28. January 2015, No. 03/2013

2015 Anneliese Maier Research Award winners announced

Eleven eminient humanities scholars and social scientists each receive €250,000 to collaborate with researchers in Germany.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has selected eleven researchers from abroad – two women and nine men – to receive this year’s Anneliese Maier Research Award. Each award is valued at €250,000 and is granted annually to outstanding humanities scholars and social scientists. It is designated to finance research collaboration over a period of up to five years with specialist colleagues in Germany. Funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the award seeks to help promote the internationalisation of the humanities and social sciences in Germany.

The eleven award winners were selected from a total of 72 nominees from 22 countries. Most of the nominees came from the USA (25), the UK (10) and Canada (7).

The new award winners, including countries of origin, most recent countries of residence, disciplines and host institutes, are:

  • Hans Beck, Germany / Canada, Ancient History, University of Münster, Institute of Ancient History
  • Robert B. Brandom, USA, Philosophy, Leipzig University, Institute of Philosophy
  • Angelos Chaniotis, Greece / USA, Ancient History, LMU Munich, School of History
  • Kristian S. Gleditsch, Norway / United Kingdom, Peace and Conflict Research, University of Konstanz, Department of Politics and Public Administration
  • Jeffrey F. Hamburger, USA, Art History, Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf, Department of History
  • Susan Irvine, New Zealand / United Kingdom, English Studies, University of Göttingen, Department of English Philology
  • Pamela Klassen, Canada, Religious Studies, University of Tübingen, Department of Historical and Cultural Anthropology
  • Niklaus Largier, Switzerland / USA, German Studies, University of Cologne, Department of German Language and Literature I
  • Mark Turner, USA, Cognitive Science, Osnabrück University, Department of English and American Studies
  • Paul Julian Weindling, United Kingdom, History of Science, Leopoldina Study Centre for the History of Science and Academies, Halle (Saale), in conjunction with Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf
  • Jean Winand, Belgium, Egyptology, Heidelberg University, Institute for Egyptology

Potential winners are nominated by their collaborative partners at German universities and research institutuions. Nominations for the next round may be submitted until 30 April 2015.

N.B.: The award ceremony will take place in Leipzig on 15 September 2015. A press invitation will follow.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 26,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 51 Nobel Laureates.


Sebastian Kraußer
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441