Anneliese Maier Research Award 2016 - The Award Winners

Ève Chiapello

The spirit of capitalism and the financialisation of public policies

The French sociologist Ève Chiapello is one of the world’s leading management and economic sociology researchers. The New Spirit of Capitalism, the work she published with her colleague Luc Boltanski at the turn of the century, is considered to be pioneering, and not just in her own discipline. Since then, her empirical studies and analyses of the sociology of calculative practices and the processes of change in today’s economy have generated new departures both in her own field and in social policy. She investigates issues such as the potential impact of economising social policies. In the context of her cooperation with the University of Hamburg she will study, amongst other things the redefinition of public policies through the incorporation of the language, tools and representation of finance, what she defines as the financialisation of public policies. Different cases will be looked at, such as climate change, biodiversity, and social policies.

Host institute: University of Hamburg, Institute of Sociology
Host: Professor Dr Anita Engels

  • Photo: Guillaume
    Braunstein
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Ève Chiapello
    Born in France in 1965, is a Research Professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS, Paris, France). She studied at the École des Hautes Etudes Commerciales (HEC Paris) completed her doctorate at the Université Paris-Dauphine in 1994 and, after a period of teaching, her habilitation in 2000. Chiapello has received many awards including the French National Order of Merit in 2013. In the same year, she was appointed to the Henri Janne Chair in Sociology at the Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium. She is a member of the Association Française de Sociologie and Association Française d'Économie Politique and sits on the editorial boards of Sociologie du travail and Critical Perspectives on Accounting.

E. Tory Higgins

How social media influence our identity

The American motivation researcher Edward Tory Higgins is one of the most influential social psychologists worldwide. His experimental and theoretical works on social perception and topics like recognition and the mechanisms of human motivation have become classics. His most recent research examines the emergence and change of so-called shared realities, that is, opinions and convictions shared by individuals and groups. The role they play in the development of prejudice, stereotypes and group identities, for example, and how they are influenced by online communication and social media are issues Higgins will investigate in collaboration with his partners at the University of Münster as well as other German and international colleagues.

Host institute: University of Münster, Department of Psychology, Social Psychology Unit
Host: Professor Dr Gerald Echterhoff

  • Photo: private
    Download photo

    Professor Dr E. Tory Higgins
    Born in 1946, is Stanley Schachter Professor of Psychology und Professor of Business at Columbia University in New York, USA. He is also the Director of the Motivation Science Center at Columbia Business School and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Higgins has received many honours such as the William James Fellow Award for Distinguished Achievements in Psychological Science, the Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions and the Presidential Teaching Award. In 2000, he was selected to hold Columbia’s University Lecture in recognition of his academic achievements to date. Higgins has authored many books including Beyond Pleasure and Pain: How Motivation Works. He has acted as an advisor to several governments and scientific organisations.

Glenn W. Most

Anger and rage in Homer

Glenn W. Most, who teaches in Pisa and Chicago, is an eminent classicist with a global reach. Having completed doctorates in both Classical Philology and Comparative Literature, he soon embarked on a broadly-based international career that took him to Princeton, Siena, Innsbruck, Heidelberg, Chicago and Paris. His work on antiquity is considered both multifaceted and innovative, covering themes such as anger and rage in Homer, a new edition of Greek tragedies and methodological reflections that are highly-regarded in his discipline. Together with colleagues at Humboldt-Universität in Berlin he will work in the TOPOI cluster of excellence and, amongst other things, on antiquity projects of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

Host institute: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Chair of Ancient Church History
Host: Professor Dr Christoph Markschies

  • Photo: private
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Glenn W. Most
    Born in the USA in 1952, Glenn W. Most is Professor of Greek Philology at the Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa, Italy, and has also been Visiting Professor of Social Thought and of Classics at the University of Chicago since 1996. He gained a Ph.D. in Comparative Studies from Yale University in 1980 and completed a doctorate in Ancient Philology for the University of Tübingen in the same year. Glenn W. Most became a Fellow of the Berlin Social Science Center in 1988 and was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize by the German Research Foundation in 1994. In 2010, he was made an external scientific member of the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science. He is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and a Member of the American Philosophical Society.

Daniel Müllensiefen

Why certain songs stick on our mind and how to measure musicality

The music psychologist Daniel Müllensiefen of the University of London is one of the most innovative minds in the field. In 2014, for example, the German-born researcher developed the Goldsmiths Musical Sophistication Index (Gold-MSI), a tool for measuring musicality that immediately established a place for itself in the portfolio of empirical music research. Exactly how it functions was demonstrated in a major test run by the BBC involving 190,000 people. Müllensiefen’s work on the computer-assisted detection of musical plagiarism or the reasons for “earworms”, tunes you get on the brain, have caused a furore. He will now continue developing the Gold-MSI in cooperation with colleagues in Hanover in order to investigate the development of musical competence from childhood to adulthood.

Host institute: Hanover University of Music and Drama, Hanover Music Lab
Host: Professor Dr Reinhard Kopiez

  • Photo: private
    Download photo

    Dr Daniel Müllensiefen
    After finishing university, Daniel Müllensiefen, born in Germany in 1971, started working as a project manager in the music business, managing, amongst other things, the development of the German music industry’s web search engine. At the same time, he took a doctorate in Hamburg. In 2006, he became a post-doctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Computing at Goldsmiths College, University of London, later becoming a Senior Lecturer and, in 2015, joining the Department of Psychology as a Reader. Since 2015, he has been director of the Master’s course “Music, Mind and Brain”. Müllensiefen is a member of the German Society for Music Psychology, the Royal Statistical Society and the British Society for the Psychology of Individual Differences and has already received a number of honours such as the Goldsmiths Early Career Development Award. He acts as an expert witness for music publishers and law firms. He is the editor of the open-access journal Empirical Musicology Review and acts as an expert witness for music publishers and law firms.

Sumathi Ramaswamy

Mother India and the power of the image

An Indian by birth and now a researcher in the USA, the historian Sumathi Ramaswamy is amongst the most multifaceted experts in the field of Asian Studies and Indian History. Her interests range from the interplay of language and nationalism in colonial and postcolonial India, via cartography and visual art and culture, to the digital humanities. Through books like The Goddess and the Nation: Mapping Mother India and the forthcoming title Terrestrial Lessons: The Conquest of the World as Globe she has generated many well-received, new interdisciplinary ideas. Her most recent research focusses on philanthropic support for higher education in the United States and India – a field in which she draws upon her own experience of working for the Ford Foundation. Ramaswamy’s collaboration with Heidelberg University will help to strengthen the cluster of excellence on “Asia and Europe in a Global Context” as well as to achieve greater visibility for research on Asia in Germany.

Host institute: Heidelberg University, Heidelberg Centre for Transcultural Studies
Host: Professor Dr Christiane Brosius

  • Photo: Duke University
    Download Photo

    Professor Dr Sumathi Ramaswamy
    Born in India in 1961, Sumathi Ramaswamy took her doctorate at the University of California at Berkeley, USA. She initially worked as an assistant professor at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, moving to the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1998. Since 2007, she has been Professor of History and International Comparative Studies at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, USA. She is a member of the American Historical Association and the Association of Asian Studies and has been awarded numerous grants and honours such as an Advanced Research Grant from the US Social Science Research Council.

Marti G. Subrahmanyam

Controls and the financial markets

Marti G. Subrahmanyam, who teaches Finance in New York, is a heavyweight in his discipline. For decades, he has been shaping scientific discourse on the development of financial markets with his highly-cited publications. He also takes a stand on current financial policy issues like the recent Libor scandal involving the manipulation of the interbank borrowing rate. His newest research projects address liquidity and the regulation of the markets by the central banks. In collaborating with the Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe Research Center (SAFE) at Goethe University Frankfurt he wants to direct the focus of his research onto Germany and Europe. His activities will strengthen Frankfurt as an international base for financial market research and amalgamate European and American perspectives.

Host institute: Goethe University Frankfurt, Research Center SAFE
Host: Professor Dr Loriana Pelizzon

  • Photo: private
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Marti G. Subrahmanyam
    Born in India in 1946, is Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance, Economics and International Business in the Stern School of Business at New York University, USA. He studied at the Indian Institute of Management and the Indian Institute of Technology Madras before taking his doctorate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge, USA, in 1974. He has been a visiting professor at institutes in Australia, Europe and Asia. Subrahmanyam is the founding editor of the Review of Derivatives Research and co-editior of numerous financial and economic journals. He also sits on the boards of various firms and is a member, amongst others, of the European Finance Association and the American Economic Association. Subrahmanyam has been an advisor to countless companies and financial institutes.

Contact

Teresa Havlicek
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis 2016 – Die Preisträger

Ève Chiapello

Der Geist des Kapitalismus und die Finanzialisierung öffentlicher Politik

Die französische Soziologin Ève Chiapello gehört zu den international führenden Forschern im Bereich Management und Wirtschaftssoziologie. Ihr bereits zur Jahrtausendwende mit ihrem Kollegen Luc Boltanski verfasstes Buch "Der neue Geist des Kapitalismus" gilt als richtungsweisend auch in angrenzenden Disziplinen. Seither hat sie mit ihren empirischen Studien und Analysen zur Soziologie kalkulativer Praktiken und zu den Wandlungsprozessen der Ökonomie der Gegenwart Impulse nicht nur für ihr Fach, sondern auch für sozialpolitische Fragen gegeben. So erforscht sie etwa, welche Folgen eine Ökonomisierung der Sozialpolitik hätte. Im Rahmen ihrer Kooperation mit der Universität Hamburg will sie unter anderem die Neudefinition öffentlicher Politik unter Einbeziehung der Sprache, Instrumenten und Darstellung des Finanzwesens – was sie als Finanzialisierung öffentlicher Politik definiert – untersuchen. Verschiedene Szenarien wie Klimawandel, Biodiversität und sozialpolitische Fragen werden dabei analysiert.

Gastinstitut: Universität Hamburg, Institut für Soziologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Anita Engels

  • Foto: Guillaume
    Braunstein
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Ève Chiapello
    1965 in Frankreich geboren, ist Directrice d’etudes an der École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, Paris, Frankreich. Sie studierte an der École des hautes études commerciales de Paris und promovierte 1994 an der Université Paris-Dauphine. Nach anschließender Lehrtätigkeit folgte 2000 die Habilitation. Chiapello erhielt zahlreiche Preise, darunter 2013 den Ordre national du Mérite, den nationalen Verdienstorden Frankreichs. 2013 wurde ihr der Lehrstuhl Chaire de sociologie Henri Janne der Université Libre de Bruxelles zuerkannt. Sie ist Mitglied der wissenschaftlichen Gremien Association Française de Sociologie und Association Française d'Économie Politique sowie der Editorial Boards von Sociologie du travail und Critical Perspectives on Accounting.

E. Tory Higgins

Wie Soziale Medien unsere Identität beeinflussen

Der amerikanische Motivationsforscher Edward Tory Higgins ist einer der international einflussreichsten Sozialpsychologen. Seine experimentellen und theoretischen Arbeiten zur sozialen Wahrnehmung oder zu Themen wie Anerkennung und den Mechanismen der menschlichen Motivation gelten als Klassiker. Seine jüngste Forschung gilt der Entstehung und Veränderung sogenannter shared realities, also zwischen einzelnen Personen oder in Gruppen geteilter Ansichten und Überzeugungen. Welche Rolle diese beispielsweise bei der Entwicklung von Vorurteilen, Stereotypen oder Gruppenidentitäten spielen und welchen Einfluss hierbei die Kommunikation im Internet und über soziale Medien hat, will Higgins in Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Kooperationspartnern an der Universität Münster sowie weiteren deutschen und internationalen Kollegen weiter erforschen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Münster, Institut für Psychologie, Arbeitseinheit Sozialpsychologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Gerald Echterhoff

  • Foto: privat
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. E. Tory Higgins
    1946 geboren, ist Stanley Schachter Professor of Psychology und Professor of Business an der Columbia University in New York, USA. Er ist außerdem Direktor des Motivation Science Center der Columbia Business School und Fellow der American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Higgins wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, beispielsweise mit dem William James Fellow Award for Distinguished Achievements in Psychological Science, dem Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions und dem Presidential Teaching Award. 2000 wurde er für die Columbia’s University Lecture ausgewählt, womit man sein bisheriges akademisches Wirken würdigte wurde. Higgins ist Autor zahlreicher Bücher, darunter Beyond Pleasure and Pain: How Motivation Works. Er hat bereits mehrere Regierungen sowie Wissenschaftsorganisationen beraten.

Glenn W. Most

Wut und Zorn bei Homer

Der in Pisa und Chicago lehrende Altphilologe Glenn Most zählt zu den international tonangebenden Köpfen seiner Disziplin. Sowohl in klassischer Philologie als auch in vergleichender Literaturwissenschaft promoviert, begann Most eine schon früh thematisch sehr vielseitige und internationale Karriere mit Stationen etwa in Princeton, Siena, Innsbruck, Heidelberg, Chicago und Paris. Seine Arbeiten zur Antike gelten als vielseitig und innovativ. So behandeln sie beispielsweise Themen wie Wut und Zorn bei Homer, umfassen Neueditionen griechischer Tragödien oder stellen in seiner Disziplin vielbeachtete methodische Reflektionen an. An der Humboldt-Universität in Berlin soll er mit Kollegen am Exzellenzcluster TOPOI zusammenarbeiten und unter anderem an Projekten der Berlin Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zur Antike mitwirken.

Gastinstitut: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Lehrstuhl für ältere Kirchengeschichte
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies

  • Foto: privat
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Glenn W. Most
    1952 in den USA geboren, ist Professor für Griechische Philologie an der Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa, Italien, und seit 1996 Visiting Professor of Social Thought and of Classics an der University of Chicago. Er wurde 1980 an der Yale University in Komparatistik promoviert. Im gleichen Jahr schloss er an der Universität Tübingen eine Promotion in Altphilologie ab. 1988 wurde er Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin, 1994 erhielt er den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft. 2010 wurde er zum auswärtigen wissenschaftlichen Mitglied des Max-Planck-lnstituts für Wissenschaftsgeschichte berufen. Most ist außerdem Fellow der American Academy of Arts & Sciences und Member der American Philosophical Society.

Daniel Müllensiefen

Wie Ohrwürmer entstehen und wie sich Musikalität messen lässt

Der Musikpsychologe Daniel Müllensiefen von der University of London gehört zu den innovativsten Köpfen seines Fachs. So entwickelte der aus Deutschland stammende Forscher mit dem Goldsmiths Musical Sophistication Index (Gold-MSI) im Jahr 2014 ein Instrument zur Messung von Musikalität, das sich sofort als Standardwerkzeug der empirischen Musikforschung etablieren konnte. Dass und wie der Gold-MSI funktioniert, wurde in einer großen Studie der BBC mit 190.000 Teilnehmern belegt. Auch Müllensiefens Arbeiten zur computergestützten Erkennung musikalischer Plagiate oder zur Entstehung von Ohrwürmern machten Furore. Mit seinen Kooperationspartnern in Hannover will Müllensiefen den Gold-MSI weiterentwickeln, um die Entstehung musikalischer Kompetenzen von der Kindheit bis zum Erwachsenenalter zu erforschen.

Gastinstitut: Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover, Hanover Music Lab
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kopiez

  • Foto: privat
    Download Foto

    Dr. Daniel Müllensiefen
    1971 in Deutschland geboren, arbeitete nach seinem Studium und parallel zu seiner Promotion als Produktmanager in der Musikwirtschaft und betreute unter anderem die Entwicklung der Internet-Suchmaschine der deutschen Musikindustrie. Nach seiner Promotion in Hamburg ging er 2006 als Post-doctoral Research Fellow an das an das Department of Computing des Goldsmiths College der University of London, wo er später Senior Lecturer und 2015 Reader im Department of Psychology wurde. Seit 2015 ist er Direktor des Master-Studienganges „Music, Mind, and Brain“. Er ist unter anderem Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Musikpsychologie, der Royal Statistical Society und der British Society for the Psychology of Individual Differences und erhielt bereits einige Auszeichnungen wie den Goldsmiths Early Career Development Award. Er ist  Herausgeber des open access Fachmagazins Empirical Musicology Review und berät außerdem als Musikgutachter Verlage und Anwaltskanzleien.

Sumathi Ramaswamy

Mutter Indien und die Macht der Bilder

Die aus Indien stammende und in den USA forschende Historikerin Sumathi Ramaswamy ist eine der vielseitigsten Expertinnen für Asienstudien und die indische Geschichte. Ihre Themen reichen vom Zusammenspiel von Sprache und Nationalismus in Indien während und nach der Kolonialzeit, über Kartographie und visuelle Kunst und Kultur bis zu den Digital Humanities. Mit ihren Büchern wie „The Goddess and the Nation: Mapping Mother India“ oder dem in Kürze erscheinenden Titel „Terrestrial Lessons: The Conquest of the World as Globe“ gibt sie regelmäßig viel beachtete disziplinübergreifende Impulse. Zu ihren jüngsten Forschungsthemen gehört die philanthropische Unterstützung der Wissenschaft in den USA und in Indien – ein Gebiet auf dem Ramaswamy durch ihre frühere Tätigkeit für die Ford Foundation eigene Erfahrung sammelte. Durch die Kooperation mit der Universität Heidelberg soll Ramaswamy das Exzellenzcluster Asia and Europe in a Global Context stärken und helfen, die Asienforschung in Deutschland sichtbarer zu machen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberger Centrum für Transkulturelle Studien
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Christiane Brosius

  • Foto: Duke University
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Sumathi Ramaswamy
    geboren 1961 in Indien, wurde 1992 an der University of California at Berkeley, USA, promoviert. Als Assistant Professor forschte sie zunächst an der University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, 1998 wechselte sie an die University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Seit 2007 ist sie Professorin für History and International Comparative Studies an der Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, USA. Sie ist Mitglied der American Historical Association und der Association of Asian Studies und erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und Auszeichnungen wie zum Beispiel einen Advanced Research Grant des US-amerikanischen Social Science Research Council.

Marti G. Subrahmanyam

Welche Kontrolle die Finanzmärkte brauchen

Der in New York lehrende Finanzwissenschaftler Marti G. Subrahmanyam gehört zu den Schwergewichten seiner Disziplin und prägt mit seinen herausragend zitierten Publikationen seit Jahrzehnten den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs über die Entwicklung der Finanzmärkte. Hierbei bezieht er auch Stellung zu aktuellen finanzpolitischen Themen wie zuletzt dem Skandal um die Manipulation der Libor-Zinssätze. Seine jüngsten Forschungsprojekte befassen sich mit Liquidität und der Regulierung der Märkte durch die Zentralbanken. In seiner Zusammenarbeit mit dem Forschungszentrum Sustainable Architecture for Finance in Europe (Research Center SAFE) an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt will er den Fokus seiner Forschung auf Deutschland und Europa richten. Hierbei soll er Frankfurt als internationalen Standort der Finanzmarktforschung stärken und europäische mit amerikanischen Perspektiven zusammenbringen.

Gastinstitut: Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main, Research Center SAFE
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Loriana Pelizzon

  • Foto: privat
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Marti G. Subrahmanyam
    1946 in Indien geboren, ist Charles E. Merrill Professor of Finance, Economics and International Business an der Stern School of Business der New York University, USA. Er studierte am Indian Institute of Management und am Indian Institute of Technology Madras, bevor er 1974 am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge, USA, promoviert wurde. Als Gastprofessor war er an Instituten in Australien, Europa und Asien tätig. Subrahmanyam ist Gründungsherausgeber der „Review of Derivatives Research“ sowie Mitherausgeber zahlreicher Finanz- und Wirtschaftszeitschriften. Zudem ist er in Gremien diverser Firmen vertreten und unter anderem Mitglied in der European Finance Association und der American Economic Association. Subrahmanyam hat bereits zahlreiche Unternehmen und Finanzinstitute beraten.

Kontakt

Teresa Havlicek
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-423/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de