17 September 2013, No. 21/2013

250,000 EUR awards for humanities scholars

Anneliese Maier Research Awards to be presented on 26 September in Frankfurt

The Anneliese Maier Research Awards, valued at 250,000 EUR each, will be presented for the second time on 26 September 2013 in Frankfurt am Main. The four women and three men receiving the awards were selected in January from a total of 54 nominees from 26 countries:

  • Michal Biran from Israel specialises in the history of Eurasia from the 10th to the 14th centuries, and will cooperate with the University of Bonn.
  • As one of the world’s leading sociologists, Eva Illouz from Israel examines the influence of modern culture and capitalism on relationship behaviour. Her cooperation partner is Goethe University Frankfurt. Eva Illouz will hold the keynote speech on “The Secret Form of Emotions: Critical Perspectives on Authenticity in the Era of Capitalism” during the awards ceremony.
  • Marie-Louise Bech Nosch from Denmark is an internationally recognised expert in the field of ancient textiles. The well-connected manager will be cooperating with Leibniz University Hannover.
  • Francis Jeffry Pelletier from Canada conducts interdisciplinary research in the fields of philosophy, linguistics and cognitive science. His cooperation partner is Ruhr University Bochum.
  • South African Jean J. du Plessis is an expert in the field of international corporate law, and will cooperate with colleagues at the University of Münster.
  • Globally acclaimed Indian archaeologist Himanshu Prabha Ray specialises in early Indian history and maritime archaeology. She will cooperate with LMU Munich.
  • Jeffrey W. Sherman from the USA is an internationally leading social psychologist who has developed mathematical models to measure prejudice and stereotyping. His cooperation partner is the University of Freiburg.

Awards ceremony on 26/09 at 7 p.m. at Goethe University Frankfurt am Main, Eisenhower Rotunda in the main campus building

The awards will be presented by Georg Schütte, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and the President of the Humboldt Foundation, Helmut Schwarz. The awards ceremony will take place as part of a three-day symposium (25-27/09) attended by the award winners, their German cooperation partners, and approximately 100 other German and international humanities scholars and social scientists.

Note to journalists: the entire event is open to the press; photography, video and audio recordings are permitted. Please register by e-mailing presse@avh. On-site contact: Lena Schnabel, tel. 0160 97287564

The Anneliese Maier Research Award was established by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to support the internationalisation of the humanities and social sciences in Germany. It has been presented annually since 2012 to outstanding foreign academics from all fields of the humanities and social sciences, who use the award amount of 250,000 EUR to fund research cooperations with specialist colleagues in Germany over a period of five years. They are nominated by their scientific cooperation partners at German universities and research institutes.

The award is financed with funds from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and named after German philosopher and science historian Anneliese Maier (b. 1905 in Tübingen, d. 1971 in Rome).

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 130 countries worldwide – including 49 Nobel Prize winners.


Barbara Wieners-Horst
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441