Newsletter 6/2011

New Alexander von Humboldt Professors

Germany’s most valuable international research award goes to four researchers from abroad.

A biophysicist, a communications engineer, a medical scientist and a mathematician were selected as the new Alexander von Humboldt Professors in October 2011. The award winners are currently involved in appointment negotiations with the German universities that nominated them:

    Jochen Guck, Matthias Tschöp,
    Michael Weiss, Robert Schober

    Photos: private
  • Biophysicist Jochen Guck (38), currently conducting research at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, is to work at TU Dresden.
  • Robert Schober (40) is a communications engineer at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada, and is to conduct research at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg.
  • Medical scientist Matthias Tschöp (44), currently at the University of Cincinnati, USA, is to transfer to Technische Universität München (TUM) and the Helmholtz Zentrum München, Research Centre for Environmental Health.
  • Mathematician Michael Weiss (55) of the University of Aberdeen, United Kingdom, was nominated by the University of Münster.

The Humboldt Foundation’s selection committee had ten applications to consider. Five of the candidates currently work in the United Kingdom, two in the USA, one in Canada, one in Sweden and one in Hungary.

With the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, the Foundation honours world-class researchers of all academic disciplines working abroad. It enables them to conduct cutting-edge research at German universities on a long-term basis. The international award for research in Germany, worth up to five million EUR, is granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The award amount is earmarked for funding the first five years in Germany. The award gives universities both the opportunity to offer top-class international researchers competitive conditions and the prospect of extended employment in Germany as well as to enhance their profiles.

Four Alexander von Humboldt Professors were already selected in April 2011. All the awards will be conferred in May 2012 in Berlin.