27 May 2009, No. 19/2009

Elinor Ostrom and Roland Recht receive Reimar Lüst Award

Political scientist and art historian honoured for their services to cultural and academic relations with Germany.

The American political scientist, Elinor Ostrom, and the French art historian, Roland Recht, are this year’s winners of the Reimar Lüst Award for International Scholarly and Cultural Exchange.

Elinor Ostrom is a Professor of Politics at Indiana University in Bloomington, USA. Using an interdisciplinary approach she has become one of the world’s leading scholars in the field of institutional analysis, specialising in the use of collective goods. These include ground water resources, fishing grounds and forests or grazing land. In her analyses she identifies local institutions rather than state regulations or market mechanisms as the way to solve the problems of the resource economy. Ostrom has been responsible for inviting many German guest researchers to the USA in the context of an exchange programme she established. The Lüst Award winner will now continue a joint research project she had started with Konrad Hagedorn from Berlin’s Humboldt University in the context of the TransCoop Programme, with Michael Kirk of Marburg University.

Roland Recht is a Professor of Mediaeval and Modern European Art History at the Collège de France in Paris. He is one of the most distinguished art historians in France and has sustainably promoted and influenced academic exchange and cultural understanding between France and Germany both through his comparative research on the writing of art history in the two countries and the many years he has spent as head of Strasbourg’s museums. His research focuses on Gothic architecture, the art monuments of the Upper Rhine region and the history of art history. In the context of the Reimar Lüst Award he will continue to extend his collaboration with Raphael Rosenberg and Thomas Maissen of Heidelberg University.

Valued at 50,000 EUR, the award, which is granted jointly by the Fritz Thyssen Foundation and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, honours outstanding humanities scholars and social scientists from abroad for their services to cultural and academic relations between their own countries and Germany. The award winners are invited to Germany to meet specialist colleagues and exchange ideas. Two awards are granted every year. The award is named after the former President of the Humboldt Foundation, Professor Dr. Reimar Lüst.

N.B. event: On Friday, 19 June 2009 at 5.30 pm, Elinor Ostrom will speak on “Collective Action and the Commons” at the Frankfurt School of Finance & Management. Please visit www.frankurt-school.de to register.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation annually enables more than 1,900 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of some 23,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in 130 countries worldwide - including 41 Nobel Prize winners.

The Fritz Thyssen Foundation

The Fritz Thyssen Foundation promotes research and scholarship at universities and research establishments, focussing on research projects in the fields of the humanities and biomedicine.


Kristina Güroff
Barbara Wieners-Horst
Kerstin De Giorgio
Press and Communications
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press and Communications
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441