Sofja Kovalevskaja Award 2015 - Award Winners

Rikkert Frederix

Elementary Particle Physics

The big particle puzzle
What holds the world together in its innermost self? This is the question that drives elementary particle physicists to investigate the tiniest basic building blocks of matter, the ones that can be broken down no further. The search for new particles is often compared with the search for a needle in a haystack: in the course of experiments at the world’s largest particle accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) at the European Centre for Particle Physics (CERN), some billions of particle collisions are observed which produce yet more new particles. In order to evaluate these experiments, highly-precise theoretical calculations and simulations of the kind developed by the elementary particle physicist Rikkert Frederix are required. One of his specialisms is calculating complex scattering processes which occur during collisions in particle accelerators, focussing particularly on the automation of these calculations. He has helped to develop procedures and computer codes that have already become standard tools for particle physicists worldwide – not least for analysing the data generated by the LHC at CERN.

Host institute: Technische Universität München
Host: Professor Dr Martin Beneke

Rikkert Frederix
Photo: TUM/
Andreas Heddergott
  • Dr Rikkert Frederix
    was born in the Netherlands in 1982 and studied physics in Utrecht and Amsterdam. In 2005, he moved to the Centre for Cosmology, Particle Physics and Phenomenology at the Université catholique de Louvain in Belgium where he gained a doctorate in 2009. From 2008 to 2009, Frederix conducted research at CERN in Geneva on the strength of the Marie Curie Programme and from 2009 to 2012, as a postdoc at the University of Zurich. Rikkert Frederix returned to CERN in 2012.

     

     

     

Mikhail Kudryashev

Biophysics/Neurobiology

Investigations on the nanoscale
In biophysics, cryo-electron microscopy now facilitates investigations of unparalleled precision: for this purpose, organisms are cryogenically frozen, which preserves their original state and allows them to be imaged at a resolution of just a few nanometers. The biophysicist Mikhail Kudryashev is seen as one of the leading specialists in this field. He was, for example, the first to sequence the three-dimensional structure of the so-called bacterial injectisomes in the gastrointestinal pathogen Yersinia enterocolitica. Injectisomes involve proteins forming a kind of miniscule needle on the nanoscale that injects the bacteria into the cells. Kudryashev’s research shows that the Yersinia enterocolitica needles are of different lengths and elasticity, presumably allowing the pathogen to adapt to the respective environment and maintain its infection potential. In Frankfurt, Mikhail Kudryashev will focus on structure and function of glutamate NMDA receptors. As the recipients of messenger substances they play a central role in nerve cell communication in the brain and are linked with diseases such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s. Using newly-developed methods of cryo-electron microscopy, Kudryashev will study NMDA receptors to sequence their structural details at the highest degree of precision.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt am Main
Host: Professor Dr Werner Kühlbrandt

Mikhail Kudryashev
Photo: Biozentrum Basel/
Ariane Fecteau-Lefebvre
  • Dr Mikhail Kudryashev
    was born in the USSR in 1983. He initially studied physics at Krasnoyarsk State University, moving to Germany in 2005 where he received his doctorate from Heidelberg University in 2009. In the same year, Mikhail Kudryashev moved to Switzerland to continue his research as a postdoc in the Biocenter at the University of Basel.

     

     

     

     

Karin Lind

Astronomy

Star-light from the newborn universe
Astronomical observation equipment like telescopes and spectrographs are generating ever more, ever better data on our universe. In order to evaluate and decode this data, astronomy also needs appropriate theoretical models. Karin Lind develops such models. The astronomer specialises in new techniques for applying spectral analysis to the surfaces of particularly old stars; she has already solved the so-called 6Li-Problem, for example, which has occupied astronomers for years: until recently, the measurements for the frequency of the lighter lithium isotope in old stars did not correspond with the amounts predicted by the Big Bang theory. Karin Lind was able to prove that previous measurements and analyses were quite simply imprecise and erroneous – there is no discrepancy. In Heidelberg, Lind will concentrate especially on approaches to evaluating data generated by new sky surveys such as ESA’s Gaia Mission and complementary spectroscopic surveys. The Gaia Space Observatory is currently charting a map of the entire Milky Way and is scheduled to record some billion stars in our galaxy. Karin Lind will help to decode these observations and make new discoveries about the origins of our universe.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute for Astronomy, Heidelberg
Host: Professor Dr Hans-Walter Rix

Karin Lind
Photo: private
  • Dr Karin Lind
    was born in Sweden in 1984. From 2003 to 2007, she studied physics and astrophysics at Uppsala University. To complete her doctorate, she moved to Germany, to the International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) on Astrophysics and the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Garching, near Munich. From 2010, she worked in Garching as a postdoc at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. In 2013, Lind spent a year at the Institute of Astronomy in Cambridge before she was granted a Marie Curie Fellowship and continued her research at Uppsala University in Sweden.
 

Ioan M. Pop

Solid State Physics

Superconducting quantum electronics: designing protected quantum bits
Quantum computers, based on the laws of quantum mechanics, promise to launch a new era of faster, more efficient information processing. These laws, however, are very different from those of the classical, macroscopic reality with which we are accustomed. For three decades now, physicists across the world have been exploring the potential use of quantum machines for information processing. During this time, there has been spectacular progress in both the theoretical understanding of quantum information processing and the realization of prototype physical platforms. Superconducting circuits are one of the most promising technologies, one reason being that below a certain temperature they exhibit no electrical resistance. Ioan Pop’s research is geared towards understanding and harnessing quantum mechanical effects in superconducting circuits. One example is the so-called Josephson effect, which describes the flow of current between two superconductors separated by an insulating barrier. At Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Ioan Pop will attempt to develop topologically protected superconducting circuits, based on Josephson junctions, which could take us one step closer to the implementation of large scale quantum information processing.

Host institute: Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Host: Professor Dr Alexey Ustinov

Ioan M. Pop
Photo: Kyle Serniak
  • Dr Ioan M. Pop
    was born in Romania in 1983, and studied physics at Babeș-Bolyai University in Cluj-Napoca from 2002 to 2006. He received a Master’s diploma in material science in 2007, and a Ph. D. in physics in 2011 from the Institut NÉEL, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), and Université Joseph Fourier in Grenoble, France. Since then, he has been working as a postdoctoral researcher at Yale University, USA. He has received several honours, including a fellowship from the French Ministry of Higher Education and Research and the 2012 Thesis Prize awarded by the French Nanoscience Foundation.
 

Clara Saraceno

Laser Physics

Tomorrow’s lasers
Terahertz radiation has long been used in everyday situations: in the case of full-body scanners at airports, electromagnetic waves at a frequency between infrared and microwave penetrate clothing and are reflected by the body. Terahertz scanners that can be used to check letters and parcels for explosives or drugs function similarly. The terahertz waves have no difficultly penetrating materials like paper, wood, plastics and ceramics but, so far, generating the waves has been a complicated process. The physicist Clara Saraceno is trying to use thin-disk femtosecond lasers as a new source of terahertz radiation. She specialises in ultrashort laser physics and has already developed her own femtosecond thin-disk lasers which achieve record performance in their respective power ranges. Saraceno is now going to continue developing her technologies for use in the terahertz range. This should facilitate future novel microscopic applications as well as kinetic measurements and new methods of terahertz spectroscopy.

Host institute: Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Host: Professor Dr Martina Havenith-Newen and Professor Dr Martin Hofmann

Clara Saraceno
Photo: private
  • Dr Clara Saraceno
    was born in Argentina in 1983 and was a student at the Institut d’Optique in Palaiseau, France. After completing her studies she first went into industry from 2007 to 2008, working for a laser manufacturer in the USA. She then continued her academic training in Switzerland, completing a doctorate at ETH Zurich in 2012 which brought her, amongst others, the 2013 QEOD Thesis Prize, awarded by the Electronics and Optics Division of the European Physical Society. Most recently, Saraceno has worked at ETH Zurich and the University of Neuchatel.
 

Zhuang Xiaoying

Technical Mechanics/Engineering Science

Researching tomorrow’s materials
Polymer-matrix composites (PMCs) are widely used in many fields, including electronic devices and semi-conductors. Lighter, stronger and better performance PMCs are crucial for the aerospace, automotive and electronics industries of the future. So far, however, their behaviour and damage tolerance as well as coupled performance, both thermo- and electro-mechanical, have not been studied sufficiently. Zhuang will design, optimise and verify new materials based on computer simulations and experiments. She wants to gain a new understanding of composite materials and facilitate their use for industrial purposes. To this end, she is focussing particularly on the use of nanomaterials.


Host institute: Leibniz University Hannover, Institute of Continuum Mechanics
Host: Professor Dr Peter Wriggers

Zhuang Xiaoying
Photo: private
  • Dr Zhuang Xiaoying
    was born in China in 1983 and studied at Tongji University, Shanghai, from 2001 to 2007. She then pursued her doctoral studies at the University of Durham, United Kingdom, where she completed her Ph.D. in 2010. After a period spent as a postdoc in Norway, she returned to Tongji University early in 2011, initially as a lecturer and, from 2013 to 2014, as an associate professor. Zhuang has received many honours, including the Zienkiewicz Prize for the best PhD thesis in Computational Mechanics and an EU Marie Curie International Incoming Fellowship which enabled her to conduct research at Bauhaus University Weimar.
 


Contact

Nina Hafeneger
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-257/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis 2015 - Die Preisträger

Rikkert Frederix

Elementarteilchenphysik

Das große Teilchenpuzzle
Was hält die Welt im Innersten zusammen? Diese Frage leitet die Elementarteilchenphysik an, die sich mit den kleinsten, nicht weiter zerlegbaren Grundbausteinen unserer Materie befasst. Die Suche nach neuen Teilchen wird dabei häufig mit der Suche nach der Nadel im Heuhaufen verglichen: Bei den Experimenten am weltgrößten Teilchenbeschleuniger Large Hadron Collider (LHC) im Europäischen Teilchenphysikzentrum CERN etwa werden Milliarden von Teilchenkollisionen beobachtet, bei denen wiederum neue Teilchen entstehen. Um diese Versuche auszuwerten, braucht es hochpräzise theoretische Berechnungen und Simulationen, wie sie der Elementarteilchenphysiker Rikkert Frederix entwickelt. Zu seinen Spezialgebieten zählen Berechnungen von komplexen Streuprozessen, zu denen es bei den Kollisionen in Teilchenbeschleunigern kommt. Frederix widmet sich dabei insbesondere der Automatisierung solcher Berechnungen. Von ihm mitentwickelte Verfahren und Computercodes werden heute bereits als Standardwerkzeuge von Teilchenphysikern weltweit genutzt – unter anderem bei der Analyse von Daten des LHC am CERN.

Gastinstitut: Technische Universität München
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Martin Beneke

Rikkert Frederix
Foto: TUM /
Andreas Heddergott
  • Dr. Rikkert Frederix
    1982 in den Niederlanden geboren, studierte in Utrecht und Amsterdam Physik. 2005 wechselte Frederix an das Centre for Cosmology, Particle Physics and Phenomenology der Université catholique de Louvain in Belgien, wo er 2009 promoviert wurde. Von 2008 bis 2009 forschte Frederix mit Förderung aus dem Marie Curie-Programm der EU am CERN in Genf, von 2009 bis 2012 als Postdoktorand an der Universität Zürich. 2012 wechselte Rikkert Frederix erneut ans CERN.

     

     

     

Mikhail Kudryashev

Biophysik/Neurobiologie

Untersuchungen im Nanomaßstab
Die Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie ermöglicht in der Biophysik Untersuchungen mit bislang ungeahnter Genauigkeit: Organismen werden hierbei schockgefrostet, wodurch ihr ursprünglicher Zustand erhalten bleibt und in einer Auflösung von wenigen Nanometern abgebildet werden kann. Der Biophysiker Mikhail Kudryashev gilt als einer der führenden Spezialisten für diese Verfahren. So gelang es ihm etwa, erstmals die räumliche Struktur der sogenannten bakteriellen Injektionsnadeln des Magen-Darm-Erregers Yersinia enterocolitica zu entschlüsseln. Hierbei bilden Proteine eine Art winzige Nadel im Nanomaßstab, mit der die Bakterien Zellen infizieren. Kudryashevs Arbeiten zeigen, dass die Nadeln von Yersinia enterocolitica unterschiedlich lang und dehnbar sind, wodurch sich der Erreger vermutlich den jeweiligen Umweltbedingungen anpasst und sein Infektionspotenzial aufrechterhält. In Frankfurt wird sich Mikhail Kudryashev daneben verstärkt mit Struktur und Funktion von Glutamat-NMDA-Rezeptoren befassen. Als Empfänger von Botenstoffen übernehmen sie bei der Kommunikation der Nervenzellen im Gehirn eine zentrale Rolle und werden mit Erkrankungen wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson in Verbindung gebracht. Kudryashev wird mithilfe neu entwickelter Methoden der Kryo-Elektronenmikroskopie NMDA-Rezeptoren untersuchen, um ihre strukturellen Details in höchster Genauigkeit zu entschlüsseln.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik, Frankfurt am Main
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Werner Kühlbrandt

Mikhail Kudryashev
Foto: Biozentrum Basel/
Ariane Fecteau-Lefebvre
  • Dr. Mikhail Kudryashev
    wurde 1983 in der UdSSR geboren. Er studierte zunächst an der Krasnoyarsk State University Physik und ging 2005 nach Deutschland, wo er 2009 an der Universität Heidelberg promoviert wurde. Anschließend wechselte Mikhail Kudryashev für seine Forschungen in die Schweiz und ist seit 2009 als Postdoktorand am Biozentrum der Universität Basel tätig.

     

     

     

     

Karin Lind

Astronomie

Sternenlicht von den Anfängen des Universums
Beobachtungsinstrumente wie Teleskope oder Spektrografen liefern immer neue und immer bessere Daten über unser Universum. Um diese Daten auszuwerten und zu entschlüsseln, braucht die Astronomie zugleich adäquate theoretische Modelle. Die Astronomin Karin Lind entwickelt solche Modelle. Sie ist auf neue Techniken zur Spektralanalyse von Oberflächen besonders alter Sterne spezialisiert und konnte beispielsweise das so genannte Lithium-Problem lösen, das die Astronomie jahrzehntelang beschäftigt hat: Die gemessene Häufigkeit von leichteren Lithiumisotopen in alten Sternen stand bisher im Widerspruch zu den Mengen, die nach den Vorhersagen der Theorien des Urknalls vorhanden sein dürften. Karin Lind konnte nachweisen, dass die bisherigen Messungen und Analysen schlicht ungenau und fehlerhaft waren – und eine solche Diskrepanz nicht besteht. In Heidelberg wird sich Lind insbesondere mit Ansätzen zur Auswertung von Daten befassen, die bei aktuellen Erkundungsprojekten wie etwa der Gaia-Mission der ESA sowie anderen spektroskopischen Untersuchungen gesammelt werden. Die Raumsonde Gaia kartographiert derzeit den gesamten Himmel und soll dabei rund eine Milliarde Sterne unserer Galaxis erfassen. Karin Lind wird dazu beitragen, diese Beobachtungen zu entschlüsseln und die Ursprünge unseres Universums genauer zu erkunden.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie Heidelberg
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Hans-Walter Rix

Karin Lind
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Karin Lind
    wurde 1984 in Schweden geboren, wo sie von 2003 bis 2007 an der Universität Uppsala Physik und Astrophysik studierte. Für ihre Promotion wechselte Karin Lind anschließend nach Deutschland an die International Max-Planck Research School (IMPRS) on Astrophysics und die Europäische Südsternwarte (ESO) in Garching bei München. In Garching war sie ab 2010 als Postdoktorandin am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik tätig, drei Jahre später ging sie für ein Jahr an das Institut für Astronomie in Cambridge. 2014 wurde Lind ein Marie Curie-Stipendium verliehen, mit dem sie zuletzt wieder an der Universität Uppsala forschte.
 

Ioan M. Pop

Festkörperphysik

Supraleitende Quantenelektronik: Entwicklung geschützter Quantenbits
Der Quantencomputer, der sich die Gesetze der Quantenmechanik zu eigen machen soll, verspricht eine neue Ära der schnelleren und effizienteren Informationsverarbeitung. Doch die Eigenheiten der Quantenwelt unterscheiden sich deutlich von der klassischen Physik, mit der wir bislang vertraut sind. Seit gut drei Jahrzehnten bemühen sich Physiker weltweit, das Potenzial der Quanten zu erschließen und für die Informationsverarbeitung nutzbar zu machen. Während dieser Zeit konnten spektakuläre Fortschritte erzielt werden – sowohl im Hinblick auf das theoretische Verständnis von Quanten-Informationsverarbeitung als auch bei der Herstellung von Prototypen physischer Plattformen. Supraleiter gelten hier als eine der vielversprechendsten Technologien, da sie unterhalb einer bestimmten Temperatur keinen elektrischen Widerstand mehr besitzen. Ioan Pop befasst sich insbesondere damit, quantenmechanische Effekte in supraleitenden Schaltkreisen zu verstehen und nutzbar zu machen. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist der sogenannte Josephson-Effekt, der den Stromfluss zwischen zwei durch eine Barriere voneinander getrennten Supraleitern beschreibt. Am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie wird sich Ioan Pop der Entwicklung topologisch geschützter supraleitender Schaltkreise widmen, die die Quanteninformationsverarbeitung einen weiteren Schritt voranbringen könnten.

Gastinstitut: Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Alexey Ustinov

Ioan M. Pop
Foto: Kyle Serniak
  • Dr. Ioan M. Pop
    1983 in Rumänien geboren, studierte von 2002 bis 2006 Physik an der Universitatea Babeș-Bolyai in Cluj-Napoca, Rumänien. 2007 schloss er sein Masterstudium in Materialwissenschaft ab und absolvierte ein PhD-Studium in Physik am Institut NÉEL, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), und an der Université Joseph Fourier in Grenoble, Frankreich, wo er 2011 promoviert wurde. Seitdem forscht Ioan M. Pop als Postdoktorand an der Yale University in den USA. Pop erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter ein Stipendium des französischen Wissenschaftsministeriums sowie den Thesis Prize 2012 der Fondation Nanosciences in Frankreich.
 

Clara Saraceno

Laserphysik

Laser der Zukunft
Terahertzstrahlung wird längst für das Alltagsleben erprobt: Beim Körperscanner am Flughafen dringen die elektromagnetischen Wellen aus dem Frequenzbereich zwischen Infrarotstrahlen und Mikrowellen durch die Kleidung und werden vom Körper reflektiert. Ähnlich funktionieren Terahertz-Scanner, mit denen Briefe und Pakete auf Sprengstoff oder Drogen überprüft werden können. Die Terahertzwellen dringen problemlos durch Materialien wie Papier, Holz, Kunststoff oder Keramik. Doch bislang ist es mit hohem Aufwand verbunden, diese Wellen zu erzeugen. Die Physikerin Clara Saraceno arbeitet daran, Scheibenlaser als neue Quellen für Terahertzstrahlung einzusetzen. Saracenos Spezialgebiet ist die Ultrakurzzeit-Laserphysik. Sie entwickelte bereits eigene Femtosekunden-Scheibenlaser, die für die jeweiligen Leistungsklassen Rekordwerte erzielen. Ihre Technologien wird Saraceno nun für Nutzungen im Terahertzbereich weiterentwickeln. Dies soll künftig neuartige mikroskopische Anwendungen ebenso ermöglichen wie kinetische Messungen oder neue Methoden der Terahertzspektroskopie.

Gastinstitut: Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Martina Havenith-Newen und Prof. Dr. Martin Hofmann

Clara Saraceno
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Clara Saraceno
    wurde 1983 in Argentinien geboren und studierte in Frankreich am Institut d’Optique in Palaiseau. Nach ihrem Studium wechselte Clara Saraceno zunächst in die Industrie und arbeitete von 2007 bis 2008 bei einem Laserhersteller in den USA. Anschließend setzte sie ihre wissenschaftliche Ausbildung in der Schweiz fort. 2012 legte sie an der ETH Zürich ihre Promotion ab, die unter anderem mit dem QEOD Thesis Prize 2013 der Quantum Electronics and Optics Division der European Physical Society ausgezeichnet wurde. Saraceno forschte zuletzt an der ETH Zürich und der Université de Neuchâtel.
 

Zhuang Xiaoying

Technische Mechanik/Ingenieurswissenschaften

Forschung am Werkstoff von morgen
Polymermatrix-Verbundstoffe (PMC) kommen in den verschiedensten Gebieten zum Einsatz, zum Beispiel bei der Herstellung von elektronischen Geräten und Halbleitern. Bessere, stärkere und leistungsfähigere PMC sind etwa für die Zukunft der Luftfahrt-, Automobil- und Elektroindustrie von entscheidender Bedeutung. Bislang jedoch sind sie im Hinblick auf ihr Materialverhalten und ihre Schadenstoleranz sowie ihre Eigenschaften bei thermo- beziehungsweise elektro-mechanischer Kopplung nicht ausreichend erforscht. Mithilfe von Computersimulationen und Experimenten möchte Zhuang ganz neue Materialen herstellen, optimieren und überprüfen. Auf diese Weise will sie zu einem neuen Verständnis von Verbundwerkstoffen gelangen und damit deren industrielle Nutzung ermöglichen. Dabei setzt sie bei deren Weiterentwicklung vor allen Dingen auf die Verwendung von Nanomaterialien.

Gastinstitut: Universität Hannover, Institut für Kontinuumsmechanik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Peter Wriggers

Zhuang Xiaoying
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Zhuang Xiaoying
    1983 in China geboren, studierte von 2001 bis 2007 an der Tongji Universität, Shanghai. Anschließend wechselte sie als Doktorandin nach Großbritannien und wurde 2010 an der University of Durham promoviert. 2011 kehrte sie nach einer Station als Postdoktorandin in Norwegen zurück an die Tongji Universität. Dort war sie zunächst Lecturer und von 2013 bis 2014 Associate Professor. Zhuang erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Zienkiewicz-Preis für die beste Doktorarbeit im Bereich Computergestützte Mechanik sowie ein Marie Curie-Stipendium der EU, mit dem sie zuletzt an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar forschte.
 


Kontakt

Nina Hafeneger
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-257/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de