Anneliese Maier Research Award 2015 - The Award Winners

Hans Beck

Local worlds and global change in the Ancient World

Ancient historian Hans Beck treads uncharted paths with his research. His work on the political and social structures of the Roman Empire centres on research into elites. Through his analysis of the collective biographies of the Senate aristocracy, Beck also points out new ways to investigate the rules governing how positions were awarded in the Roman ruling class. In his work on Greek antiquity Beck focusses on the federal alliances of the time rather than taking the more usual approach of the individual polis. His publications in this area regularly become reference works in his field. Working together with colleagues at the University of Münster, the native German is currently investigating the complex relationship between local lifeworlds and global change in antique Greece.

Host institute:
University of Münster, Institute of Ancient History
Host: Professor Dr Peter Funke

  • Photo: Ryan Blau

    Professor Dr Hans Beck
    was born in 1969. He is a professor of ancient history and classics at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Hans Beck completed his undergraduate and doctoral studies at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg in Germany and was a visiting scholar at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. After working at the University of Cologne, Harvard University in the USA and as a Heisenberg scholar at Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, he moved to Canada in 2005. Today, he is the director of classical studies at McGill University.

Robert B. Brandom

Language as social practice

The American Robert B. Brandom is one of the most talked-about philosophers and influential theoreticians of our times. He investigates the rules that determine our actions and our language. Much of his work revolves around the central question of how the meaning of language evolves from its use. Brandom’s research has an impact that goes well beyond philosophy into areas like anthropology and the social sciences. At Leipzig University Brandom is due to strengthen the connections between contemporary German and American philosophy and to collaborate with the Max Planck Research Award winner and developmental psychologist, Michael Tomasello, who is also based in Leipzig.

Host institute:
Leipzig University, Institute of Philosophy, Department of Theoretical Philosophy
Host: Professor Dr Pirmin Stekeler-Weithofer

  • Photo: Jörg Aberger /
    Leipzig University
    Professor Dr Robert B. Brandom
    was born in the USA in 1950 and is the Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at the University of Pittsburgh. Brandom studied mathematics, art and philosophy and took a doctorate at Princeton University, USA, in 1975. He subsequently became an assistant professor at Pittsburgh, was a fellow at Stanford University, USA, in 2002 and at All Souls College, Oxford, UK, in 2006. Robert Brandom has been a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences since 2000.

Angelos Chaniotis

Taking ancient inscriptions as a source

Angelos Chaniotis has an international reputation as a progressive thinker in ancient history. Himself a Greek, he has specialised in Hellenistic history and Greek epigraphy. Chaniotis uses epigraphic evidence, like inscriptions, as the source for social and religious history as well as the history of mentalities in the ancient world. He has addressed topics such as the role of inscriptions in the historical consciousness of ancient Greece. He has also considered the importance of emotions in the cult practices of the eastern Roman Empire and written the first cultural history of war in the Hellenistic period. At LMU Munich, Chaniotis is set to reinvigorate ancient history in Germany and be involved, in particular, in training junior researchers.

Host institute: LMU Munich, School of History, Department of Ancient History
Host: Professor Dr Jens-Uwe Krause

  • Photo: Cliff Moore

    Professor Dr Angelos Chaniotis
    was born in Greece in 1959. He initially studied in Athens and then moved to Heidelberg University in Germany where he took a doctorate. In 1994, he relocated to New York University, USA, and returned to Heidelberg as a professor from 1998 to 2006. He subsequently worked at the University of Oxford, UK, transferring to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, USA, in 2010. Chaniotis has received numerous awards, including the State Prize for Literature, awarded by the Greek Ministry of Culture, and the State Research Prize Baden-Wuerttemberg.

Kristian S. Gleditsch

Crises in focus

What are the causes of violent conflict and how can we predict them? This is the kind of question on the major challenges facing peace and conflict research that are addressed by the leading international social scientist, Kristian S. Gleditsch. He is particularly interested in civil war research and research on democratisation processes. For this purpose, the Norwegian also utilises mathematics: together with colleagues, he recently invoked power laws to examine how inequality of income and political discrimination amongst ethnic groups can affect the risk of armed conflict. In Konstanz, Gleditsch will help drive the fields of political violence risk prediction and research on the so-called Arab Spring.

Host institute: University of Konstanz, Department of Politics and Public Administration
Host: Professor Dr Gerald Schneider

  • Photo: private

    Professor Dr Kristian S. Gleditsch
    was born in Norway in 1971. He is a professor at the University of Essex, United Kingdom, and is a research associate of the Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO). After undergraduate studies at the University of Oslo, Gleditsch moved to the University of Colorado in the USA where he completed his doctorate in 1999. He has worked in Scotland, at the University of Glasgow, in the USA, at Harvard University and the University of California, and moved to the United Kingdom in 2005. Gleditsch is a member of numerous scientific organisations including the American Political Science Association.

Jeffrey F. Hamburger

New insights into the Middle Ages

The American art historian, Jeffrey F. Hamburger, is a world authority on the religious art of the Middle Ages and medieval manuscript illumination. He focuses, in particular, on less well-known groups of artists as well as unpublished materials, thus continually opening up new fields of research. His work on medieval manuscript illuminations in female monasteries, for example, provides completely new insights into medieval society, religion and the church from a female perspective. Other areas of interest include text-image relationships, the history of attitudes towards images, visions and visionary experience as well as medieval mysticism and monastic patronage of the arts. As an invited contributor to, among others, the German daily newspaper FAZ (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), he plays an active role in current debates on research policy, and as the curator of exhibitions, he also presents his research to a broader public. In Düsseldorf, Hamburger is set to drive fundamental research in medieval studies, especially art history and cultures of knowledge in the Middle Ages.

Host institute: Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, Department of History
Host: Professor Dr Eva Schlotheuber

  •  
    Photo: private

    Professor Dr Jeffrey F. Hamburger
    was born to an American family in the United Kingdom in 1957. Since 2008, he has been Kuno Francke Professor of German Art & Culture at Harvard University, USA. After completing his undergraduate and doctoral studies at Yale and working in Ohio and Toronto, he moved to Harvard in 2000. He has been a visiting professor in Paris, Oxford, Leuven, Hamburg, Freiburg and Zürich, as well as a Senior Visiting Fellow at the Warburg Institute in London. In 1996-97, he was a Humboldt Research Fellow at the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich. Hamburger has received many awards and honors, including an honorary degree from the University of Bern (2013). He is a member of scientific organisations such as the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Philosophical Society.

Susan Irvine

New standards in source-based research

Susan Irvine is one of the world’s leading experts on Old English language and literature. She has set new standards with her translations and editions of Old English texts which have received great recognition. For instance, Susan Irvine’s comprehensive edition of De Consolatione Philosophiae by the late Roman philosopher Boethius sparked a debate on the authorship of the Old English translations from the 9th and 10th centuries: since Irvine’s edition, the Old English community has been re-addressing the role played by King Alfred the Great, who was previously thought to be the translator of Boethius. At the University of Göttingen, Irvine is set to reinvigorate Old English studies in Germany and be involved in promoting junior researchers in another of her focus areas, electronic text editions.

Host institute: University of Göttingen, Department of English Philology
Host: Professor Dr Winfried Rudolf

  • Photo: private

    Professor Dr Susan Irvine
    was born in New Zealand in 1960 and has held the distinguished Quain Professorship of English Language and Literature at University College London, United Kingdom, since 2013. She joined the university as a lecturer in 1992 and became a professor of English in 2004. Susan Irvine was educated at the University of Otago, New Zealand, and the University of Oxford, UK, where she completed her doctorate. She is the Vice-President of the International Society of Anglo-Saxonists and a member of numerous other scientific organisations.

Pamela Klassen

Religion and Public Memory in Multicultural Societies

Canadian-born religious studies scholar, Pamela Klassen, is a leading expert on modern religious diversity in North America. Her research spotlights contemporary religious phenomena, focussing on issues such as religion and medicine, women and religion, and Christianity today. Applying methods deriving from ethnology, for example, Klassen investigates the impact of religious ideas on our understanding of healing and health and the religious significance of home births. Her research is always based on case studies of the most diverse religions such as Christian missionaries, orthodox Jews, traditional Catholics and Methodists. In Tübingen, Klassen will drive the internationalisation of religious studies in Germany and help to sharpen the focus on multi-religiosity.

Host institute: University of Tübingen, Department of Historical and Cultural Anthropology
Host: Professor Dr Monique Scheer

  • Photo: Johnny Guatto

    Prof. Dr. Pamela Klassen
    born in 1967, is a professor of religious studies at the University of Toronto, Canada, which she joined in 1997. For her book Spirits of Protestantism she received the American Academy of Religion Award of Excellence for Analytical-Descriptive Studies in 2012. As a Humboldt Fellow Klassen has conducted research in Germany on a number of occasions; she spent 2010/11 in Tübingen. In her most recent research projects she is increasingly engaging with the digital humanities.

Niklaus Largier

Traces to the present day

Niklaus Largier repeatedly breaks the boundaries of disciplines. The literature scholar and mediaeval German specialist is considered an authority on the mysticism of the Late Middle Ages. As the editor of mediaeval writings, such as those of the philosopher and theologian, Meister Eckhart, he has created new benchmarks. His studies on subjects like Die Kunst des Begehrens and Lob der Peitsche (In Praise of the Whip), which deal with flagellation and self-flagellation, asceticism and emotions, not only address the specialist community, but also reach a broader public. Swiss-born Largier always manages to demonstrate how the Late Middles Ages have influenced the cultural history of post-medieval and modern times – leaving traces right up to the present day. In Cologne, Largier will be involved in a research project on the dimensions of the possible.

Host institute: University of Cologne, Department of German Language and Literature 1
Host: Professor Dr Anja Lemke

  • Photo: private

    Professor Dr Niklaus Largier
    was born in Switzerland in 1957, where he studied, took a Ph.D. and conducted his initial research work. In 1995, Largier relocated to the USA, first to the DePaul University, Chicago in 1995 and then to the University of California, Berkeley, in 2000. He is a professor of German literature and has held the Sidney and Margaret Ancker Chair in the Humanities since 2012. Largier has been a visiting professor at Harvard University, is a member of various scientific bodies and has received numerous grants, including a Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship and a fellowship at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Mark Turner

At the source of the idea

What is it that makes humans into forward-looking thinkers, constantly generating new ideas? For decades, the American cognitive scientist, Mark Turner, has been coming up with ways of approaching these questions that have gained him international recognition. As one of the founding fathers of conceptual integration and blending, for example, he has helped explain how humans are able to combine differing, sometimes contradictory thoughts and ideas within a very short time. Researchers in many different fields, from linguistics and literary studies to psychology, politics and artificial intelligence, draw on Mark Turner’s work. In Osnabrück, he will advance research on cognitive grammar and cognitive poetics.

Host institute: Osnabrück University, Department of English and American Studies
Host: Professor Dr Alexander Bergs

  • Photo: private

    Professor Dr Mark Turner
    born in 1954, is a professor of cognitive sciences at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, USA. He studied English and mathematics at the University of California, Berkeley, where he gained a Ph.D. in English studies. After spending time at the Universities of Chicago and Maryland, he relocated to Cleveland in 2004. Turner has received numerous honours, including the Prix du Rayonnement de la langue et de la littérature françaises, awarded by the Académie française. He is the co-director of the research network Little Red Hen Lab which collates, amongst other things, digital data from international news broadcasts for multimodal analysis of language, gesture, emphasis and facial expression.

Paul Julian Weindling

Examining NS eugenics

Paul Weindling is an eminent researcher with an international reputation for his work on the history of science and medicine under National Socialism. Since the end of the 1980s, the British historian has produced fundamental work on the growth of eugenics as a scientifically legitimised constituent of racial hygiene under the Nazis. In his studies of the Nuremberg Medical Trial he highlights the perspective of the victims and elucidates their role in historical reconstruction and in prosecuting Nazi human subject research. Weindling intends to continue investigating this largely neglected research direction in Halle and Düsseldorf. He will also work on victims’ biographies and reports and digitalise them for future research. In addition, Weindling will promote research on exiled doctors and scientists and set up international research networks.

Host institute:
Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina Study Centre for the History of Science and Academies, Halle (Saale)
Host: Professor Dr Dr Alfons Labisch

  • Photo: KU Leuven Public
    Management Institute

    Professor Dr Paul Julian Weindling
    was born to a family of Austrian migrants in the United Kingdom in 1953. He is a professor at Oxford Brookes University, UK. He previously conducted research at University College London and the University of Oxford. Weindling’s expertise in matters relating to the history of medicine and science under National Socialism is in great demand, amongst others at the Max Planck Society, the Robert Koch Institute and the German Association for Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics.

Jean Winand

Using computer linguistics for an Egyptian dictionary

Belgian Egyptologist Jean Winand is one of the world's leading experts on the Egyptian language. In 2006, he embarked on the Ramses Project, employing computer linguistics to create a text database for the more recent phases in the history of the Egyptian language. He thus introduced modern linguistic methods into Egyptology. Winand is also highly-respected as the co-author of a dictionary of Middle Egyptian as well as for his work on regional linguistic differences and encoding hieroglyphs. In Germany, Winand will cooperate with his Heidelberg partner, Joachim Friedrich Quack, to bundle the insights gained from his Ramses Project with work done in Germany, such as that of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities on a Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae, and produce a comprehensive modern dictionary of Egyptian.

Host institute: Heidelberg University, Institute for Egyptology
Host: Professor Dr Joachim-Friedrich Quack

  • Photo: Université de
    Liège/Michel Houet

    Professor Dr Jean Winand
    was born in Belgium in 1962. He is a professor at the Université de Liège and the Université libre de Bruxelles, both in Belgium, and a member of several national and international Egyptology bodies. His research focusses on the text analysis and lexicography of Egyptian language and script.

Contact

Sebastian Kraußer
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis 2015 - Die Preisträger

Hans Beck

Lokale Welten und globaler Wandel in der Antike

Der Althistoriker Hans Beck beschreitet mit seinen Forschungen unentdeckte Pfade. In seinen Arbeiten zu den politischen und sozialen Strukturen der römischen Republik steht die Elitenforschung im Mittelpunkt. Durch die Analyse von kollektiven Biographien des Senatsadels zeigt Beck dabei auch neue Wege zur Erforschung der Regeln zur Ämtervergabe der römischen Führungsschicht auf. In seinen Studien zur griechischen Antike richtet er den Blick auf die föderalen Bündnisse dieser Zeit, statt – wie sonst verbreitet – auf die einzelne Polis. Seine Veröffentlichungen auf diesem Feld avancieren regelmäßig zu Standardwerken seines Faches. In Zusammenarbeit mit Kollegen an der Universität Münster erforscht der gebürtige Deutsche gegenwärtig das Spannungsfeld zwischen lokalen Lebenswelten und globalem Wandel im antiken Griechenland.

Gastinstitut: Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Seminar für Alte Geschichte
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Peter Funke

  • Foto: Ryan Blau

    Prof. Dr. Hans Beck
    1969 geboren, ist Professor of Ancient History und Classics an der McGill University in Montreal, Kanada. Hans Beck studierte und promovierte an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg in Deutschland mit Gastaufenthalten an der University of Cambridge, Großbritannien. Nach Stationen an der Universität Köln, an der Harvard University in den USA und als Heisenberg-Stipendiat an der Universität Frankfurt wechselte er 2005 nach Kanada. Er leitet heute die altertumswissenschaftlichen Studien an der McGill University.

Robert B. Brandom

Sprache als soziale Praxis

Der Amerikaner Robert B. Brandom zählt zu den meistdiskutierten Philosophen und einflussreichsten Theoretikern unserer Zeit. Brandom forscht nach den Regeln, die unser Handeln und unsere Sprache leiten. Seine Arbeiten gehen vor allem von der Frage aus, wie die Bedeutung von Sprache aus ihrem Gebrauch heraus entsteht. Die Beiträge des Sprachphilosophen wirken weit über die Philosophie hinaus bis in die Anthropologie und die Sozialwissenschaften hinein. An der Universität Leipzig soll Brandom die Vernetzung zwischen der zeitgenössischen deutschen und amerikanischen Philosophie stärken. Daneben ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem in Leipzig ansässigen Max-Planck-Forschungspreisträger und Entwicklungspsychologen Michael Tomasello geplant.

Gastinstitut: Universität Leipzig, Institut für Philosophie, Lehrstuhl Theoretische Philosophie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Pirmin Stekeler-Weithofer

  • Foto: Jörg Aberger /
    Universität Leipzig
    Prof. Dr. Robert B. Brandom
    wurde 1950 in den USA geboren und ist Distinguished Professor für Philosophie an der University of Pittsburgh. Brandom studierte Mathematik, Kunstwissenschaften und Philosophie und wurde 1975 an der Princeton University, USA, promoviert. Anschließend wechselte er zunächst als Assistant Professor nach Pittsburgh. 2002 war er als Fellow an der Stanford University, USA, und 2006 am All Souls College, Oxford in Großbritannien. Seit 2000 ist Robert B. Brandom Fellow der American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Angelos Chaniotis

Antike Inschriften als Quelle

Angelos Chaniotis gilt international als einer der Vordenker der Alten Geschichte. Der Grieche hat sich insbesondere auf die hellenistische Geschichte und die griechische Epigraphik spezialisiert. Dabei nutzt Chaniotis epigraphische Zeugnisse wie Inschriften als Quellen für eine antike Sozial-, Religions- und Mentalitätsgeschichte. So hat er sich mit Fragen wie der Rolle von Inschriften für die Erinnerungskultur im antiken Griechenland beschäftigt. Daneben hat er sich mit der Bedeutung von Emotionen in der Kultpraxis des römischen Ostens befasst und erstmals eine Kulturgeschichte des Krieges in der hellenistischen Epoche vorgelegt. An der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München soll Chaniotis neue Impulse für die Alte Geschichte in Deutschland geben und insbesondere an der Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses mitwirken.

Gastinstitut: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Historisches Seminar, Abteilung Alte Geschichte
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Krause

  • Foto: Cliff Moore

    Prof. Dr. Angelos Chaniotis
    wurde 1959 in Griechenland geboren, wo er zunächst in Athen studierte und dann an die Universität Heidelberg nach Deutschland wechselte. Dort wurde er promoviert und ging 1994 an die New York University, USA. Anschließend war er von 1998 bis 2006 Professor an der Universität Heidelberg. 2006 wechselte Chaniotis an die University of Oxford, Großbritannien, und von dort 2010 an das Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, USA. Chaniotis erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Literaturpreis des Griechischen Kultusministeriums und den Landesforschungspreis Baden-Württemberg.

Kristian S. Gleditsch

Krisenherde im Fokus

Was sind die Ursachen für gewalttätige Konflikte und wie lassen sie sich vorhersagen? Fragen wie diese zählen zu den großen Herausforderungen der Friedens- und Konfliktforschung. Kristian S. Gleditsch ist auf diesem Gebiet einer der international führenden Sozialwissenschaftler. Sein Fokus liegt auf der Bürgerkriegsforschung und der Forschung zu Demokratisierungsprozessen. Dabei bedient sich der Norweger auch der Mathematik: Gemeinsam mit Kollegen untersuchte er erst jüngst mithilfe der Potenzgesetze, wie sich Ungleichheiten zwischen ethnischen Gruppen beim Einkommen oder bei politischer Diskriminierung auf das Risiko bewaffneter Konflikte auswirken können. In Konstanz soll mit Gleditschs Unterstützung die Prognose politischer Gewalt und die Forschung zum so genannten Arabischen Frühling vorangetrieben werden.

Gastinstitut: Universität Konstanz, Fachbereich für Politik- und Verwaltungswissenschaft
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Gerald Schneider

  • Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Kristian S. Gleditsch
    1971 in Norwegen geboren, ist Professor an der University of Essex, Großbritannien, und Mitglied des Instituts für Friedensforschung Oslo, kurz PRIO. Gleditsch wechselte nach dem Bachelorstudium an der Universität Oslo an die University of Colorado in die USA, wo er 1999 promoviert wurde. Nach Stationen an der University of Glasgow, Schottland, der Harvard University und der University of California in den USA, ging er 2005 nach Großbritannien. Gleditsch ist Mitglied zahlreicher wissenschaftlicher Organisationen wie der American Political Science Association.

Jeffrey F. Hamburger

Neue Einblicke ins Mittelalter

Der amerikanische Kunsthistoriker Jeffrey F. Hamburger zählt zu den international profiliertesten Kennern der sakralen Kunst des Mittelalters und mittelalterlicher Buchmalereien. Hamburger wendet sich bevorzugt bislang wenig beachteten Gruppen von Kunstproduzenten sowie unveröffentlichten Materialien zu und erschließt damit stets neue Forschungsfelder. Seine Arbeiten zur Buchmalerei in Frauenkonventen des Mittelalters etwa geben gänzlich neue Einblicke in die mittelalterliche Gesellschaft, Religion und Kirche aus weiblicher Perspektive. Er widmet sich zudem Bild-Text-Beziehungen, der Einstellung zu Bildern im Laufe der Geschichte, Visionen und visionären Erlebnissen sowie dem Mystizismus des Mittelalters und der monastischen Kunstförderung. Als Gastautor, unter anderem der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, bringt er sich immer wieder in aktuelle wissenschaftspolitische Debatten ein. Daneben öffnet er seine Forschungen als Kurator von Ausstellungen für ein breiteres Publikum. In Düsseldorf soll Hamburger die deutsche Grundlagenforschung in der kunsthistorischen Mediävistik stärken und zur mittelalterlichen Wissensordnung forschen.

Gastinstitut: Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf, Institut für Geschichtswissenschaften
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Eva Schlotheuber

  • Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Jeffrey F. Hamburger
    wurde 1957 als amerikanischer Staatsbürger in Großbritannien geboren. Hamburger ist seit 2008 Kuno Francke Professor für deutsche Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte an der Harvard University, USA. Nach Studium und Promotion in Yale, Stationen in Ohio und Toronto wechselte er 2000 nach Harvard. Er hat als Gastprofessor in Paris, Oxford, Leuven, Hamburg, Freiburg i. Br. und Zürich gearbeitet und war Senior Visiting Fellow am Warburg Institute in London. 1996/97 arbeitete er in München als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiat am Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte. Hamburger erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Ehrungen, u.a. den Ehrendoktortitel der Universität Bern (2013). Er ist Mitglied in wissenschaftlichen Organisationen wie der American Academy of Arts and Sciences und der American Philosophical Society.

Susan Irvine

Neue Maßstäbe in der Quellenarbeit

Susan Irvine gehört zu den weltweit führenden Expertinnen für ältere englische Sprache und Literatur. Sie ist hoch anerkannt für ihre Übersetzungen und Editionen altenglischer Texte, mit denen sie neue Standards setzt. Irvines umfangreiche Edition der „De Consolatione Philosophiae“ des spätantiken römischen Philosophen Boethius etwa löste eine Debatte über die Autorschaft der altenglischen Übersetzung aus dem 9. und 10. Jahrhunderts aus: Seit Irvines Edition wird in der Altanglistik die Rolle von König Alfred dem Großen, der bislang als Übersetzer des Boethius galt, neu diskutiert. An der Universität Göttingen soll sie zur Wiederbelebung der Altanglistik in Deutschland beitragen. Daneben soll Irvine in die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses in der elektronischen Textedition einbezogen werden, der sich Irvine zuletzt verstärkt zugewandt hat.

Gastinstitut: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Seminar für Englische Philologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Winfried Rudolf

  • Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Susan Irvine
    wurde 1960 in Neuseeland geboren. Sie hat seit 2013 die renommierte Quain Professur für English Language & Literature am University College London, Großbritannien, inne. Dort begann sie 1992 als Lecturer und erhielt 2004 eine Professur für Anglistik. Ihr Studium absolvierte Irvine an der University of Otago, Neuseeland, und der University of Oxford, Großbritannien, wo sie auch promoviert wurde. Susan Irvine ist Vize-Präsidentin der International Society of Anglo-Saxonists und Mitglied zahlreicher anderer wissenschaftlicher Organisationen.

Pamela Klassen

Religion und öffentliche Erinnerungspraxis in multikulturellen Gesellschaften

Die Religionswissenschaftlerin Pamela Klassen ist eine der derzeit führenden Expertinnen zu den modernen Religionen Nordamerikas. Die Kanadierin greift in ihren Forschungen Phänome gegenwärtiger Alltagsreligion auf und widmet sich Fragen von Religion und Medizin, Frauen und Religion sowie dem heutigen Christentum. Klassen untersucht mit den Methoden der Ethnologie beispielsweise den Einfluss religiöser Vorstellungen auf das Verständnis von Heilung und Gesundheit oder die religiöse Bedeutung von Hausgeburten. Grundlage ihrer Studien sind stets Fallbeispiele aus unterschiedlichsten Religionen wie christliche Missionare, orthodoxe Juden, traditionelle Katholiken oder Methodisten. In Tübingen soll Klassen zur Internationalisierung der deutschen Religionswissenschaften beitragen und dabei helfen, den Fokus verstärkt auf die Multireligiosität zu legen.

Gastinstitut: Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Ludwig-Uhland-Institut für Empirische Kulturwissenschaft
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Monique Scheer

  • Foto: Johnny Guatto

    Prof. Dr. Pamela Klassen
    1967 geboren, ist Professorin für Religionswissenschaften an der University of Toronto, Kanada, wo sie seit 1997 tätig ist. Klassen erhielt für ihre Publikation „Spirits of Protestantism“ 2012 den American Academy of Religion Award of Excellence for Analytical-Descriptive Studies. Sie verbrachte als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiatin mehrere Gastaufenthalte in Deutschland, unter anderem 2010/11 in Tübingen. Mit ihren neuesten Forschungsprojekten wendet sich Klassen zunehmend den Digital Humanities, der Digitalen Geisteswissenschaft, zu.

Niklaus Largier

Spuren bis in die Gegenwart

Niklaus Largier sprengt immer wieder die Grenzen der Disziplinen. Der Literaturwissenschaftler und Altgermanist gilt international als ausgewiesener Kenner der Mystik des späten Mittelalters. Als Herausgeber mittelalterlicher Schriften wie den Werken des Philosophen und Theologen Meister Eckhart setzt er fachliche Standards. Neben der Fachwelt erreicht er mit Studien wie „Die Kunst des Begehrens“ oder „Lob der Peitsche“, die Geißelung und Selbstgeißelung, Askese und Affekte thematisieren, auch ein breiteres Publikum. Dem gebürtigen Schweizer gelingt es dabei stets herauszuarbeiten, wie das Spätmittelalter Neuzeit und Moderne kulturhistorisch geprägt hat – mit Spuren bis in unsere Gegenwart. In Köln soll sich Largier an einem Forschungsvorhaben zu den Dimensionen des Möglichen beteiligen.

Gastinstitut: Universität zu Köln, Institut für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur I
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Anja Lemke

  • Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Niklaus Largier
    wurde 1957 in der Schweiz geboren, wo er studierte, promoviert wurde und erste Forschertätigkeiten aufnahm. 1995 ging Largier in die USA an die DePaul University, Chicago und anschließend 2000 an die University of California, Berkeley. Dort ist er Professor für Deutsche Literatur und seit 2012 Inhaber der Stiftungsprofessur Sidney and Margaret Ancker Chair in the Humanities. Largier war Gastprofessor an der Harvard University, ist Mitglied verschiedener wissenschaftlicher Gremien und erhielt zahlreiche Förderungen, darunter ein Stipendium der Guggenheim Foundation und ein Fellowship am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

Mark Turner

Zum Ursprung der Idee

Was macht den Menschen zum vorausschauenden Denker, der unablässig neue Ideen entwickelt? Der amerikanische Kognitionswissenschaftler Mark Turner liefert zu Fragen wie diesen seit Jahrzehnten international anerkannte Ansätze. Die von ihm mitbegründeten Theorien der konzeptuellen Integration und des Blendings etwa erklären, wie der Mensch innerhalb kürzester Zeit unterschiedliche, teils widersprüchliche Gedanken und Ideen zu neuen zusammenfügt. Turners Arbeiten werden in unterschiedlichsten Fachgebieten aufgegriffen, von der Linguistik über Literaturwissenschaft bis hin zur Psychologie, Politik oder der Künstlichen Intelligenz. In Osnabrück soll Mark Turner die Forschungen zur Kognitionsgrammatik und kognitiven Poetik stärken.

Gastinstitut: Universität Osnabrück, Institut für Anglistik und Amerikanistik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Alexander Bergs

  • Foto: privat

    Prof. Dr. Mark Turner
    geboren 1954, ist Professor für Kognitionswissenschaften an der Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, USA. An der University of California, Berkeley, studierte er Anglistik und Mathematik und wurde in Anglistik promoviert. Nach Stationen an den Universitäten von Chicago und Maryland wechselte er 2004 nach Cleveland. Turner erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter der Prix du Rayonnement de la langue et de la littérature françaises der Académie française. Er ist Ko-Direktor des Forschernetzwerks Little Red Hen Lab, das unter anderem digitale Daten von internationalen Fernsehnachrichten sammelt und für Analysen der verschiedenen Ebenen wie Sprache, Gestik, Betonung oder Mimik aufbereitet.

Paul Julian Weindling

Aufarbeitung der NS-Eugenik

Paul Julian Weindling gilt international als herausragender Forscher zur Wissenschafts- und Medizingeschichte im Nationalsozialismus. Seit Ende der 1980er Jahren legt der Brite grundlegende Studien zur Entstehung der Eugenik als wissenschaftlich legitimierte Rassenhygiene im NS-Staat vor. Mit seinen Untersuchungen zum Nürnberger Ärzteprozess greift Weindling auch die Perspektive der Opfer auf und arbeitet deren Beitrag zur historischen Rekonstruktion wie auch der Strafverfolgung der NS-Menschenforschung heraus. In Halle und Düsseldorf soll Weindling diese – bislang weitgehend vernachlässigte – Forschungsperspektive vertiefen sowie Opfer-Biografien und -Berichte aufarbeiten und für weitere Forschungen digital hinterlegen. Weindling wird daneben den Forschungsfokus auf vertriebene und exilierte Ärzte und Wissenschaftler lenken und internationale Forschungsnetzwerke etablieren.

Gastinstitut: Leopoldina – Studienzentrum der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina, Halle (Saale)
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Dr. Alfons Labisch

  • Foto: KU Leuven Public
    Management Institute

    Prof. Dr. Paul Julian Weindling
    wurde 1953 als Sohn österreichischer Migranten in Großbritannien geboren. Weindling ist Professor an der Oxford Brookes University, Großbritannien. Zuvor forschte er am University College London und der University of Oxford. Weindling wird als Experte regelmäßig in die Aufarbeitung der NS-Medizin und -Wissenschaftsgeschichte einbezogen, unter anderem von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem Robert-Koch-Institut oder der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Psychosomatik und Nervenheilkunde.

Jean Winand

Mit Computerlinguistik zum ägyptischen Wörterbuch

Der belgische Ägyptologe Jean Winand zählt zu den führenden Experten für die ägyptische Sprache. Mithilfe der Computerlinguistik begann er 2006 mit dem Ramses-Projekt die Arbeit an einer Textdatenbank, welche die jüngeren Phasen der ägyptische Sprachgeschichte abdeckt, und führte damit moderne linguistische Methoden in die Ägyptologie ein. Hoch angesehen ist Winand auch als Co-Autor einer mittelägyptischen Grammatik und für seine Arbeiten zu regionalen sprachlichen Unterschieden und zur Kodierung von Hieroglyphen. In Deutschland will Winand gemeinsam mit seinem Heidelberger Partner Joachim Friedrich Quack die Erkenntnisse aus seinem Ramses-Projekt mit Arbeiten aus Deutschland, wie der der Berliner Akademie der Wissenschaften an einem Thesaurus Linguae Aegyptiae, zusammenführen und ein umfassendes modernes Wörterbuch des Ägyptischen schaffen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Heidelberg, Ägyptologisches Institut
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Joachim-Friedrich Quack

  • Foto: Université de Liège/
    Michel Houet

    Prof. Dr. Jean Winand
    wurde 1962 in Belgien geboren. Er ist Professor an der Université de Liège, sowie an der l'Université libre de Bruxelles, beides Belgien. Zudem ist er Mitglied in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Gremien der Ägyptologie. In seinen Arbeiten konzentriert er sich auf die Textanalyse und Lexikographie der ägyptischen Sprache und Schrift.

Kontakt

Sebastian Kraußer
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de