Members of the Selection Committee for the Allocation of International Climate Protection Fellowships

As of May 2017

Information on the composition of the committee

The central instrument for conferring International Climate Protection Fellowships is an interdisciplinary selection committee.


The members are assigned certain applications, on which they report back in writing. All decisions are discussed and taken jointly by the interdisciplinary committee; the Foundation’s Board of Trustees must approve the committee’s choices for the bestowal of International Climate Protection Fellowships.

The selection committee is composed of:

  • specialist members: recognised researchers of various disciplines as well as individuals who, due to their background and personal qualifications, are particularly well suited to assess young leaders and their potential as mediators and multipliers in the broader field of climate protection and resource conservation (= specialist selection committee members)
  • non-specialist members: voting representatives of the public funder as well as of other science (funding) organisations.

This composition ensures the necessary scientific expertise to review applications, complemented by institutional expertise on strategic-structural aspects.

The total number and the representation of disciplines by experts on the committees is based on the average number and subject representation of the applications received. The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s choice of expert committee members forms the basis for recognising and selecting excellence in its sponsorship programmes. The selection of specialist selection committee members is, therefore, a core process at the Foundation that seeks to identify the finest scientific minds. The Selection Department takes great care to regularly include domestic and international researchers on its committees who are new to the Foundation’s broader network in order to remain open to new perspectives and angles.

For each new appointment or replacement, the Foundation consults numerous experts as well as representatives of science organisations to draw up a shortlist. Scientific excellence is a basic prerequisite for a candidate to be considered. Other core prerequisites are:

  • international contacts and experience, as possible extended academic professional activity abroad
  • broad scientific or practical expertise in the field of climate protection and resource conservation
  • willingness and ability to engage in interdisciplinary discourse
  • willingness to actively support the work of the Humboldt Foundation
  • sufficient availability.

The following additional aspects are also considered when appointing committee members:

  • gender and age balance
  • balanced regional representation
  • complementing existing expertise on the committee

The decision to appoint a new member and, if necessary, the order in which candidates are shortlisted, is taken by the President of the Foundation in his capacity as President of the Board of Trustees; the Board of Trustees approves the appointment for an initial term of three years, which can be renewed twice.


Professor Dr. François Claude Buscot
Department Bodenökologie, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung, Halle (Saale)
(Proxy: Dr. Imme Scholz)

Specialist Committee Members

  • Professor Dr. Felicia O. Akinyemi
    Faculty of Science, Department of Environmental Science, Botswana International University of Science and Technology (BIUST), Palapye, Botsuana
  • Professor Dr. François Claude Buscot
    Department Bodenökologie, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung, Halle (Saale)
  • Professor Dr. Amita Chandra
    Department of Physics and Astrophysics, University of Delhi, New Delhi, India
  • Dr. Luis W. Daessle Heuser
    Instituto de Investigaciones Oceanologicas, Universidad Autonoma de Baja California, Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
  • Professor Dr. Olanike Deji
    Faculty of Agriculture, Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
  • Professor Dr. Masresha Fetene
    Faculty of Science, Department of Biology, Addis Ababa University, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Professor Dr. Gernot Klepper
    Institut für Weltwirtschaft an der Universität Kiel (IfW)
  • Professor Dr. Joseph H. Lee
    Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Hong Kong University of Science an Technology, Hong Kong, China
  • Professor Dr. Jörg Matschullat
    Interdisziplinäres Ökologisches Zentrum, Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg
  • Professor Dr. Alvaro Rojas Marin
    Facultad de Ciencias Agrarias, Universidad de Talca, Talca, Chile
  • Dr. Imme Scholz
    Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik, Bonn
    Fachgebiet: Soziologie der Entwicklungsländer
  • Professor Dr. Thomas Schomerus
    Institut für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg
  • Professor Dr. Bjorn B. Stevens
    Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg
  • Professor Dr. Holm Tiessen
    Inter-American Institute for Global Change Research, Montevideo, Uruguay
  • Professor Dr. Martin Zimmer
    Leibniz-Zentrum für Marine Tropenökologie (ZMT) GmbH, Bremen

 Non-specialist non-Voting Committee Members

  • Dr. Enno Aufderheide
    Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung

Non-specialist Voting Committee Members

  • Berthold Breid
    Renewables Academy AG, Berlin
  • Stephan Contius
    Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB), Berlin
  • Dr. Anna Görner
    Centre for Postgraduate Studies of Environmental Management,
    Technische Universität Dresden
  • Professor Dr. Markus Große Ophoff
    Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt, Osnabrück
  • Dr. Joachim Hein
    Abteilung Klima und nachhaltige Entwicklung, Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie e.V. (BDI), Berlin
  • Dr. Bernd Markus Liss
    Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Eschborn
  • Dr. Gisela Schneider
    Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst, Bonn


Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Selection Department
Jean-Paul-Str. 12
53173 Bonn, Germany

Fax: 0228-833 212