18 October 2017, No. 27/2017

Awards for researchers from developing and transition countries

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation grants this year's Georg Forster Research Awards, each valued at €60,000.

Four researchers will receive this year’s Georg Forster Research Awards, which are granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The award targets researchers from developing and transition countries who have earned international recognition for their research work and also seek to solve development-related issues. The award winners are invited to spend time in Germany establishing and building collaboration with colleagues here.

Valued at €60,000 each, the Georg Forster Research Awards are financed by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development ("BMZ").

The award winners and their host institutions in Germany:

Plant scientist Carlos Ballare (58) is a professor at the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina. His research field is the evolutionary ecology of plants and their adaptation to various ecosystems and factors such as light, chemical substances and pathogens. This basic research is of relevance for numerous applications, such as in agriculture. 
Ballare plans to work together with research partners at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena.

The materials scientist Mirabbos Hojamberdiev (39) from Uzbekistan conducts research at Turin Polytechnic University in Tashkent. He works on methods and materials for efficient water splitting using sunlight. The findings from this work are important for the generation of energy from renewable sources and for applications in the environmental engineering field. His basic research could make vital contributions to the operation of large solar power systems that are to be build in Uzbekistan in the next few years. 
In Germany, Hojamberdiev is collaborating with colleagues at Technische Universität Berlin.

Fernando Daniel Stefani (41) is a professor of physics at the University of Buenos Aires in Argentina and an expert in the optical detection of single molecules and the use of plasmonics to control the excitation state of individual molecules. His work sheds light on the functioning of a wide range of molecular systems and the control of their chemical interactions, such as for use in quantum information processing, optical microscopy and sensor technology. 
Stefani will collaborate with colleagues at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen.

Hermanus Jacobus Wasserman (48) is a media scientist at the University of Cape Town in Rondebosch, South Africa. He examines journalism and media policy in South Africa in the years since the end of apartheid. His work investigates, for example, the role of the tabloid media and the erosion of journalistic standards, and the influence exerted by Chinese media in South Africa. 
During his time as a guest researcher, Wasserman will work together with colleagues at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich).

The Humboldt Foundation is currently accepting nominations for the next round of the Georg Forster Research Award. The closing date is 31 October 2017.

This research award is named after the naturalist, travel writer and journalist Georg Forster (1754-1794), a friend of Alexander von Humboldt.

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 28,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 55 Nobel Prize winners.


Kristina Güroff
Lena Schnabel
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441