German Chancellor Fellowship

Fellows in portrait

“It is simply great that I can focus completely on my project. There is always someone at the Humboldt Foundation who can help you.”

Sadaf Fatima
Photo: private

Today, everyone in the world, and particularly in developing and newly industrialising countries, wants to conserve energy. Some of architect Sadaf Fatima’s clients would also like energy-efficient homes. However, Sadaf Fatima wasn’t satisfied with the models that have been available in India to date: They don’t reflect the region’s climatic conditions and promise to save more energy than they actually do. As one of the first German Chancellor Fellows from India, she now has an opportunity to work together with the inventor of one of the most successful concepts for resource-efficient construction at the Passive House Institute in Darmstadt. It is her aim to build the first prototype of a passive house in India with a local partner.
Networking with her host has also opened doors beyond bilateral cooperation between Germany and India for her ‒ for example, for a study visit in Tenerife. This was particularly interesting for her because the climate there is similar to the climate in certain regions of India. In any case, she will gain in reputation through her work at the renowned institute. And she also won’t forget the Christmas she shared with 15 other Humboldt Fellows in Heidelberg.
 

“I’m very pleased about the confidence that the Foundation has in us and the freedom we have as a result of this.”

Suzana Velasco
Photo: Michael Jordan

Suzana Velasco came to Germany with an exchange programme for three months in 2013. During this time she made initial contact with her current host, the Network Migration in Europe, where she is a German Chancellor Fellow today. Her search for a host for her application constituted both a challenge and an opportunity for her. She recommends giving a lot of thought to one’s project and then looking for and approaching suitable institutions on a very targeted basis. Ideally the project should lead to a win-win situation for both sides.
Suzana Velasco’s work focuses on narratives of Turkish migration in Berlin. The subject of migration is highly relevant in Brazil as well because extremely disparate social groups ‒ such as unskilled immigrants and doctors who have been recruited by the government ‒ are currently coming to the country. Suzana Velasco has already made out a difference between Germany and Brazil: “Our society is not prepared for this. There are no organisations, like Germany has, that help the new arrivals, no structures. In Germany, immigration is the subject of discussion in the media and society every day. This is not the case in Brazil.”
Friendly exchanges and discussions with her co-fellows are a big help. She is certain that following her fellowship she will tackle new duties with more experience and self-confidence. And with the Humboldt Foundation’s network behind her.
 

“I loved the idea of a programme that encouraged curiosity and growth and would give me the creative freedom to pursue a project I was passionate about.”

Jason Mannix
Photo: Stephen Voss

Nowadays, fonts are created by computers. Typography has little to do with inkwells, paper, quills and nibs any more. Graphic designer and German Chancellor Fellow, Jason Mannix, rediscovered some traditional craftsmanship whilst investigating Fraktur, an old typeface often referred to as Blackletter, at the “Typographische Gesellschaft” in Munich. Attempting to find a better balance between technology and tradition he has developed a new typeface and explains, “There is virtually no demand for penmanship and handwriting in the digital world of text messages and e-mails. I want to revive Blackletter as a creative form of expression, to reclaim some of its familiarity and to re-establish a stronger sense of craft in my own professional development.”
Together with his wife Lindsay, he also enjoyed the time they spent in Germany from 2009 to 2010 on a private level and took many wonderful memories back home. He savoured his stay with all his senses: from the World Cup with Özil and Schweinsteiger, via the aromas of Christmas markets, to buttered pretzels, the asparagus season and Pelican ink on his fingers.
 

“Misunderstandings can be created through the images conveyed by the media. Thus, the German Chancellor Fellowship is very necessary in order to promote understanding between peoples.“

Dandan Wang
Photo: Gaby Gerster

Wang Dandan studied German language and culture in Beijing. She came to Germany for the first time on a German-Chinese exchange programme for journalists, and German-Chinese media became a subject she could not stop thinking about. So she applied to the Humboldt Foundation for a German Chancellor Fellowship – and was successful. In her project she examined The Frankfurt Book Fair as seen by the German and Chinese Media. What intrigued her was the insight that, by fostering mutual understanding, the media on both sides can help to avoid misunderstandings and to promote German-Chinese communications.
Wang is currently a trainee in the Corporate Communications & Government Relations Department at BASF in Ludwigshafen where she wants to learn more about internal and external communications in an international corporation.
 

“I really got a lot of information about the German mentality and how to work together with Germans.”

Sergey Volchenkov
Photo: Gaby Gerster

Sergey Volchenkov is a financial analyst and was a German Chancellor Fellow in the Department of Finance (Chair of Investment, Portfolio Management and Pension Finance) at Goethe University Frankfurt am Main from September 2010 to November 2011. In his view, Germany was an excellent location in which to study his key topic, European pension systems, and to identify new strategies for his own country.
Even after his return to Russia, he still maintains numerous, predominantly professional, contacts with Germany. He has learned “how to work together with Germans.” The little word No, for example, has a totally different meaning in Russian negotiations than it does in Germany: in Russia, No merely signifies that more work is required to solve the problem. In Germany by contrast, No conveys an irrevocable decision.
Today, Volchenkov manages the investment department of a private equity fund in Russia that invests in Europe and particularly in Germany.

Bundeskanzler-Stipendium

Stipendiaten im Portrait

„Es ist einfach großartig für mich, dass ich mich vollkommen auf mein Projekt fokussieren kann. Bei der Humboldt-Stiftung ist immer ein Ansprechpartner da, der einem weiter hilft.“

Sadaf Fatima
Foto: privat

Energie sparen – das will heute jeder, auch und gerade in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Auch einige Kunden der Architektin Sadaf Fatima wünschten sich energiesparende Häuser. Die Modelle, die es bisher in Indien gibt, stellten Sadaf Fatima aber nicht zufrieden: Sie entsprechen nicht den klimatischen Gegebenheiten und versprechen mehr Energieeinsparung als sie tatsächlich bringen. Als eine der ersten Bundeskanzler-Stipendiatinnen aus Indien hat sie nun die Chance am Passivhaus-Institut in Darmstadt mit dem Erfinder eines der erfolgreichsten Konzepte für ressourcenschonendes Bauen zusammenzuarbeiten. Ihr Ziel ist es, mit einem Partner vor Ort den ersten Prototyp eines Passivhauses in Indien zu bauen.
Die Vernetzung mit ihrem Gastgeber öffnet ihr auch außerhalb der bilateralen Kooperation zwischen Deutschland und Indien Türen, zum Beispiel für einen Studienaufenthalt auf Teneriffa – besonders interessant für sie, weil das Klima dort ähnlich ist wie in einigen Küstengebieten Indiens. Ihre Reputation wird durch die Arbeit an dem renommierten Institut auf jeden Fall gewinnen. Aber auch das gemeinsame Weihnachten mit 15 anderen Humboldt-Stipendiaten in Heidelberg wird sie nicht vergessen.
 

„Ich bin so froh über das Vertrauen, das die Stiftung in uns steckt, und die Freiheit, die wir dadurch genießen.“

Suzana Velasco
Foto: Michael Jordan

2013 kam Suzana Velasco mit einem Austauschprogramm für drei Monate nach Deutschland. Schon damals knüpfte sie den ersten Kontakt zu ihrem jetzigen Gastgeber als Bundeskanzler-Stipendiatin, dem Netzwerk Migration in Europa. Die Suche nach einem Gastgeber für ihre Bewerbung war für sie Herausforderung und Chance zugleich. Sie rät, das Projekt gut zu durchdenken und dann sehr gezielt passende Institutionen zu suchen und anzuschreiben. Idealerweise entsteht eine Win-Win-Situation für beide Seiten.
Suzana Velasco beschäftigt sich mit Erzählungen der türkischen Migration in Berlin. Das Thema Migration ist auch in Brasilien von hoher Relevanz, denn unterschiedlichste soziale Gruppen, wie zum Beispiel unqualifizierte Zuwanderer oder von der Regierung angeworbene Ärzte, kommen derzeit ins Land. Einen Unterschied im Vergleich beider Länder hat Suzana Velasco schon ausgemacht: „Unsere Gesellschaft ist nicht darauf vorbereitet. Es gibt keine Vereine, die den Neuankömmlingen helfen, wie in Deutschland, keine Strukturen. In Deutschland ist Migration jeden Tag Thema in den Medien und in der Gesellschaft. Bei uns ist das noch nicht so.“
Der kollegiale Austausch und die Beratung mit den anderen Stipendiaten ihres Jahrgangs helfen ihr sehr. Nach dem Stipendium, ist sie sicher, wird sie neue Aufgaben mit mehr Erfahrung und Selbstvertrauen angehen. Und mit dem Netzwerk der Humboldt-Stiftung im Rücken.
 

„Mir hat die Idee eines Programms gefallen, das Neugierde belohnt und mir die kreative Freiheit gibt, ein Projekt zu verfolgen, das mich begeistert.“

Jason Mannix
Foto: Stephen Voss

Schriftarten kommen heutzutage aus dem Computer. Mit Tintenfässchen, Papier, Federkielen und Schreibfedern hat Typografie nur noch wenig zu tun. Der Grafiker und Bundeskanzler-Stipendiat Jason Mannix ging bei der Typographischen Gesellschaft in München einer alten Schriftart, der Fraktur, nach und entdeckte ein traditionelles Handwerk neu. „Es besteht so gut wie kein Bedarf mehr an Schriftkunst und Handschrift in der digitalen Welt von Textnachrichten und E-Mails“, so Mannix, der versucht, ein besseres Gleichgewicht zwischen der Technologie und der Tradition zu finden. „Mein Wunsch ist, die Fraktur als kreative Ausdrucksform wiederzubeleben, etwas von ihrer Vertrautheit zurückzugewinnen und dem ursprünglichen Handwerk in meiner eigenen beruflichen Entwicklung wieder eine stärkere Bedeutung zu verschaffen“, sagt Mannix, der eine neue Schrift entwickelt hat.
Mit seiner Frau Lindsay hat er die Zeit in Deutschland von 2009 bis 2010 auch privat genossen und viele schöne Erinnerungen mit nach Hause genommen. Von der Weltmeisterschaft mit Özil und Schweinsteiger über Weihnachtsmarktduft bis hin zu Butterbrezel, Spargelzeit und Pelikantinte an seinen Fingern hat er seinen Aufenthalt mit allen Sinnen genossen.
 

„Missverständnisse können durch die Bilder aus den Medien entstehen. Das Bundeskanzler-Stipendium ist somit sehr wichtig, um die Völkerverständigung zu fördern.“

Dandan Wang
Foto: Gaby Gerster

Wang Dandan hat in Peking Deutsche Sprache und Kultur studiert. Das erste Mal in Deutschland war sie mit einem deutsch-chinesischen Austauschprogramm für Journalisten. Das Thema der deutsch-chinesischen Medien ließ sie nicht los: Sie bewarb sich erfolgreich um ein Bundeskanzler-Stipendium bei der Humboldt-Stiftung und untersuchte in ihrem Projekt die Frankfurter Buchmesse im Spiegel deutscher und chinesischer Medien. Was sie daran fesselte, war die Erkenntnis, dass die Medien durch besseres gegenseitiges Verstehen auf beiden Seiten dazu beitragen könnten, Missverständnisse zu vermeiden und die deutsch-chinesische Kommunikation voranzubringen.
Zurzeit arbeitet Wang als Trainee bei der BASF in Ludwigshafen in der Abteilung Corporate Communications & Government Relations, um mehr über interne und externe Kommunikation in internationalen Unternehmen zu lernen.
 

„Ich habe viel über die deutsche Mentalität gelernt und wie man mit Deutschen zusammenarbeitet.“

Sergey Volchenkov
Foto: Gaby Gerster

Sergey Volchenkov ist Finanzwissenschaftler und war von September 2010 bis November 2011 Bundeskanzler-Stipendiat am Lehrstuhl für Investment, Portfolio Management und Alterssicherung der Johann Wolfgang von Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main. Deutschland erschien ihm als ein exzellenter Standort, um seinen Themenschwerpunkt – die europäischen Rentensysteme – zu studieren und neue Strategien für sein Heimatland zu identifizieren.
Auch nach seiner Rückkehr nach Russland unterhält er zahlreiche, überwiegend berufliche Kontakte mit Deutschland. Er hat gelernt „wie man mit Deutschen zusammenarbeitet“. Das Wörtchen Nein beispielsweise hat in russischen Verhandlungen eine ganz andere Bedeutung als in Deutschland: In Russland bedeutet ein Nein lediglich, dass an der Problemlösung noch gearbeitet werden muss, während ein Nein in Deutschland eine unwiderrufliche Entscheidung ausdrückt.
Heute leitet Volchenkov die Investmentabteilung eines Private Equity Fonds in Russland, der in der EU und insbesondere in Deutschland investiert.