodisch innovativen Ansatz, wie Stereotype und Vorurteile das Verhalten und die Urteile von Menschen beeinflussen. Der Amerikaner entwickelt mathematisierte Modelle, darunter das sogenannte Quad-Modell, welches es möglich macht, Aspekte von Vorurteilen und Stereotypen zu messen, die Menschen nicht zeigen können oder wollen. An der Universität Freiburg wird er auch in Graduiertenschulen in die Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern eingebunden.

Gastinstitut: Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Institut für Psychologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Karl Christoph Klauer

  • Jeffrey W. Sherman
    Foto: Privat

    Prof. Dr. Jeffrey W. Sherman,
    geb. 1967, ist seit 2005 Professor für Sozialpsychologie an der University of California, Davis. Nach seiner Promotion 1994 an der University of California, Santa Barbara, lehrte er an der Northwestern University in Illinois, USA, bis er zurück nach Kalifornien ging. Er erhielt mehrfach Auszeichnungen und Preise, darunter der Theoretical Innovation Prize der Society for Personality and Social Psychology und ein Best Paper Award des International Social Cognition Network. Jeffrey Sherman ist Fellow in verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Organisationen wie zum Beispiel der Association for Psychological Science, der Society for Experimental Social Psychology und der Society for Personality and Social Psychology.

Kontakt

Barbara Wieners-Horst
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de