01 September 2014, No. 25/2014

€250,000 awards for researchers in the humanities and social sciences

Anneliese Maier Research Awards to be presented in Hamburg on 11 September

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation will present the Anneliese Maier Research Awards, valued at €250,000 each, for the third time on 11 September 2014 in Hamburg. The four women and four men receiving the award come from the humanities and social sciences and were selected from a total of 60 nominees from 17 countries.

  • Linguist Mary E. Beckman from the USA is recognised as a world leader in her field and is one of the pioneers of laboratory phonology. Her collaborative partner is Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.
  • Geert Bouckaert from Belgium is acknowledged as being one of the world’s most eminent public management researchers and experts on administrative reform. He will work with the University of Potsdam.
  • British philosopher Kit Fine is considered one of world’s most famous and influential philosophers in logic, language and metaphysics. Fine will collaborate with Universität Hamburg.
  • German psychologist Ulrike Hahn, who works in the United Kingdom, is a world leader in the psychology of thinking, decision-making and judgement. She will work together with Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich.
  • American sociologist Donald Tomaskovic-Devey is one of the most eminent experts in workplace inequality, a field of research that is usually addressed by economists. His collaborative partner is Bielefeld University.
  • Kathleen Vohs is acknowledged as being an exceptionally innovative psychologist in the field of self-regulation and consumer psychology. The American will be working with Heidelberg University.
  • British historian Gregory Woolf is a world authority on the history of the Roman Empire. Through his collaboration with the University of Erfurt, Woolf will help to promote the international networking of German research on ancient religious history
  • The Spanish scholar of Islamic history, Maribel Fierro was also chosen to receive one of this year’s Anneliese Maier Research Awards. She is however unable to attend the award ceremony.

The awards ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. on September 11 at the University of Hamburg, Ernst Cassirer Hörsaal (Hörsaal A), Edmund-Siemers-Allee 1.

The awards will be presented by Georg Schütte, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and the president of the Humboldt Foundation, Helmut Schwarz. The award ceremony will take place as part of a three-day symposium being held in Hamburg and Ahrensburg from 10-12 September. In addition to the award winners and their German collaborative partners, approximately 100 other German and international humanities scholars and social scientists will also be attending.

Note to journalists: the entire event is open to the press; there will be opportunities to take photographs and make video or audio recordings. Please register by e-mailing presse(at)avh.de.
On-site contact: Teresa Havlicek, Tel. 0151-67317585

The Anneliese Maier Research Award was established by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to support the internationalisation of the humanities and social sciences in Germany. It has been presented annually since 2012 to outstanding foreign academics from all fields of the humanities and social sciences, who use the award money to fund collaborative research with specialist colleagues in Germany over a period of five years. They are nominated by their scientific collaborative partners at German universities and research institutes.

The Anneliese Maier Research Award is financed with funds from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and named after German philosopher and science historian Anneliese Maier (b. 1905 in Tübingen, d. 1971 in Rome).

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 50 Nobel Prize winners.


Teresa Havlicek
Sebastian Kraußer
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-423/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441