Georg Forster Research Fellows in portrait

“Forget your self-doubts and apply, you young researchers from developing countries! Your chances are much better than you think!”

Hyacinthe Ondoa

Photo:
picture alliance/dpa

Hyacinthe Ondoa is a Germanist and cultural historian at the University of Yaoundé I in Cameroon. His field of research is contemporary German literature and his special field is the literature of the German Democratic Republic. Ondoa is interested in the question of how a society’s literary canon develops – why, for example, certain literary texts land in textbooks while others don’t. In order to answer these questions, he chose the Global and European Studies Institute of Leipzig University for his stay in Germany, where he worked together with his host Matthias Middell. His findings help him better understand how cultural values and notions of what makes life meaningful develop in a globalised world.

Hyacinthe Ondoa was a research fellow at Leipzig University from 2011 to 2013.
 

“This fellowship offers a wonderful opportunity to conduct research in Germany, make advances in one’s own work and get to know the greats in your field.”

 Haja El-Khozondar
Photo: private

Hala El-Khozondar is a physicist at the Palestinian Islamic University of Gaza. Her speciality field is electrooptics. Her research covers a broad spectrum and is aimed at developing technical solutions for the world of tomorrow. For example, Hala El-Khozondar and her team are working on innovative optical fibres for faster data transmission and on optical sensors for more precise diagnosis of diseases. She has had to overcome a lot of resistance: Not only in her male-dominated field but also in her own family. Despite this, she followed her own path which led her to Technische Universität München (TUM) at the invitation of Alexander W. Koch. Even today, Hala El-Khozondar enthuses about the hospitality she met with there, the enriching discussions, the first-class infrastructure – and the reliable electricity supply. “I was accustomed from home to having power outages”, the researcher reports. “Even today we still have to work in the dark quite often.”

Hala El-Khozondar was a research fellow at Technische Universität München from 2008 to 2009.
 

“Once your fellowship is over, you are a Humboldt Alumnus and can apply for further funding. This helps research in poorer countries.”

 Tsegare Gedif Ayele
Photo: private

Tsegaye Gedif Ayele is Assistent Professor of Mathematics at Addis Ababa University in the capital of Ethiopia. His research interest revolves around partial differential equations (PDEs). PDEs are used in the mathematical modelling of physical processes such as the thermal conductivity of substances. This could benefit many areas in the natural and engineering sciences. While at TU Kaiserslautern, Tsegaye conducted not only basic research. Working together with his host René Pinnau in the Technomathematics Group he also gained knowledge in industrial mathematics. In collaboration with Pinnau he plans to develop a graduate programme in this field for Addis Ababa University. Today Tsegaye encourages his young researchers to apply for a fellowship: “Research conditions are ideal in Germany.”

Tsegare Gedif Ayele was a research fellow at TU Kaiserslautern from 2012 to 2013.
 

“At my host institute I had access to the latest specialised literature and to recognised experts in my field – this enriched my research work enormously.”

Maria Böhm
Photo: private

María Laura Böhm comes from Argentina and is a jurist and sociologist. Her special fields are criminology, international criminal law and human rights. At the Institute of Criminal Law and Justice at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen she investigates, together with her host Kai Ambos, the part business enterprises have in international crime and human rights violations in Latin America. With this study, Maria Laura Böhm aims to establish a basis for legislative amendments that will provide better protection, particularly for the poor in Latin America. She was awarded a return fellowship by the Humboldt Foundation in February 2014 and is now conducting research at the Universidad de Palermo in Buenos Aires.

María Laura Böhm was a research fellow at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen from 2011 to 2013.
 

“Outstanding working conditions and a trusting, supportive atmosphere make my research in Berlin a pleasure.”

 Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni
Photo: Nikolaus Brade

Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni is an environmental scientist from Shahrood University of Technology in Iran. He developed a computer programme that can be used to generate a coherent overall picture from patchy data. Together with Sahar Sodoudi, who heads the Urban Climate working group at the Institute of Meteorology at Freie Universität Berlin, the Iranian researcher wants to refine and further develop his method. His aim is to be able to generate small-scale forecasts of the spread of pollutants. Urban planners as well as people with health problems could benefit from this. Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni sees the greatest need for such a programme in the polluted megacities in the world’s transition countries.

Since January 2014, Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni has been a research fellow at Freie Universität Berlin.
 

“I had the chance to strengthen my career prospects and widen the scope of my scientific thinking.”

 Amina Saied
Photo: Kristina Güroff

Amina Sirag Saied is an agricultural scientist at the Department of Horticulture at the University of Khartoum in Sudan. As a researcher she is interested in how plants respond to stress. She wants to find plants that will grow and survive in the dry, saline soils of her native country. Working together with colleagues from the Institute for Organic Plant Production and Agroecosystems Research in the Tropics and Subtropics at the University of Kassel, she has been able to show that certain perennial wild fruit trees are particularly well-suited for this. During her fellowship, Amina Saied attended an international deans’ course aimed at providing deans from Africa training in university management. This was fortunate for her, she says today, because immediately after she returned to Sudan she was appointed head of her institute.

Amina Saied was a research fellow at the University of Kassel from 2007 to 2008.
 

Texts: Lilo Berg

Georg Forster-Forschungsstipendiaten im Porträt

„Lasst die Selbstzweifel hinter Euch und bewerbt Euch, Ihr jungen Wissenschaftler aus den Entwicklungsländern! Eure Chancen sind viel besser als Ihr glaubt!“

Hyacinthe Ondoa

Foto:
picture alliance/dpa

Hyacinthe Ondoa ist Germanist und Kulturwissenschaftler an der Université Yaounde I in Kamerun. Sein Forschungsfeld ist Neueste deutsche Literatur, sein Spezialgebiet die DDR-Literatur. Ondoa interessiert sich für die Frage, wie der literarische Kanon einer Gesellschaft entsteht, warum zum Beispiel bestimmte literarische Texte in die Schulbücher gelangen und andere nicht. Um diese Fragen zu klären, hat er sich für seinen Deutschlandaufenthalt das Global and European Studies Institute der Universität Leipzig ausgesucht, wo er mit seinem Gastgeber Matthias Middell zusammenarbeitete. Die Ergebnisse aus der Kooperation helfen Hyacinthe Ondoa, die Entstehung von kulturellen Werten und Sinnentwürfen in einer globalisierten Welt besser zu begreifen.

Hyacinthe Ondoa war von 2011 bis 2013 Stipendiat an der Universität Leipzig.
 

„Das Stipendium bietet einem die großartige Chance, in Deutschland zu forschen, die eigene Arbeit voranzubringen und die Größen des eigenen Fachs kennenzulernen.“

 Haja El-Khozondar
Foto: privat

Hala El-Khozondar ist Physikerin an der palästinensischen Islamischen Universität Gaza. Ihr Spezialgebiet ist die Elektrooptik. Die Bandbreite ihrer Forschung ist groß und darauf ausgerichtet, technische Lösungen für die Welt von morgen zu entwickeln. Mit ihrem Team arbeitet Hala El-Khozondar zum Beispiel an neuartigen optischen Fasern zur schnelleren Datenübertragung und an optischen Sensoren für die exaktere Diagnose von Krankheiten. Die Physikerin musste gegen viele Widerstände kämpfen: In ihrem Fachbereich, der von Männern dominiert ist, aber auch in der eigenen Familie. Dennoch ging sie ihren Weg, der sie auf Einladung von Alexander W. Koch an die Technische Universität München führte. Nach wie vor schwärmt Hala El-Khozondar von der Gastfreundschaft, mit der sie dort empfangen wurde, den bereichernden Diskussionen, der erstklassigen Infrastruktur – und der zuverlässigen Stromversorgung. „Von zu Hause war ich es gewöhnt, dass ständig der Strom ausfällt“, berichtet die Wissenschaftlerin. „Auch heute müssen wir oft noch im Dunkeln arbeiten.“

Hala El-Khozondar war von 2008 bis 2009 Stipendiatin an der Technischen Universität München.
 

„Nach dem Ende des Stipendiums gehört man zu den Humboldt-Alumni und kann sich um weitere Fördermittel bewerben. Das hilft der Wissenschaft in den ärmeren Ländern.“

 Tsegare Gedif Ayele
Foto: privat

Tsegaye Gedif Ayele ist Assistant Professor für Mathematik an der Universität von Addis Abeba, der Hauptstadt Äthiopiens. Sein Forschungsinteresse gilt den Partiellen Differentialgleichungen (PDEs). Solche Gleichungen dienen der mathematischen Modellierung von physikalischen Vorgängen, wie zum Beispiel der Wärmeleitfähigkeit von Stoffen. Viele Bereiche der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften können davon profitieren. An der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern widmete sich Tsegaye nicht nur der Grundlagenforschung. Er arbeitete gemeinsam mit seinem Gastgeber René Pinnau in der Arbeitsgruppe Technomathematik, wo er sich auch mit industrieller Mathematik befasste. Zusammen mit Pinnau plant er die Einrichtung eines Graduiertenprogramms in diesem Bereich an der Universität Addis Abeba. Heute ermuntert Tsegaye seine jungen Wissenschaftler, sich um ein Stipendium zu bewerben: „Die Forschungsbedingungen in Deutschland sind ideal.“

Tsegaye Gedif Ayele war von 2012 bis 2013 Stipendiat an der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern.

 

„An meinem Gastinstitut hatte ich Zugang zur aktuellsten Fachliteratur und zu anerkannten Spezialisten auf meinem Gebiet – das hat meine Forschung enorm bereichert.“

Maria Böhm
Foto: privat

María Laura Böhm stammt aus Argentinien und ist Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaftlerin. Ihre Spezialgebiete sind Kriminologie, Völkerstrafrecht und Menschenrechte. Am Institut für Kriminalwissenschaften der Universität Göttingen untersuchte sie gemeinsam mit ihrem Gastgeber Kai Ambos, welchen Anteil Wirtschaftsunternehmen an internationalen Verbrechen und Menschenrechtsverletzungen in Lateinamerika haben. Mit der Studie will María Laura Böhm die Grundlagen für Gesetzesänderungen schaffen, die vor allem den Armen in Lateinamerika besseren Schutz bieten sollen. Im Februar 2014 erhielt sie ein Rückkehrstipendium der Humboldt-Stiftung und forscht nun an der Universidad de Palermo in Buenos Aires.

María Laura Böhm war von 2011 bis 2013 Stipendiatin an der Universität Göttingen.
 

„Hervorragende Arbeitsbedingungen und eine vertrauensvolle, kollegiale Atmosphäre – das macht meine Forschung in Berlin zum Vergnügen.“

 Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni
Foto: Nikolaus Brade

Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni ist Umweltwissenschaftler und kommt von der iranischen Shahrood University of Technology. Er hat ein Computerprogramm entwickelt, mit dem sich aus lückenhaften Daten ein stimmiges Gesamtbild gewinnen lässt. Zusammen mit Sahar Sodoudi, die am Institut für Meteorologie der Freien Universität Berlin die Arbeitsgruppe Stadtklima leitet, will der iranische Forscher seine Methode nun weiterentwickeln. Ziel ist eine kleinräumige Vorhersage der Ausbreitung von Luftschadstoffen. Stadtplaner können davon profitieren, aber auch Menschen mit gesundheitlichen Problemen. Den größten Bedarf sieht Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni in den verpesteten Großstädten der Schwellenländer.

Hamid Taheri Shahraiyni ist seit Januar 2014 Stipendiat an der Freien Universität Berlin.

 

„Die Zeit in Deutschland hat meiner Karriere und meinem wissenschaftlichen Denken neue Impulse gegeben.“

 Amina Saied
Foto: Kristina Güroff

Amina Sirag Saied ist Agrarwissenschaftlerin am Institut für Gartenbau an der Universität Khartum im Sudan. Als Forscherin interessiert sie sich für die Stressreaktionen von Pflanzen. Ihr geht es darum, Gewächse zu finden, die auch auf den trockenen und versalzenen Böden ihrer Heimat gedeihen. Mit Kollegen vom Institut für Ökologischen Pflanzenbau und Agrarökosystemforschung der Tropen und Subtropen an der Universität Kassel konnte sie zeigen, dass bestimmte mehrjährige Wildobstgehölze sich gut für diesen Zweck eignen. Im Rahmen ihres Stipendiums nahm Amina Saied an einem International Deans’ Course teil, der Dekane aus Afrika für das Hochschulmanagement qualifizieren soll. Zum Glück, sagt sie heute, denn gleich nach ihrer Rückkehr in den Sudan wurde ihr die Leitung ihres Instituts übertragen.

Amina Saied war von 2007 bis 2008 Stipendiatin an der Universität Kassel.

 

Texte: Lilo Berg