Sofja Kovalevskaja Award 2006 - Award Winners

Jens Bredenbeck

Spectroscopy

Molecule dynamics - mainspring of chemistry and biology
Elementary vital functions, chemical reactions, the behaviour of substances in our environment - the driving force behind all of these phenomena is the movement of molecules. Molecules interact and change their structure, sometimes slowly, sometimes at incredible speed. Jens Bredenbeck is developing new measuring techniques which can keep up with the molecules' pace. Multidimensional infrared spectroscopy is the name given to the method which measures molecular motion with ultrashort infrared laser pulses. This molecular motion detector should help us to understand what important processes on the molecular level look like in real time, such as how biomolecules fold themselves into the right structure and how they fulfil their vitally important tasks. 

Host Institute: Frankfurt a.M. University, Institute of Biophysics
Host: Prof. Dr. Josef Wachtveitl

  • Jens BredenbeckDr. Jens Bredenbeck,
    born in Germany in 1975, studied chemistry at Darmstadt Technical University, Göttingen University and Zürich University, Switzerland, where he completed his doctorate at the Institute of Physical Chemistry in 2005. He is currently continuing his research at the FOM Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics in Amsterdam, Netherlands.

Jure Demsar

Solid State Physics

New impulse for developing usable superconductors
Greenhouse gases, climate change and rising prices - the consequences of our use of energy are onerous. The idea that it might be possible to conduct electrical current without loss, to transform it and use it in engines - in a completely new way - sounds rather like a fairytale. Precisely this, however, i.e. the superconductivity of certain materials, has long since become reality. But only in the lab. Problems with the materials as well as the low temperatures required make it difficult to transform the new superconductors into usable electricity conductors. Thus, Jure Demsar is investigating novel so-called strongly-correlated high temperature superconductors. With the aid of ultrafast laser pulses he is observing in real time how electrons and other excitations behave and interact in this highly correlated superconducting state, and drawing inferences for optimising the material. The dream of loss-free conductors and other new electronic applications could move a step closer thanks to superconductivity research. 

Host Institute: Konstanz University, Department of Physics, Modern Optics and Photonics 
Host: Prof. Dr. Thomas Dekorsy

  • Jure DemsarDr. Jure Demsar,
    born in Slovenia in 1970, studied physics at Ljubljana University, where he took his doctorate in 2000. He continued his research in Ljubljana at the Jo¿ef Stefan Institute, in the Complex Matter Department, before receiving a two-year fellowship to research at the Los Alamos National Laboratory in the United States. Since then, Demsar has been working at the Jo¿ef Stefan Institute where he attained his professorial qualification (Habilitation) in 2005.

Felix Engel

Cell biology

Hearts that heal themselves
The human heart is a unique organ in the true sense of the word: adult heart cells are unable to divide. If they die off as a result of a heart attack, for instance, the tissue cannot rebuild itself. Felix Engel is searching for a way of encouraging adult heart cells to divide - a capacity inherent in youthful cells, but one which they lose shortly after birth. As Felix Engel and his colleagues discovered, responsibility for this lies with a protein. If it is blocked, the cell regains its capacity to divide. What has worked in experiments on animals is now supposed to be used to treat humans successfully and thus be developed as an alternative to the controversial treatment with stem cells. 

Host Institute: Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim
Host: Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun

  • Felix EngelDr. Felix Engel,
    born in Germany in 1971, previously worked at the Children's Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Boston. Engel studied biotechnology at Berlin Technical University and completed his doctorate there in 2001 after working on his thesis externally at the Max Delbrück Centre for Molecular Medicine in Berlin.

Natalia Filatkina

Historical Philology

Vom Kerbholz zur Datenbank 
What did the German expression, einen blauen Mantel umhängen, mean in the Middle Ages? What is a tally stick, what has it got to do with committing a criminal offence and how does it come about that this term is still used in the same context in modern German? These are the questions being answered by Natalia Filatkina who is investigating the history of such formulaic figures of speech in German. These so-called phraseologisms are, after all, a salient feature of all languages and essential for understanding them. What are the social, historical and cultural phenomena underlying these ancient phraseologisms? What conclusions can be drawn for modern language? So far, there have only been fragmentary investigations in this field. In her pioneering work, which is combining historical philology with the international technologies of markup languages, Natalia Filatkina is preparing an electronic body of texts from the 8th to the 17th centuries and interpreting them according to modern linguistic criteria. In this way, a data base is being created that will bring a part of cultural history nearer not only to an interdisciplinary circle of experts but also to a broad non-academic public and will generate new knowledge for the present day. 

Host Institute: Trier University, Department of German, Older German Philology  
Host: Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin

  • Natalia FilatkinaDr. Natalia Filatkina,
    born in the Russian Federation in 1975, studied at the Moscow State Linguistic University, the Humboldt University Berlin on a DAAD scholarship, the University of Luxembourg, and Bamberg University where she took her doctorate in 2003. Her dissertation on the Luxembourg language was awarded the Prix d'encouragement for young researchers by the University of Luxembourg. She is working in the field of Older German Philology in the Department of German at Trier University.

Olga Holtz

Numerical Analysis

The way out of the data jungle
Whether you are looking at the handling and flying qualities of the new Airbus, developing a new drug to combat Aids or designing the ideal underground timetable for a city with more than a million inhabitants - at some time or other you will have to do some complicated computations. The amount of data computers have to cope with is extremely large, we are talking in terms of millions of equations and unknowns, and they only have a finite number of digits for representing a number. In order to solve this problem using reliable and fast algorithms you need to know as much about computers as mathematics. Olga Holtz is working at the interface of pure and applied mathematics. She is searching for methods which are both fast and reliable - which in this field of applied mathematics is usually a contradiction in terms. Her project, developing a method of matrix multiplication, should provide the solution to a multitude of computational calculations in science and engineering. 

Host Institute: Berlin Technical University, Institute of Mathematics
Host: Prof. Dr. Volker Mehrmann

  • Olga HoltzDr. Olga Holtz,
    born in the Russian Federation in 1973, studied applied mathematics in her own country at the Chelyabinsk State Technical University and at the University of Wisconsin Madison in the United States, where she received a doctorate in mathematics in 2000 and subsequently continued her research in the Department of Computer Sciences. She was a Humboldt Research Fellow at Berlin Technical University before being appointed to the University of California, Berkeley, where she has been working ever since.

Reinhard Kienberger

Electron and Quantum Optics

Using x-ray flashes to visualise inconceivable speed
If you want to observe and understand how chemical bonds evolve, how electrons move in semi-conductors or how light is turned into chemical energy through photosynthesis, you have to be pretty fast, because in these chemical, atomic or biological processes we are dealing with fractions of a second, so-called attoseconds, which last no longer than a trillionth of a second. Reinhard Kienberger has significantly contributed to developing observation methods which use ultra fast, intensive x-ray flashes on the attosecond scale to visualise and, in future maybe even to be able to control what has so far been unobservable. Novel lasers based on ultraviolet light or x-rays as well as improved radiation therapies in medicine are just a few of the possible future applications ensuing from the young discipline of attosecond research. 

Host Institute: Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Laboratory for Attosecond and High-Field Physics, Garching, near Munich 
Host: Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz

  • Reinhard Kienberger Dr. Reinhard Kienberger,
    studied at Vienna Technical University, Austria, and completed his doctorate there with a dissertation on quantum mechanics in 2002. He subsequently became a fellow of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, researching at Stanford University's Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Menlo Park in California. He is currently working at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching.

Marga Cornelia Lensen

Macromolecular Chemistry

Turning to nature: made-to-measure hydrogels for medical systems
If the first thing you associate with a happy baby is a dry nappy, it probably does not occur to you that both the parents and the baby actually have the blessings of biomaterial research to thank for this satisfactory state of affairs. The reason for this is that nappies and other hygiene products for absorbing moisture contain the magic anti-moisture ingredients known as hydrogels. These are three-dimensional polymer networks which can store many times their own weight in water and release it again. Humans have copied this principle from nature where hydrogels proliferate, in plants for instance. But hydrogels have much greater potential than this, for example in bioresearch or medicine. They might release doses of drugs in the body or act as sensors. They might also be used as artificial muscles or to bond natural tissue with artificial implants. This would require gels with properties made-to-measure through utilising nanotechnology. To lay the foundations for this, Marga Cornelia Lensen is investigating ways of changing the structure of the gels and how they interact with cells. Consequently, one of the things she is going to do is to use novel nanoimprint technology, which, so far, has largely been tested on hard material, to structure hydrogels and insert them as carriers for experiments on living cells. 

Host Institute: RWTH Aachen, German Wool Research Institute
Host: Prof. Dr. Martin Möller

  • Marga Cornelia LensenDr. Marga Cornelia Lensen,
    born in the Netherlands in 1977, studied chemistry at Wageningen University and at Radboud University Nijmegen, where she took her doctorate in 2005. As a Humboldt Research Fellow she has been working at her host institute at RWTH Aachen, where she will continue her research as a Kovalevskaja Award Winner, since October 2005.

Martin Lövden

Developmental Psychology

Tracking down the secret of life-long learning
In our aging societies in Europe, the idea of life-long learning has gained a special relevance. But although the learning ability of young brains is considerable and has been well researched, there are not many studies on the reasons for the deterioration of learning ability in old age and how to deal with it. Martin Lövden is investigating the neurochemical, neuroanatomical and neurofunctional conditions for successful learning in old age and the consequences for everyday life. To this end, he uses neuroimaging methods, such as functional resonance imaging and resonance spectroscopy, by which he can observe the brains of old and young test subjects during memory training in order to track down the neurological secret of successful learning and its limitations in old age. 

Host Institute: Max Planck Institute for Human Development, Research Area Lifespan Psychology, Berlin 
Host: Prof. Dr. Ulman Lindenberger

  • Martin LövdenDr. Martin Lövden,
    born in Sweden in 1972, studied psychology at Salzburg University in Austria and at the universities of Lund and Stockholm in Sweden as well as neuroscience at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. He was awarded his doctorate at Stockholm University in 2002. He continued his research at the Saarland University in Saarbrücken and is currently working at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin.

Thomas Misgeld

Neurology

Nerve fibres: the brain's fast wire
In the nervous system information is transported in the form of electrical impulses. To this end, every nerve cell has an appendage, the function of which is similar to that of a telephone cable - the nerve fibres, also called axons. Axons run through the brain and the spinal cord to the switch points at the nerve roots and have a certain capacity for learning. They are able to adapt to new requirements. Not a lot is known about how this adaptation functions and how axons protect themselves against damage. So, Thomas Misgeld is investigating the axons of living mice using high resolution microscopy. He wants to discover how nerve fibres are nourished, adapted and maintain their efficiency in a healthy organism. This basic information could lead to the development of new therapies for diseases like multiple sclerosis or for spinal cord injuries. 

Host Institute: Munich Technical University, Institute of Neurosciences
Host: Prof. Dr. Arthur Konnerth

  • Thomas MisgeldDr. Thomas Misgeld,
    born in Germany in 1971, studied medicine at Munich Technical University where he completed his doctorate in 1999. He continued his research in the department of clinical neuroimmunology at the Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology in Martinsried and at Washington University in St. Louis. His most recent position was at Harvard University in Cambridge. In 2005, he was granted the first ever Wyeth Multiple Sclerosis Junior Research Award and the Robert Feulgen Prize by the Society for Histochemistry.

Benjamin Schlein

Mathematical Physics

Seeking evidence in the quantum world
In the first half of the 20th century, when physicists observed that new properties were revealed by light interacting with material, classical physics reached its limits. It was the birth of quantum mechanics, the principles of which are part of common knowledge in physics nowadays, such as the fact that material particles exhibit waves, just like light. This is a principle used in modern electron microscopes. One of the main pillars of quantum mechanics is the Schrödinger equation which, to this day, has been very successful in predicting experiments. But when it comes to examining macroscopic systems - i.e. systems composed of multitudes of the tiniest particles - the amount of data is so enormous that even the most modern computers are not powerful enough to solve the Schrödinger equation. Benjamin Schlein is trying to develop mathematical methods which will make it possible to derive simpler equations to describe the dynamics of macroscopic systems. He wants to create a solid mathematical basis on which to assess and develop further applications in quantum mechanics. 

Host Institute: Munich University, Institute of Mathematics  
Host: Prof. Dr. Laszlo Erdös

  • Benjamin SchleinDr. Benjamin Schlein,
    born in Switzerland in 1975, studied theoretical physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich and completed his doctorate there with a dissertation on mathematical physics in 2002. He subsequently continued his research in the United States, at the universities of New York, Stanford, Harvard and California in Davis.

Taolei Sun

Medical Biochemistry

Novel biocompatible materials for medical systems
"Surfaces are a creation of the devil", the famous physicist and Nobel Prize Winner, Wolfgang Pauli, once remarked when he realised how much more complex the surfaces of materials were than their massive substance. Many technical, indeed everyday applications depend on the properties of material surfaces and their interactions, which is especially important in the biomedical fields. Just consider the surfaces of artificial joints and other implants, or artificial access to the human bloodstream in intensive medicine or cancer treatment. All of them have to get along really well with the surfaces of human tissue or human cells. Taolei Sun is working on biocompatible, artificial implants and medical devices, combining modern nanotechnology with chemical surface modification. His aim is to use nanostructured polymeric surfaces with special wettability as a platform for the emergence of a new generation of biocompatible materials. 

Host Institute: Universität Münster, Physikalisches Institut
Host: Prof. Dr. Harald Fuchs

  • Taolei SunDr. Taolei Sun,
    born in China in 1974, studied at Wuhan University and at the Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry in the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing, where he took his doctorate in 2002, and then continued his research. He subsequently worked at the National Center for Nanosciences and Technology of China in Beijing before becoming a Humboldt Research Fellow in the Institute of Physics at Münster University where he will now carry out research as a Kovalevskaja Award Winner.

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Press, Communications
and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of Press,
Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis 2006 - Die Preisträger

Jens Bredenbeck

Spektroskopie

Moleküldynamik – Triebfeder von Chemie und Biologie
Elementare Lebensprozesse, chemische Reaktionen, das Verhalten von Substanzen in unserer Umwelt – hinter all diesen Phänomenen steckt die Bewegung der Moleküle als treibende Kraft. Moleküle interagieren und ändern ihre Struktur mal langsamer, mal mit unvorstellbarer Geschwindigkeit. Jens Bredenbeck entwickelt neue Messtechniken, die mit dem Tempo der Moleküle Schritt halten können. Multidimensionale Infrarotspektroskopie nennt sich diese Methode, die mit ultrakurzen Infrarotlaserpulsen die molekularen Bewegungen misst. Dieser molekulare Bewegungsmelder soll verstehen helfen, wie sich wichtige Prozesse auf der Ebene der Moleküle in Echtzeit abspielen. Beispielsweise, wie sich Biomoleküle in die richtige Struktur falten und ihre lebenswichtigen Aufgaben erfüllen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Frankfurt am Main, Institut für Biophysik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Josef Wachtveitl

  • Jens BredenbeckDr. Jens Bredenbeck,
    geboren 1975 in Deutschland, studierte Chemie an der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt, der Universität Göttingen und der Universität Zürich, wo er 2005 am Physikalisch-Chemischen Institut promoviert wurde. Derzeit forscht er am FOM-Institut für Atom- und Molekülphysik in Amsterdam.

Jure Demsar

Festkörperphysik

Neuer Impuls für die Entwicklung praxistauglicher Supraleiter
Treibhausgase, Klimawandel und steigende Preise – die Folgen unseres Energieverbrauchs sind drückend. Die Vorstellung, elektrischen Strom – ganz anders als bislang – verlustfrei durch Leitungen zu transportieren, in Trafos umzuwandeln und in Motoren zu nutzen, erscheint da märchenhaft. Doch genau dies, nämlich die Supraleitfähigkeit bestimmter Materialien, ist längst Realität. Allerdings nur im Labor. Probleme mit den Materialien sowie d ie erforderlichen niedrigen Temperaturen machen es schwierig, die neuen Supraleiter in praxistaugliche Stromleiter zu verwandeln. Jure Demsar erforscht deshalb sogenannte stark korrelierte Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter. Mit Hilfe ultraschneller Laserimpulse beobachtet er in Echtzeit, wie sich Elektronen und andere Teilchen im Zustand der Supraleitfähigkeit verhalten und interagieren, und zieht Rückschlüsse auf die Optimierung des Materials. Dem Traum von verlustfreien Stromleitungen und weiteren neuen elektronischen Anwendungen könnte die Supraleiterforschung so einen Schritt näher kommen.

Gastinstitut: Universität Konstanz, Fachbereich Physik, Moderne Optik und Photonik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Thomas Dekorsy

  • Jure DemsarDr. Jure Demsar,
    geboren 1970 in Slowenien,studierte Physik an der Universität Ljubljana, wo er 2000 promoviert wurde. In Ljubljana forschte er am Jozef Stefan Institute in der Abteilung für Komplexe Materie, bevor er für zwei Jahre als Stipendiat des Los Alamos National Laboratory in den Vereinigten Staaten forschte. Demsar habilitierte sich 2005 am Jozef Stefan Institute, wo er bislang tätig war.

Felix Engel

Zellbiologie

Herzen, die sich selber heilen
Das Herz des Menschen ist ein im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes einmaliges Organ: erwachsene Herzzellen können sich nicht mehr teilen. Sterben sie etwa durch einen Herzinfarkt ab, kann sich das Gewebe nicht mehr erneuern. Felix Engel sucht nach einem Weg, wie erwachsene Herzzellen wieder zur Teilung gebracht werden können – eine Eigenschaft, über die sie in ihrer Jugend noch verfügen, kurz nach der Geburt des Menschen aber schnell verlieren. Verantwortlich hierfür ist ein Protein, wie Felix Engel und seine Kollegen entdeckten. Blockiert man es, erlangt die Zelle wieder die Fähigkeit, sich zu teilen. Was im Tierversuch funktioniert, soll nun zur erfolgreichen Therapie am Menschen und damit als Alternative zur umstrittenen Behandlung mit Stammzellen entwickelt werden.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Herz- und Lungenforschung, Bad Nauheim
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun

  • Felix EngelDr. Felix Engel,
    geboren 1971 in Deutschland, arbeitete zuletzt am Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School in Boston. Engel studierte Biotechnologie an der Technischen Universität in Berlin, wo er 2001 nach externer Doktorarbeit am Max-Delbrück-Zentrum für molekulare Medizin in Berlin promoviert wurde.

Natalia Filatkina

Historische Sprachwissenschaft

Vom Kerbholz zur Datenbank
Was bedeutete im Mittelalter die Redewendung einen blauen Mantel umhängen? Was ist ein Kerbholz, was hat es mit dem Begehen einer Straftat zu tun und wieso benutzen wir dieses Wort noch heute im gleichen Zusammenhang? Diese Fragen beantwortet Natalia Filatkina, die die Geschichte solcher formelhafter Redewendungen im Deutschen untersucht, die als sogenannte Phraseologismen in jeder Sprache allgegenwärtig und für das Verstehen unverzichtbar sind. Welche sozialen, historischen, und kulturellen Phänomene liegen den älteren Phraseologismen zugrunde? Welche Schlüsse lassen sich auf die moderne Sprache ziehen? Hierzu gibt es bislang nur fragmentarische Untersuchungen. Bei ihrer Pionierarbeit, die die Historische Sprachwissenschaft mit den internationalen Technologien der metasprachlichen Auszeichnung von Daten vereinigt, erstellt Natalia Filatkina ein elektronisches Korpus mit Texten aus dem 8. bis 17. Jahrhundert und interpretiert sie nach den modernsten linguistischen Kriterien. So entsteht eine Datenbank, die einem interdisziplinären Expertenkreis, aber auch einem breiten nicht-wissenschaftlichen Publikum ein Teil Kulturgeschichte näher bringt und neue Erkenntnisse für die Gegenwart ermöglicht.

Gastinstitut: Universität Trier, Fachbereich Germanistik, Ältere Deutsche Philologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Claudine Moulin

  • Natalia FilatkinaDr. Natalia Filatkina,
    geboren 1975 in der Russischen Föderation, studierte an der Staatlichen Linguistischen Universität Moskau, als DAAD-Stipendiatin an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin, an der Université du Luxembourg sowie der Universität Bamberg, wo sie 2003 promoviert wurde. Ihre Dissertation zur luxemburgischen Sprache wurde von der Université du Luxembourg mit dem Prix d’encouragement ausgezeichnet. Sie ist im Fachbereich Germanistik, Ältere deutsche Philologie der Universität Trier tätig.

Olga Holtz

Numerische Analysis

Ausweg aus dem Datendschungel
Ob es um die Flugeigenschaften des neuen Airbus, um die Entwicklung eines neuen Aidsmedikaments oder um einen optimalen U-Bahnfahrplan für eine Millionenstadt geht – irgendwann muss eine komplizierte Rechenleistung gemeistert werden. Die Datenmengen sind äußerst groß, es geht um Millionen von Gleichungen und Unbekannten, die mit Computern gelöst werden müssen, die nur eine beschränkte Anzahl von Stellen haben, mit der sie eine Zahl darstellen können. Um das Problem mit verlässlichen und schnellen Algorithmen zu lösen, braucht man gleichermaßen Expertise über Computer wie in Mathematik. Olga Holtz arbeitet an dieser Schnittstelle von reiner und angewandter Mathematik. Sie sucht Methoden, die sowohl schnell als auch verlässlich sind – in diesem Feld der angewandten Mathematik ein oft nur schwer vereinbarer Gegensatz. Ihr Projekt, die Entwicklung einer Methode zur Matrix-Multiplikation, soll die Lösung für viele Computerberechnungen in Wissenschaft und Ingenieurwesen bringen.

Gastinstitut: Technische Universität Berlin, Institut für Mathematik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Volker Mehrmann

  • Olga HoltzDr. Olga Holtz,
    geboren 1973 in der Russischen Föderation, studierte in ihrer Heimat Angewandte Mathematik an der Staatlichen Technischen Universität Tscheljabinsk sowie an der University of Wisconsin Madison in den Vereinigten Staaten, wo sie 2000 im Fach Mathematik promoviert wurde und anschließend am Institut für Computerwissenschaften forschte. Als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiatin war sie an der Technischen Universität Berlin, bevor sie an die University of California in Berkeley berufen wurde, wo sie zuletzt tätig war.
Olga HoltzFilm ansehen (Flash)

Download QT, 19,5 MB
Ein Filmporträt des Deutsche Welle TV

Reinhard Kienberger

Elektronen-, Quantenoptik

Mit Röntgenblitzen das unfassbar Schnelle sichtbar machen
Wer beobachten und verstehen will, wie chemische Bindungen entstehen, wie sich Elektronen in Halbleitern bewegen oder wie bei der Photosynthese Licht zu chemischer Energie wird, muss sehr schnell sein. Denn bei diesen chemischen, atomaren oder biologischen Prozessen geht es um Bruchteile von Sekunden – um sogenannte Attosekunden von der Dauer einer Trillionstel Sekunde. Reinhard Kienberger hat wesentlich zur Entwicklung von Beobachtungsverfahren beigetragen, die mit ultraschnellen und intensiven Röntgenlichtblitzen im Attosekundenbereich das bislang nicht Beobachtbare sichtbar und künftig vielleicht sogar steuerbar machen. Neuartige Laser auf der Basis ultravioletten Lichts oder von Röntgenstrahlen sowie verbesserte Strahlentherapien in der Medizin sind nur einige der möglichen künftigen Anwendungen aus dieser jungen Disziplin der Attosekundenforschung.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Labor für Attosekunden- und Hochfeldphysik, Garching bei München
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Ferenc Krausz

  • Reinhard Kienberger Dr. Reinhard Kienberger,
    geboren 1971 in Österreich, studierte an der Technischen Universität Wien und wurde dort 2002 mit einer Arbeit zur Quantenmechanik promoviert. Danach forschte er als Stipendiat der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften an der Stanford University am Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, Menlo Park in Kalifornien. Derzeit ist er am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik in Garching tätig.

Marga Cornelia Lensen

Makromolekulare Chemie

Der Natur abgeschaut: maßgeschneiderte Hydrogele für die Medizin
Wer bei glücklichen Babys zuerst an trockene Windeln denkt, weiß oft nicht, dass sich dieser für Eltern wie Nachwuchs erfreuliche Zustand den Segnungen der Biomaterialforschung verdankt. Denn Windeln und andere Flüssigkeiten aufnehmende Hygieneprodukte enthalten als Zaubermittel gegen Feuchtigkeit sogenannte Hydrogele. Das sind dreidimensionale Polymernetzwerke, die ein Vielfaches ihres Eigengewichts an Wasser speichern und wieder abgeben können. Abgeschaut hat sich der Mensch das Prinzip von der Natur, in der Hydrogele weit verbreitet sind, beispielsweise in Pflanzen. Aber Hydrogele haben ein viel größeres Potenzial, etwa für die Bioforschung oder die Medizin. So könnten sie Arzneien im Körper dosiert freisetzen oder als Sensoren dienen. Auch der Einsatz als künstliche Muskeln oder die Verbindung von menschlichem Gewebe mit künstlichen Implantaten sind denkbar. Erforderlich wären dafür Gele mit jeweils nanotechnisch maßgeschneiderten Eigenschaften. Um die Basis hierfür zu schaffen, erforscht Marga Cornelia Lensen, wie man die Struktur der Gele verändern kann und wie sie mit Zellen interagieren. Hierzu wird sie unter anderem mit der neuartigen und bislang meist an harten Materialen erprobten Nanoimprinttechnik Hydrogele strukturieren und als Träger für Experimente mit lebenden Zellen einsetzen.

Gastinstitut: RWTH Aachen, Deutsches Wollinstitut
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Martin Möller

  • Marga Cornelia LensenDr. Marga Cornelia Lensen,
    geboren 1977 in den Niederlanden,studierte Chemie an der Universität Wageningen und der Katholischen Universität Nijmegen, wo sie 2005 promoviert wurde. Als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiatin ist sie seit Oktober 2005 an ihrem Gastinstitut an der RWTH Aachen, an dem Sie auch als Kovalevskaja-Preisträgerin arbeiten wird.

Martin Lövden

Entwicklungspsychologie

Dem Erfolgsgeheimnis für lebenslanges Lernen auf der Spur
Mehr denn je gilt in den alternden Gesellschaften Europas die Devise des lebenslangen Lernens. Doch während die Lernfähigkeit des jugendlichen Gehirns ausgeprägt und sehr gut erforscht ist, gibt es wenige Untersuchungen über die Gründe für die nachlassende Lernfähigkeit im Alter und wie sich ihr begegnen lässt. Martin Lövden erforscht die neurochemischen, neuroanatomischen und neurofunktionalen Bedingungen für ein erfolgreiches Lernen im Alter und die Konsequenzen für das alltägliche Leben. Hierzu benutzt er bildgebende Verfahren wie die funktionale Kernspintomographie oder die Resonanzspektroskopie, mit denen er den Gehirnen alter und junger Probanden beim Gedächtnistraining zusieht, um so dem neurologischen Erfolgsgeheimnis des Lernens und seinen Grenzen im Alter auf die Spur zu kommen.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung, Forschungsbereich Entwicklungspsychologie, Berlin
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Ulman Lindenberger

  • Martin LövdenDr. Martin Lövden,
    geboren 1972 in Schweden, studierte Psychologie an der Universität Salzburg in Österreich und in Schweden an den Universitäten Lund und Stockholm sowie Neurowissenschaften an dem Karolinska-Institut in Stockholm. Im Jahr 2002 wurde er an der Universität Stockholm promoviert. Danach forschte er an der Universität des Saarlandes in Saarbrücken. Derzeit ist er am Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung in Berlin tätig.

Thomas Misgeld

Neurologie

Nervenfasern: der schnelle Draht im Gehirn
Im Nervensystem werden Informationen in Form elektrischer Impulse übertragen. Hierzu verfügt jede Nervenzelle über einen Fortsatz, den man sich in seiner Funktion wie ein Telefonkabel vorstellen kann – die Nervenfaser, auch Axon genannt. Die Axone führen durch Gehirn und Rückenmark zu den Schaltstellen der Nervenwurzeln und sind in gewisser Weise lernfähig. So können sie sich neuen Anforderungen anpassen. Wie diese Anpassungen funktionieren und wie sich Axone gegen Beschädigungen schützen, ist bislang wenig bekannt. Thomas Misgeld untersucht deshalb mit hochauflösenden Mikroskopen die Axone lebender Mäuse. Er will herausfinden, wie Nervenfasern im gesunden Organismus ernährt, angepasst und leistungsfähig gehalten werden. Aus diesen Grundlagenkenntnissen könnten neue Therapien für Krankheiten wie Multiple Sklerose oder Rückenmarksverletzungen entstehen.

Gastinstitut: Technische Universität München, Institut für Neurowissenschaften
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Arthur Konnerth

  • Thomas MisgeldDr. Thomas Misgeld,
    geboren 1971 in Deutschland, studierte Medizin an der Technischen Universität München, wo er 1999 promoviert wurde. Er forschte in der Abteilung für klinische Neuroimmunologie am Max-Planck-Institut für Neurobiologie in Martinsried sowie an der Washington University in St. Louis. Zuletzt war er an der Harvard University in Cambridge tätig. 2005 erhielt er den zum ersten Mal verliehenen Wyeth Nachwuchspreis Multiple Sklerose sowie den Robert-Feulgen-Preis der Gesellschaft für Histochemie.

Benjamin Schlein

Mathematische Physik

Auf der Beweissuche in der Welt der Quanten
Als in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts Physiker neuartige Eigenschaften beobachteten, die das Licht zeigt, wenn es mit Materie in Wechselwirkung tritt, stieß die klassische Physik an ihre Grenzen. Es war die Geburtsstunde der Quantenmechanik, deren Erkenntnisse heute vielfach physikalisches Allgemeingut sind, beispielsweise dass auch Materieteilchen Welleneigenschaften zeigen, ganz so wie das Licht. Das moderne Elektronenmikroskop etwa nutzt dieses Prinzip. Einer der zentralen Pfeiler der Quantenmechanik ist die Schrödingergleichung, die bis heute in der Vorhersage von Experimenten sehr erfolgreich war. Doch wenn man makroskopische Systeme untersucht – also Systeme, die sich aus sehr vielen kleinsten Teilchen zusammensetzen – ist die Datenmenge so riesig, dass die Rechenleistung der modernsten Computer nicht ausreichen würde, um die Schrödingergleichung zu lösen. Benjamin Schlein versucht, mathematische Methoden zu entwickeln, die zur Herleitung von einfacheren Gleichungen für die Beschreibung der Dynamik von makroskopischen Systemen führen. Er will so eine solide mathematische Basis schaffen, von der aus weitere Anwendungen der Quantenmechanik beurteilt und entwickelt werden können.

Gastinstitut: Universität München, Mathematisches Institut 
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Laszlo Erdös

  • Benjamin SchleinDr. Benjamin Schlein,
    geboren 1975 in der Schweiz, studierte Theoretische Physik an der Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschule (ETH) in Zürich, wo er 2002 mit einer Arbeit zur Mathematischen Physik promoviert wurde. Anschließend forschte er an der New York University, an der Stanford University, an der Harvard University in Cambridge und an der University of California in Davis.

Taolei Sun

Medizinische Biochemie

Neue körperverträgliche Materialien für die Medizin
"Oberflächen sind eine Erfindung des Teufels", sagte der berühmte Physiker und Nobelpreisträger Wolfgang Pauli, als er erkannte, wie viel komplexer die Oberfläche von Materialien ist im Vergleich zu ihrem massiven Kern. Viele technische – auch alltägliche – Anwendungen hängen hiervon ab, vor allem aber solche der Medizin. Man denke an die Oberflächen von künstlichen Gelenken und anderen Implantaten oder an künstliche Zugänge zum Blutkreislauf des Menschen in der Intensivmedizin oder bei der Krebsbehandlung. Sie alle müssen sich mit den Oberflächen menschlichen Gewebes oder menschlicher Zellen gut vertragen. Taolei Sun erforscht biokompatible künstliche Blutgefäße und verbindet hierfür moderne Nanotechnik mit chemischer Oberflächenmodifikation. Sein Ziel sind hydrophobe polymere Oberflächen, aus denen eine neue Generation körperverträglicher Materialien entstehen kann.

Gastinstitut: Universität Münster, Physikalisches Institut
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Harald Fuchs

  • Taolei SunDr. Taolei Sun,
    geboren 1974 in China,studierte an der Universität in Wuhan und am Technischen Institut für Physik und Chemie der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Peking, wo er 2002 promoviert wurde und anschließend forschte. Danach arbeitete er am National Center for Nanosciences and Technology of China in Peking. Danach kam er als Humboldt-Forschungsstipendiat an das Physikalische Institut der Universität Münster, wo er nun auch als Kovalevskaja-Preisträger forschen wird.

Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Kerstin Schweichhart
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144/257
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de