Anneliese Maier Research Award 2018 - The Award Winners

Douglas Cairns

Tracing the emotions

Shame, guilt, honour – emotions like these have accompanied people from time immemorial. Douglas Cairns addresses such topics from the perspective of a classical philologist. He is one of the world’s leading experts in emotion research, a particularly innovative and challenging field within his discipline. He focuses on the language used to express emotions in classical texts, not just considering semantic analysis. What distinguishes Douglas Cairns’ research on Greek drama and lyric poetry is that he applies knowledge deriving from other disciplines such as psychology, biology and behavioural research. With no little success: even his doctoral thesis on shame in Greek culture went on to become a standard work in the subject. By cooperating with TU Dresden, Cairns is set to reinforce historical emotion research, which has so far tended to be a feature of English-language classics, in Germany, as well.

Host institute: TU Dresden, Institute of Classical Philology
Host: Professor Dr Dennis Pausch

  • Photo: University of
    Edinburgh
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Douglas Cairns
    Born in Scotland in 1961, Douglas Cairns is Professor of Classics at the University of Edinburgh, UK. He took his doctorate in Greek at the University of Glasgow and subsequently taught and continued his research at many international universities, including the University of Otago, New Zealand, the University of St Andrews and the University of Glasgow, both in Scotland, and the University of Leeds, England, before being appointed Professor of Classics at the University of Edinburgh in 2004.  Douglas Cairns has received numerous scientific honours, including fellowships from the Humboldt Foundation and the Leverhulme Trust. Cairns is, amongst others, vice president of the Classical Association and chairman of the Classical Association Journals Board.

José Maurício Domingues

Building bridges between continents

The work of the Brazilian sociologist José Maurício Domingues is distinguished by a consistent regard for theory. He develops global, sociological theory and is considered one of the few researchers who manages to connect the theoretical debates conducted in Latin America with those in the English-, French- and German-speaking worlds. This has made him one of the most important contemporary theoreticians investigating global modernity from the perspective of comparative civilisations. The scope of his empirical references is particularly impressive: Most theoreticians of modernity gained their insights from their respective national and linguistic contexts. Domingues on the other hand, having investigated the development of modernism in Europe, Latin America and North America, decided to familiarise himself with the literature on India, China and Israel where he also spent time on his research. The main aim of his collaboration with the Hamburg Institute for Social Research and the Institute for Latin American Studies at FU Berlin is to analyse political modernity from a historical and comparative angle with a special emphasis on identifying trends and processes related to the theory of power in these developments.

Host institute: Hamburg Institute for Social Research with the support of the Institute for Latin American Studies at Freie Universität Berlin
Host: Professor Dr Wolfgang Knöbl

  • Photo: Adriana Herz
    Domingues
    Download photo

    Professor Dr José Maurício Domingues
    Born in Brazil in 1960, José Maurício Domingues has been conducting research as a Professor at Rio de Janeiro State University in Brazil since 2010. He took his doctorate at the London School of Economics and Political Science in the United Kingdom in 1989 and returned to Brazil in 1994, originally as a postdoc. From 1997 to 2000, he was a Professor at Rio de Janeiro Federal University, subsequently transferring to the Rio de Janeiro University Research Institute where he also acted as Executive Director from 2005 to 2007. In 2010, he was a visiting researcher at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom. He also spent time pursuing his research in China, India and Israel. José Maurício Domingues is on the editorial boards of various international and Latin American journals.

Pascal Mamassian

Tracking down perception

There are some things our senses register that our brains do not identify. Our perception filters the information that actually gets through to us. The French psychologist Pascal Mamassian is one of the world’s top experts on mechanisms of this kind, particularly visual perception. His work on the importance of light direction and shadow casting for spatial perception has received great attention. He is currently also focusing on cross-modal and three-dimensional perception. What is special about Mamassian’s work is that he investigates complex scenarios that really do occur in natural settings. A good mathematician, he is also able to model perception processes in quantitative terms. His collaboration with Giessen University will enhance the international standing of perception psychology in this country. In Giessen itself, he will reinforce experimental research and expand it by his expertise in computer modelling.

Host institute: Giessen University, Department of General Psychology
Host: Professor Dr Karl R. Gegenfurtner

  • Photo: private
    Download photo

    Dr Pascal Mamassian
    Born in France in 1965, Pascal Mamassian has been CNRS Research Director of the Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris since 2014. He took his doctorate at the University of Minnesota in the United States in 1993. After working at the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics in Tübingen, at New York University, USA, and at the University of Glasgow in Scotland, he moved to the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) in 2004, initially as Research Scientist. He has also been President of the Vision Sciences Society and is one of the editors of journals like Psychological Science and Journal of Vision.

Alan Mikhail

How nature writes history

Alan Mikhail cemented his reputation as a pioneer of Middle Eastern History early in his career. He combines research on the history of the Middle East with environmental history, gaining access to completely new research fields. He describes, for example, how the way Egypt interacted with nature and natural resources like water and wood had an impact on Ottoman domination from the 16th to 19th centuries. His most recent studies on Egyptian history in this period have also generated new thinking. He has investigated, amongst others, the eruption of Iceland’s Laki Craters in 1783/84 which, up to now, has largely been studied with reference to its impact on the climate and economy of Europe. Mikhail also traces the connections between the volcanic eruption in Iceland and drought and hunger in the Middle East. In his role as an Anneliese Maier Research Award Winner, Mikhail will drive research on environmental and Ottoman history in Germany as well as enhancing the international visibility of research here.

Host institute: University of Bamberg, Chair of Modern History and Regional History
Host: Professor Dr Cornel Zwierlein

  • Photo: Matt Bennington
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Alan Mikhail
    Born in the United States in 1979, Alan Mikhail has been a Professor at Yale University, New Haven, USA, since 2013. He took his doctorate at the University of California in 2008 and subsequently pursued research with an Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship at Stanford University. He moved to Yale in 2010 where he was initially an Assistant Professor. Alan Mikhail has received many honours from, amongst others, the American Society for Environmental History, the Middle East Studies Association and the Agricultural History Society.

Ingrid Piller

The opportunities inherent in multilingualism

Sociolinguist Ingrid Piller specialises in topics that are becoming increasingly relevant in today’s society: intercultural communication and multilingualism. Piller focuses on the social consequences of linguistic diversity. What opportunities does multilingualism offer for social participation? And how do language deficits affect the cultural, economic and political involvement of migrants? To address questions like these, the German linguistics specialist, who lives in Australia, also ventures outside her strictly academic research: in 2009, Ingrid Piller launched the blog www.languageonthemove.com which looks at multilingualism in the context of globalisation and migration, and has already received several awards. At the University of Hamburg, she will contribute her international expertise to broadening research on multilingualism, language acquisition and linguistic education and expand comparative research between Australia and Germany.

Host institute: University of Hamburg, Department of General, Intercultural and International Comparative Education
Host: Professor Dr Dr h.c. mult. Ingrid Gogolin

  • Photo: Marcin Debski
    Download Photo

    Professor Dr Ingrid Piller
    Born in Germany in 1967, Ingrid Piller is Professor of Applied Linguistics at Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia. She took her doctorate at TU Dresden in 1995 and subsequently continued her research at Ithaca College in the United States, the University of Hamburg, Sydney University and the University of Basel before moving to Macquarie University in 2007. Ingrid Piller is, amongst others, editor-in-chief of the international journal Multilingua and editor of the science blog www.languageonthemove.com.

Annelise Riles

Spanning the boundary between law and ethnology

Through the eyes of an ethnologist, Annelise Riles examines the relationships between private international law, the regulation of financial markets and central banking. Both a legal scholar and an ethnologist, Riles consistently relates these topics to cultural diversity, human and women’s rights. By employing ethnographical methods such as field research, longitudinal observation and interviews, her research delivers new insights. A study of global financial markets, for example, benefited from ten years of field research in private and public institutions and companies in Japan. Moreover, she uses multiple levels to investigate cyber security, from the hacker via the defence expert through to the straightforward user. In this context, she also deals with the relationships between experts and non-experts and the consequences for current social dialogue in democracies. But Riles does not just address this topic in her research: her online network Meridian 180, which she founded in 2012, is a forum for social and legal policy issues, bringing together players in academia, business, politics and NGOs from nearly 30 countries. In her role as an Anneliese Maier Research Award Winner, Riles will drive the subject legal anthropology, which is still in its infancy in Germany.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology, Halle (Saale), Department 'Law & Anthropology'
Host: Professor Dr Marie-Claire Foblets

  • Photo: Cornell University
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Annelise Riles
    Born in the United States in 1966, Annelise Riles is the Executive Director of the Roberta Buffett Institute for Global Studies at Northwestern University, Evanston, USA, where she is also the Associate Provost for Global Affairs and a professor of law and anthropology. She took her doctorate at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, in 1996 and subsequently continued her research in the USA at the American Bar Foundation in Chicago and the School of Law at Northwestern University. She was also a visiting professor at Yale Law School. Annelise Riles has received many fellowships and awards. She belongs to various academic organisations, such as the International Academy of Comparative Law, and is on the editorial board of journals like the American Journal of International Law.

Sylvia Walby

Social inequality and gender

The British sociologist Sylvia Walby has shaped public debate on gender for more than 25 years – she is one of the leading personalities in the field. Walby investigates social inequality relations in contemporary societies with particular reference to gender. In her research, she studies current phenomena such as the impact of the financial crisis and globalisation, violence and human trafficking. Her influence reaches well beyond Gender Studies into the social sciences and social studies. Sylvia Walby is also a sought-after expert in the political and public arenas, engaging with bodies such as the European Commission, British government agencies, the European Parliament and the UN Commission on the Status of Women. As a collaborative partner at the University of Duisburg-Essen, her Anneliese Maier Research Award will allow her to contribute to further internationalising the Gender Studies focus in the social sciences. Joint projects on issues such as investigating enforced prostitution and human trafficking are also planned.

Host institute: University of Duisburg-Essen, Institute of Sociology and Essen College of Gender Research
Host: Professor Dr Karen Shire

  • Photo: Lancester
    University
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Sylvia Walby
    Born in the United Kingdom in 1953, Sylvia Walby is a Distinguished Professor of Sociology at Lancaster University, UK, where she holds the only UNESCO Chair in Gender Research and is Director of the Violence and Society UNESCO Centre. She took her doctorate at the University of Essex in 1977, subsequently working at Lancaster, London, Bristol and Leeds before returning to Lancaster in 2005. She was also a Visiting Professor in Aalborg, Denmark, in 2008. Amongst others, Sylvia Walby is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the U.K.’s Royal Society for the Arts and was the first President of the European Sociological Association.

Wang Hui

Modern China’s global interlinkages

Wang Hui is not only one of the most influential intellectuals in China, he also ranks as one of the most important experts on Chinese intellectual history. In contrast to frequent practice in this field, he does not consider Chinese history in isolation, but in its broader Asian and global context. He believes that modernism in China can neither be understood properly by applying Western notions nor from the point of view of Chinese culturalism. Wang Hui, who at one time was editor-in-chief of the influential Chinese magazine Dushu, does not just make his mark on socio-political debates within China; his work also finds an exceptionally spirited response internationally. In 2008, for example, the magazine Foreign Policy named him as one of the most influential public intellectuals in the world. Collaboration between Wang Hui and the University of Göttingen is supposed on the one hand to fertilise Sinology in Germany whilst on the other, to expand German research on topics like globalisation and the rise of China to include a Chinese perspective.

Host institute: University of Göttingen, Chinese Studies
Host: Professor Dr Dominic Sachsenmaier

  • Photo: MatjazTancic.com
    Download photo

    Professor Dr Wang Hui
    Born in the People’s Republic of China in 1959, Wang Hui is a Professor at Tsinghua University and Director of the Institute for Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences. He took his doctorate at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences in Beijing in 1988, then becoming a visiting professor in the United States, amongst others at Stanford and Harvard, as well as in Germany, Japan and Taiwan. Wang Hui has received many international honours. In 2001, he was a Senior Fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, for example, and in 2013, was the recipient of the Luca Pacioli Award, together with the German sociologist Jürgen Habermas.

Contact

Teresa Havlicek
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-257/-457
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis 2018 – Die Preisträger

Douglas Cairns

Auf den Spuren der Emotionen

Scham, Schuld, Ehre – Gefühle wie diese begleiten die Menschheit seit jeher. Douglas Cairns greift solche Themen aus Sicht eines Klassischen Philologen auf. Er gilt als international führender Experte für die Emotionsforschung, einem besonders innovativen und anspruchsvollen Feld seiner Disziplin. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf dem sprachlichen Umgang mit Emotionen in antiken Texten und nicht nur auf der semantischen Analyse. Douglas Cairns‘ Forschungen zu griechischen Dramen und griechischer Lyrik zeichnet aus, dass er auch Erkenntnisse anderer Disziplinen wie der Psychologie, Biologie oder der Verhaltensforschung einbezieht. Mit großem Erfolg: Bereits seine Dissertation zu Scham in der griechischen Kultur avancierte zum Standardwerk seines Fachs. Durch die Kooperation mit der Technischen Universität Dresden soll Cairns die historische Emotionsforschung, die bislang vor allem von der angelsächsischen Altertumswissenschaft betrieben wird, in Deutschland stärken.

Gastinstitut: Technische Universität Dresden, Institut für Klassische Philologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Dennis Pausch

  • Foto: University of
    Edinburgh
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Douglas Cairns
    1961 in Schottland geboren, ist Professor für Klassische Philologie an der University of Edinburgh, Vereinigtes Königreich. Er wurde 1987 an der University of Glasgow in Griechischer Philologie promoviert. Anschließend lehrte und forschte er an vielen internationalen Universitäten, darunter die University of Otago, Neuseeland, die University of St Andrews und die University of Glasgow, beide Schottland, und die University of Leeds, England, bevor er 2004 zum Professor of Classics der University of Edinburgh berufen wurde. Douglas Cairns erhielt zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Auszeichnungen, darunter das Humboldt-Forschungsstipendium und ein Stipendium des Leverhulme Trust. Cairns ist unter anderem Vizepräsident bei The Classical Association und Vorsitzender im Classical Association Journals Board.

José Maurício Domingues

Brückenschlag zwischen den Kontinenten

Das Werk des brasilianischen Soziologen José Maurício Domingues ist durch eine konsequente Theorieorientierung charakterisiert. Er entwickelt eine globale soziologische Theorie und gilt als einer der Wenigen, denen es gelingt, theoretische Debatten, die in Lateinamerika sowie im englischen, französischen und auch im deutschen Sprachraum geführt werden, miteinander zu verbinden. Damit wurde er zu einem der wichtigsten zeitgenössischen Theoretiker, die die globale Moderne aus einer zivilisationsvergleichenden Perspektive untersuchen. Besonders beeindruckend ist die Reichweite seiner empirischen Bezüge: Die meisten Theoretiker der Moderne gewannen ihre Einsichten aus dem jeweiligen engen nationalen und nationalsprachigen Kontext. Domingues hingegen arbeitete sich nach seiner Auseinandersetzung mit der Entwicklung der Moderne in Europa, Lateinamerika und Nordamerika auch in die Literatur zu Indien, China und Israel ein, wo er Forschungsaufenthalte verbrachte. Zentrales Ziel der Kooperation mit dem Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung sowie dem Lateinamerika‐Institut der Freien Universität Berlin ist die Analyse der politischen Moderne aus einer historischen und vergleichenden Perspektive. Dabei liegt ein besonderes Augenmerk darauf, auch machttheoretische Trends und Prozesse dieser Entwicklungen zu identifizieren.

Gastinstitut: Hamburger Institut für Sozialforschung mit Unterstützung des Lateinamerika-Instituts der Freien Universität Berlin
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Knöbl

  • Foto: Adriana Herz
    Domingues
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. José Maurício Domingues
    1960 in Brasilien geboren, ist Professor an der Rio de Janeiro State University in Brasilien, an der er seit 2010 forscht. Domingues wurde 1989 an der London School of Economics and Political Science im Vereinigten Königreich promoviert und wechselte 1994 zunächst als Postdoktorand zurück nach Brasilien. Dort war er von 1997 bis 2000 Professor an der Rio de Janeiro Federal University und wechselte anschließend an das Rio de Janeiro University Research Institute, das er von 2005 bis 2007 zudem als Geschäftsführer leitete. 2010 verbrachte er einen Aufenthalt als Gastforscher an der University of Cambridge, Vereinigtes Königreich, weitere Forschungsaufenthalte führten ihn nach China, Indien und Israel. José Maurício Domingues gehört den Herausgebergremien diverser internationaler und lateinamerikanischer Zeitschriften an.

Pascal Mamassian

Der Wahrnehmung auf der Spur

Nicht alles, was unsere Sinnesorgane erfassen, erkennen wir auch mental. Unsere Wahrnehmung filtert, welche Informationen tatsächlich zu uns durchdringen. Der französische Psychologe Pascal Mamassian zählt zu den international führenden Experten für solche Mechanismen, insbesondere für die visuelle Wahrnehmung. Seine Arbeiten zur Bedeutung von Lichtrichtung und Schattenwurf für die räumliche Wahrnehmung erlangten hohe Aufmerksamkeit. Aktuell forscht er zudem zu multimodaler Wahrnehmung und der Wahrnehmung von Dreidimensionalität. Mamassians Arbeiten zeichnet aus, dass er sich mit komplexen Szenarien befasst, wie sie in natürlichen Szenen tatsächlich vorkommen. Als versiertem Mathematiker gelingt es ihm zudem, Wahrnehmungsprozesse auch quantitativ zu modellieren. Mamassians Kooperation mit der Universität Gießen soll zum internationalen Standing der hiesigen Wahrnehmungspsychologie beitragen. In Gießen wird er die experimentelle Forschung stärken und um seine Expertise in Computermodellierung erweitern.

Gastinstitut: Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, Abteilung Allgemeine Psychologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Karl R. Gegenfurtner

  • Foto: privat
    Download Foto

    Dr. Pascal Mamassian
    wurde 1965 in Frankreich geboren. Er ist seit 2014 CNRS Research Director am Laboratoire des Systèmes Perceptifs der École Normale Supérieure in Paris. Mamassian wurde 1993 in den USA an der University of Minnesota promoviert. Nach Stationen am Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik in Tübingen, an der New York University, USA, und der University of Glasgow in Schottland wechselte er 2004 zunächst als Research Scientist ans Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS). Daneben war er Präsident der Vision Sciences Society und ist Mitherausgeber von Fachzeitschriften wie Psychological Science oder Journal of Vision.

Alan Mikhail

Wie die Natur Geschichte schreibt

Alan Mikhail hat sich in der Nahostgeschichte schon früh den Ruf eines Pioniers erarbeitet. Er verbindet die Forschung zur Geschichte des Nahen Ostens mit der Umweltgeschichte und erschließt so gänzlich neue Forschungsfelder. So beschreibt er beispielsweise den Einfluss, den der Umgang mit der Natur und natürlichen Ressourcen wie Wasser oder Holz in Ägypten auf die osmanische Vorherrschaft zwischen dem 16. und 19. Jahrhundert hatte. Als wichtiger Impuls gelten auch Mikhails jüngste Studien zu dieser Epoche in der Geschichte Ägyptens. Darin befasst er sich unter anderem mit dem Ausbruch der isländischen Laki-Krater 1783/84, der bislang vor allem im Hinblick auf die Auswirkungen auf Klima und Wirtschaft in Europa untersucht wurde. Mikhail beschreibt auch die Verbindungen zwischen dem Vulkanausbruch in Island und Dürren und Hungersnöten im Nahen Osten. Als Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreisträger soll Mikhail der Forschung zu Umwelt- und Osmanischer Geschichte in Deutschland Aufschwung verleihen und zugleich die internationale Sichtbarkeit der hiesigen Forschung stärken.

Gastinstitut: Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Lehrstuhl für Neuere Geschichte unter Einbeziehung der Landesgeschichte
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Cornel Zwierlein

  • Foto: Matt Bennington
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Alan Mikhail
    1979 in den USA geboren, ist seit 2013 Professor an der Yale University in New Haven, USA. Er wurde 2008 an der University of California promoviert und forschte anschließend als Stipendiat der Andrew W. Mellon Foundation an der Standford University. 2010 wechselte er nach Yale, wo er zunächst Assistant Professor war. Alan Mikhail erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, unter anderem von der American Society for Environmental History, der Middle East Studies Association und der Agricultural History Society.

Ingrid Piller

Die Chancen der Mehrsprachigkeit

Die Soziolinguistin Ingrid Piller ist auf Themen spezialisiert, die in heutigen Gesellschaften zunehmend relevant werden: Interkulturelle Kommunikation und Mehrsprachigkeit. Pillers Fokus liegt auf den sozialen Konsequenzen linguistischer Diversität. Welche Chancen birgt Mehrsprachigkeit für die gesellschaftliche Teilhabe? Und wie wirken sich Sprachdefizite auf die kulturelle, ökonomische und politische Beteiligung von Migranten aus? Solche Fragen greift die in Australien lebende deutsche Sprachwissenschaftlerin auch außerhalb des strikt akademischen Raums auf: 2009 gründete Ingrid Piller den Internet-Blog www.languageonthemove.com, der sich mit Mehrsprachigkeit im Kontext von Globalisierung und Migration beschäftigt und bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde. An der Universität Hamburg wird sie die Forschungen zu Mehrsprachigkeit, Spracherwerb und Spracherziehung mit ihrer internationalen Expertise erweitern und die vergleichende Forschung zwischen Australien und Deutschland ausbauen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Hamburg, Fachbereich Allgemeine, Interkulturelle und International Vergleichende Erziehungswissenschaft
Gastgeberin: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Ingrid Gogolin

  • Foto: Marcin Debski
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Ingrid Piller
    1967 in Deutschland geboren, ist Professorin für Angewandte Linguistik an der Macquarie University in Sydney, Australien. Sie wurde 1995 an der Technischen Universität Dresden promoviert. Anschließend forschte sie am Ithaca College in den USA, an der Universität Hamburg, der Sydney University und der Universität Basel in der Schweiz bevor sie 2007 an die Macquarie University wechselte. Ingrid Piller ist unter anderem Chefredakteurin der internationalen Fachzeitschrift Multilingua und Herausgeberin des Wissenschafts-Blogs www.languageonthemove.com.

Annelise Riles

Grenzgängerin zwischen Rechtswissenschaft und Ethnologie

Mit dem Blick einer Ethnologin untersucht Annelise Riles die Beziehungen zwischen internationalem Privatrecht, der Regulierung von Finanzmärkten und Zentralbankenwesen. Riles, die zugleich Juristin und Ethnologin ist, setzt diese Themen stets auch in Bezug zu kultureller Diversität, Menschen- und Frauenrechten. Ihre Studien liefern neue Einblicke, da sie ethnographische Methoden wie Feldforschung, Langzeitbeobachtungen und Interviews anwendet. In einer Studie zu globalen Finanzmärkten etwa flossen zehn Jahre Feldforschung in privaten und öffentlichen Institutionen und Unternehmen Japans ein. Auch zum Thema Cybersicherheit untersucht Annelise Riles verschiedenste Ebenen, vom Hacker über den Verteidigungsexperten bis hin zum einfachen Nutzer. Hierbei befasst sie sich außerdem mit den Beziehungen zwischen Experten und Nicht-Experten und den Auswirkungen auf den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Dialog in Demokratien. Diesem Thema hat sich Riles auch über die Forschung hinaus zugewandt: Ihr 2012 gegründetes Online-Netzwerk Meridian 180 bringt Akteure aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Politik und NGOs aus fast 30 Ländern zu sozio- und rechtspolitischen Themen zusammen. Als Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreisträgerin soll Riles die Rechtsanthropologie stärken, die in Deutschland ein noch recht junges Gebiet ist.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für ethnologische Forschung, Halle (Saale), Abteilung ‚Recht & Ethnologie'
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Marie-Claire Foblets

  • Foto: Cornell University
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Annelise Riles
    wurde 1966 in den USA geboren. Sie ist Jack G. Clarke Professor of Far East Legal Studies und Professorin für Anthropologie an der Cornell University in Ithaca, USA. Riles wurde 1996 an der University of Cambridge, Vereinigtes Königreich, promoviert. Anschließend forschte sie in den USA in Chicago an der American Bar Foundation sowie der School of Law an der Northwestern University. Sie war zudem Gastprofessorin an der Yale Law School. Annelise Riles erhielt zahlreiche Förderungen und Auszeichnungen. Sie gehört verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Organisationen wie der International Academy of Comparative Law an und ist im Redaktionsbeirat von Fachzeitschriften wie dem American Journal of International Law.

Sylvia Walby

Soziale Ungleichheit und Geschlecht

Die britische Soziologin Sylvia Walby prägt die öffentliche Debatte um Gender und Geschlecht seit gut 25 Jahren – sie zählt zu den international führenden Persönlichkeiten zum Thema. Walby befasst sich mit sozialen Ungleichheitsverhältnissen in Gegenwartsgesellschaften, insbesondere in Bezug auf Gender und Geschlecht. In ihren Forschungen untersucht sie aktuelle Phänomene wie die Auswirkungen der Finanzkrise oder der Globalisierung, Themen wie Gewalt und Menschenhandel. Sylvia Walby wirkt dabei weit über den Bereich der Gender Studies hinaus in die Sozial- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften insgesamt hinein. Und auch im politischen und öffentlichen Raum ist sie als Expertin gefragt, wie etwa als Sachverständige für die EU-Kommission, für britische Regierungsagenturen, das EU-Parlament oder die UN-Frauenkommission. Mit dem Anneliese Maier-Forschungspreis wird sie als Kooperationspartnerin der Universität Duisburg-Essen zur weiteren Internationalisierung der hiesigen sozialwissenschaftlichen Geschlechterforschung beitragen. Zudem sind gemeinsame Projekte beispielsweise zur Erforschung von Zwangsprostitution und Menschenhandel vorgesehen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Duisburg-Essen, Institut für Soziologie und Essener Kolleg für Geschlechterforschung
Gastgeberin: Prof. Dr. Karen Shire

  • Foto: Lancester
    University
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Sylvia Walby
    wurde 1953 im Vereinigten Königreich geboren. Sie ist Distinguished Professor für Soziologie an der britischen Lancaster University, wo sie den einzigen UNESCO-Lehrstuhl für Gender Research innehat und Direktorin des Violence and Society UNESCO Centre ist. Walby wurde 1977 an der University of Essex promoviert. Es folgten Stationen in Lancaster, London, Bristol und Leeds, bevor sie 2005 erneut nach Lancaster wechselte. 2008 forschte Walby als Gastprofessorin in Aalborg, Dänemark. Walby ist unter anderem Mitglied der National Academy of Sciences und der Royal Society for the Arts im Vereinigten Königreich. Daneben war Sylvia Walby die erste Präsidentin der European Sociological Association.

Wang Hui

Die globalen Verflechtungen des modernen China

Wang Hui zählt zu den einflussreichsten Intellektuellen Chinas und gilt als einer der wichtigsten Experten für die chinesische Geistesgeschichte. Er betrachtet die Geschichte Chinas nicht insular, wie es sonst weit verbreitet ist, sondern im weiteren asiatischen und globalen Zusammenhang. Wang Hui vertritt die These, dass die Moderne in China weder hinreichend mit  westlichen Begrifflichkeiten noch aus der Sicht eines chinesischen Kulturalismus verstanden werden kann. Wang Hui, der zeitweise Mitherausgeber der einflussreichen chinesischen Zeitschrift Dushu war, prägt nicht nur die gesellschaftspolitische Diskussion innerhalb Chinas. Auch international werden seine Arbeiten außergewöhnlich stark wahrgenommen, 2008 etwa zählte ihn das Magazin Foreign Policy zu den 100 einflussreichsten Public Intellectuals weltweit. Von einer Kooperation zwischen Wang Hui und der Universität Göttingen werden nicht nur Impulse für die Sinologie in Deutschland erwartet. Sie soll zudem die hiesige Forschung zu Themen wie der Globalisierung oder dem Aufstieg Chinas insgesamt um eine chinesische Perspektive erweitern.

Gastinstitut: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Ostasiatisches Seminar
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Dominic Sachsenmaier

  • Foto: MatjazTancic.com
    Download Foto

    Prof. Dr. Wang Hui
    1959 in der Volksrepublik China geboren, ist dort Professor an der Tsinghua University sowie Direktor des Institute for Advanced Studies in Humanities and Social Sciences. Wang Hui wurde 1988 an der Chinese Academy of Social Sciences in Beijing promoviert. Es folgten Gastprofessuren in den USA, unter anderem in Stanford und Harvard, in Deutschland, Japan und Taiwan. Wang Hui erhielt zahlreiche internationale Auszeichnungen. 2001 war er etwa Senior Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg Berlin. 2013 erhielt er den Luca Pacioli-Preis gemeinsam mit dem deutschen Soziologen Jürgen Habermas.

Kontakt

Teresa Havlicek
Lena Schnabel
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-423/-457
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de