Sofja Kovalevskaja Award 2016 - Award Winners

Mazhar N. Ali

Solid State Physics

Massless particles facilitate novel electrical applications
They have no mass and they are very mobile – and thus ideal for the electronic transmission of information without friction loss. We are talking about Weyl fermions, which were only definitively discovered in 2015. These elementary particles can only exist inside certain solids such as so-called Dirac and Weyl semimetals. The particles are named after the German physicist Hermann Weyl who predicted their existence back in 1929. Contemporary physicist Mazhar Ali now wants to appropriate the materials’ unusual properties and to investigate the transport and spintronic applications of Dirac and Weyl semimetals in crystalline thin films as the basis for novel electronic components.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle/Saale
Host: Professor Dr Stuart Parkin

Mazhar N. Ali
Photo: Sabrina Hopp
  • Dr Mazhar N. Ali
    was born in the United States in 1986. He studied physics and chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, from 2006 to 2009, concurrently pursuing internships in industry. With two Bachelor’s degrees under his belt he moved to Princeton University where he took a Master’s in chemistry in 2011 and a doctorate in chemistry and materials science in 2014. He subsequently became a postdoc at the IBM Almaden Research Center, near San José.

David A. Egger

Theoretical solid state physics

This material makes green energies more efficient
The mineral perovskite was discovered in the Urals back in 1839. Now, it is unfolding its manifold potential, for example in medicine as part of bone implants, but above all as a semiconductor and material in particularly efficient solar cells, and even in batteries and fuel cells. The Austrian physicist David Egger investigates organic-inorganic perovskites which offer especially favourable properties for green energy applications as well as for use in spintronics. His goal is to optimise the material at the atomic level using supercomputers and with that increase its efficiency for using it in novel renewable energy technologies.

Host institute: Universität Regensburg, Institute of Theoretical Physics
Host: Professor Dr Ferdinand Evers

David A. Egger
Photo: Haim Ziv
(Weizmann Institute
of Science)
  • Dr David A. Egger
    was born in Austria in 1987. He studied at Graz University of Technology, Austria, completing a doctorate in 2013. Alongside university, he also gathered significant experience in industry. With the aid of fellowships, Egger continued his research abroad as a visiting scientist whilst still studying and doing his doctorate. This took him to Germany, Israel, the United States and Belgium. In 2014, he became a postdoc at the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot, Israel.

Michal P. Heller

Quantum Physics

What black holes tell us about our world
Is our three-dimensional world actually a hologram? After observing black holes, some physicists suspect it is. According to the holographic principle, everything we see, just as in Plato’s Allegory of the Cave, is merely an image or shadow of a more or less distant reality. An analogy with optical holography, in which the three-dimensional effect of the hologram is based on information that is stored in a flat medium, illustrates the phenomenon. The physicist Michal P. Heller applies this theory and mathematical tools like tensor networks to investigating matter and spacetime under extreme conditions. His aim is to acquire new knowledge on the emergence of spacetime and dual quantum field theory.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute), Potsdam-Golm
Host: Professor Dr Hermann Nicolai

Michal P. Heller
Photo: Gabriela Secara
(Perimeter Insitute for
Theoretical Physics)
  • Dr Michal P. Heller
    was born in Poland in 1984. He studied physics at the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland, where he completed his doctorate in 2010. Numerous research visits during his training took him to the United Kingdom, France, Israel and to MIT in Cambridge, United States. Michal P. Heller became a postdoc at the University of Amsterdam and, from 2014, at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Canada.

Francesco Neri

Molecular Genetics

Why ageing cells develop cancer
What are the genetic mechanisms responsible for causing ageing cells to mutate and trigger diseases like cancer? The molecular geneticist Francesco Neri studies intestinal stem cells to try and find the answer. He focusses on the role of DNA methylation, a chemical mechanism with which the genome of a cell is modified. This kind of so-called epigenetic change means the cell can respond to impacts in its environment. Instead of useful modifications, however, particularly in ageing cells, the changes can also prove harmful. Neri has developed gene mapping techniques to investigate the causes, particularly at stem cell level, and to identify the genes that influence DNA methylation.

Host institute: Leibniz Institute on Aging, Fritz Lipmann Institute (FLI), Jena
Host: Professor Dr Karl Lenhard Rudolph

Francesco Neri
Photo: FLI/
Evelyn Kästner
  • Dr Francesco Neri
    was born in Italy in 1981. From 2000 to 2007, he studied molecular biology at the University of Siena, subsequently spending three years on a doctorate in biotechnology. He then worked at Radboud University Medical Centre in Nijmegen, Netherlands, for a year before returning to Italy in 2011. Francesco Neri continued his research at the Human Genetics Foundation in Turin, initially as a post-doc and, from 2015, as a research assistant.
     

Faith H. A. Osier

Medical Microbiology

Malaria immunity
The battle against malaria has been fought for a long time and there is still no sign of a victory over the pathogen that is transmitted by mosquitos. The first vaccine that was introduced in 2015 is not proving as effective as hoped. There are, however, people who develop natural immunity to the disease. Is this the key to effective prevention and therapy? The Kenyan malaria researcher Faith Osier is conducting a large-scale study with subjects in seven African countries in order to gain a better understanding of the mechanisms of natural immunity. Her goal is to find a vaccine that is not based on a single antigen, to which the fitting antibodies can attach themselves, but on several at once. This would make it easier for the immune system to fight the pathogen during the various stages of its development.

Host institute: Heidelberg University Hospital, Department of Infectiology
Host: Professor Dr Michael Lanzer

Faith H. A. Oisier
Photo: Duncan Willetts
  • Dr Faith H. A. Osier
    was born in Kenya in 1972 and studied medicine in Nairobi. She initially spent several years working in hospitals in Mombasa and Kilifi before moving to the United Kingdom in 2004. Here she took a Master’s at the University of Liverpool and completed a doctorate in biology with the Open University. She subsequently worked as a postdoc and paediatrician in Oxford and Kilifi where she has been a Clinical Research Fellow since 2010. From 2011 to 2013, Faith Osier was also a Visiting Research Fellow at the Burnet Institute for Medical Research in Melbourne, Australia.

William Shepherd

Elementary Particle Physics

Tracking down dark matter
Dark Matter is one of the universe’s most closely-kept secrets. Experiments in the lab cannot prove its existence, and detectors fail to respond. But it makes its presence felt indirectly, for example by accelerating the expansion of the universe in the last five billion years. Researchers estimate that there is more than five times more Dark Matter out there than we are aware of. At the Large Hadron Collider, the particle accelerator at CERN, near Geneva, experiments are underway to discover new particles and finally track down Dark Matter. Particle physicist William Shepherd develops tools to analyse the huge volumes of data generated and decode the connections. He also develops theoretical models which make it possible to combine the results of the most diverse experimental methods and sources and to derive experimental set-ups.

Host institute: Mainz University, Institute of Physics
Host: Professor Dr Matthias Neubert

William Shepherd
Photo: Bjarne Sørensen
  • Dr William Shepherd
    was born in the United States in 1984. He studied physics and mathematics at Northwestern University in Evanston, USA, taking a Master’s in physics and astronomy in 2009. He then moved to the University of California, Irvine, where he completed his doctorate in 2011 and spent six months teaching at different colleges. William Shepherd became a postdoc at the University of California, Santa Cruz, in 2012 before moving to the Niels Bohr International Academy at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2015.

Safa Shoai

Organic Photovoltaics

Bye-bye silicon? The solar cells of the future could be organic
Could organic solar cells be a more resource-friendly and simply better alternative to conventional silicon solar cells – and actually replace them? At present, they are only half as efficient as conventional solar cells, which is not good enough. The physicist Safa Shoai conducts fundamental research into optimising organic solar cells and making them cheaper to produce. Organic semiconductors, which can be used not just in solar cells but also in flexible displays and biocompatible electronics, are the key to such developments. To this end, Shoai investigates the morphology of the photoactive blend layer of organic solar cells which is usually composed of a mixture (blend) of two materials, known as the donator and the acceptor phase. Safa Shoai wants to discover whether the individual organic semiconductors are crystalline or amorphous and how closely the two reactants, donor and acceptor, are intermixed.

Host institute: University of Potsdam, Institute of Physics and Astronomy
Host: Professor Dr Dieter Neher

Safa Shoai
Photo: Martin Stolterfoht
  • Dr Safa Shoai
    was born in Iran in 1984. From 2002 to 2006, she studied physics at the University of Manchester, United Kingdom, subsequently moving to Imperial College London where she took her doctorate in physical chemistry in 2010. She continued to conduct research there and at the National Physical Laboratory until 2014. Since then, she has been a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Queensland in Australia.

Contact

Kristina Güroff
Nina Hafeneger
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-455/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis 2016 - Die Preisträger

Mazhar N. Ali

Festkörperphysik

Masselose Teilchen ermöglichen neuartige elektrische Anwendungen
Sie haben keine Masse und sind hochbeweglich – und damit ideal, um Informationen ohne Reibungsverluste elektrisch zu übertragen. Die Rede ist von den erst 2015 nachgewiesenen Weyl-Teilchen. Diese Elementarteilchen können nur innerhalb bestimmter Materialen existieren, etwa in sogenannten Dirac- und Weyl-Halbmetallen. Benannt sind die Teilchen nach dem deutschen Physiker Hermann Weyl, der ihre Existenz bereits im Jahr 1929 vorausgesagt hatte. Der Physiker Mazhar Ali will sich die ungewöhnlichen Eigenschaften des Materials zunutze machen und erforscht Transport- und Spintronikanwendungen in kristallinen dünnen Filmen von Dirac- und Weyl-Halbmetallen als Basis für neuartige elektronische Bauteile.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Mikrostrukturphysik, Halle/Saale
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Stuart Parkin

Mazhar N. Ali
Foto: Sabrina Hopp
  • Dr. Mazhar N. Ali
    wurde 1986 in den USA geboren und studierte von 2006 bis 2009 Physik und Chemie an der University of California, Berkeley. Neben seinem Studium absolvierte er mehrere Praktika in der Industrie. Mit zwei Bachelorabschlüssen wechselte Mazhar Ali an die Princeton University, wo er 2011 seinen Master in Chemie machte und 2014 in Chemie und Materialwissenschaften promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorand ging er anschließend an das IBM Almaden Research Center bei San José.

David A. Egger

Theoretische Festkörperphysik

Dieser Stoff macht Grüne Energien effizienter
Das Mineral Perowskit wurde bereits 1839 im Ural entdeckt. Nun entfaltet der Stoff sein vielseitiges Potenzial, etwa in der Medizin als Teil von Knochenimplantaten, vor allem aber als Halbleiter und Material in besonders effizienten Solarzellen, Batterien oder Brennstoffzellen. Der österreichische Physiker David Egger erforscht hybride organisch-anorganische Perowskite, die besonders günstige Eigenschaften für Anwendungen Grüner Energie bieten, aber auch für den Einsatz in der Spintronik interessant sind. Sein Ziel ist es, den Stoff auf atomarer Ebene mit Hilfe von Supercomputern weiter zu optimieren und die Effizienz für den Einsatz in erneuerbaren Energien zu steigern.

Gastinstitut: Universität Regensburg, Institut für Theoretische Physik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Evers

David A. Egger
Foto: Haim Ziv
(Weizmann Institute
of Science)
  • Dr. David A. Egger
    wurde 1987 in Österreich geboren. Er studierte an der Technischen Universität Graz, Österreich, wo er auch 2013 promoviert wurde. Neben seinem Studium absolvierte er mehrere Praktika in der Industrie. Mithilfe von Stipendien forschte Egger als Gastwissenschaftler während des Studiums und der Promotion immer wieder im Ausland, so in Deutschland, Israel, den USA und Belgien. 2014 ging er als Postdoktorand nach Israel an das Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot.

Michal P. Heller

Quantenphysik

Was Schwarze Löcher über unsere Welt verraten
Ist unsere dreidimensionale Welt in Wirklichkeit ein Hologramm? Manche Physiker vermuten dies nach Beobachtungen an Schwarzen Löchern. Nach dem holografischen Prinzip wäre wie in Platons Höhlengleichnis das, was wir sehen, nur eine Abbildung oder der Schattenwurf einer mehr oder weniger weit entfernten Wirklichkeit. So wie die dreidimensionale Wirkung des Hologramms auf Informationen beruht, die in einem flachen Medium gespeichert sind. Der Physiker Michal Heller wendet diese Theorie und mathematische Instrumente wie Tensor-Netzwerke zur Erforschung von Materie und Raumzeit unter extremen Bedingungen an. Sein Ziel sind neue Erkenntnisse über die Entstehung der Raumzeit und die duale Quantenfeldtheorie.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert-Einstein-Institut), Potsdam-Golm
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Hermann Nicolai

Michal P. Heller
Foto: Gabriela Secara
(Perimeter Insitute for
Theoretical Physics)
  • Dr. Michal P. Heller
    1984 in Polen geboren, studierte Physik an der Jagiellonen-Universität in Krakau, Polen, wo er 2010 promoviert wurde. Zahlreiche Forschungsaufenthalte während seines Studiums führten ihn nach Großbritannien, Frankreich, Israel und an das MIT in Cambridge, USA. Als Postdoktorand ging Michal Heller zunächst an die University of Amsterdam, 2014 dann an das Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Canada.

Francesco Neri

Molekulare Genetik

Warum alternde Zellen Krebs entwickeln
Welche genetischen Mechanismen sind dafür verantwortlich, wenn alternde Zellen mutieren und Krankheiten wie Krebs auslösen? Der Molekularbiologe Francesco Neri erforscht diese Frage an Darmstammzellen. Im Fokus steht die Rolle der DNA-Methylierung, ein chemischer Mechanismus, mit dem das Erbgut einer Zelle modifiziert wird. Solche sogenannten epigenetischen Veränderungen ermöglichen es, auf Umwelteinflüsse reagieren zu können. Doch statt nützlicher Anpassungen kommt es besonders in alternden Zellen auch zu schädlichen Veränderungen. Neri hat Genkartierungstechniken entwickelt, um die Ursachen hierfür insbesondere auf der Ebene der Stammzellen zu untersuchen und die Gene zu identifizieren, die die DNA-Methylierung beeinflussen.

Gastinstitut: Leibniz-Institut für Alternsforschung, Fritz-Lipmann-Institut (FLI), Jena
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Karl Lenhard Rudolph

Francesco Neri
Foto: FLI/Evelyn Kästner
  • Dr. Francesco Neri
    wurde 1981 in Italien geboren, wo er von 2000 bis 2007 an der Universität Siena Molekularbiologie studierte und die folgenden drei Jahre in Biotechnologie promovierte. Anschließend war Francesco Neri für ein Jahr am Radboud University Medical Centre in Nijmegen, Niederlande, tätig, bevor er 2011 nach Italien zurückkehrte. Dort forschte er an der Human Genetics Foundation in Torino zunächst als Postdoktorand, ab 2015 dann als Research Assistant.
     

Faith H. A. Osier

Medizinische Mikrobiologie

Immun gegen Malaria
Der Kampf gegen die Malaria dauert schon lange, doch ein Sieg über den durch Mücken übertragenen Erreger ist nicht in Sicht. Ein 2015 eingeführter erster Impfstoff ist nicht so wirksam wie erhofft. Dabei gibt es Menschen, die eine natürliche Immunität gegen die Krankheit entwickeln. Liegt hier der Schlüssel für eine wirksame Prophylaxe und Therapie? Die kenianische Malariaforscherin Faith Osier führt eine große Studie mit Probanden in sieben afrikanischen Ländern durch, um die Mechanismen der natürlichen Immunität besser zu verstehen. Ihr Ziel ist ein Impfstoff, der nicht nur auf einem Antigen beruht, an das sich passende Antikörper heften können, sondern auf mehreren zugleich. So könnte der Erreger besser in den unterschiedlichen Stadien seiner Entwicklung vom Immunsystem bekämpft werden.

Gastinstitut: Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Zentrum für Infektiologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Michael Lanzer

Faith H. A. Oisier
Foto: Duncan Willetts
  • Dr. Faith H. A. Osier
    wurde 1972 in Kenia geboren und studierte in Nairobi Medizin. Im Anschluss arbeitete sie zunächst einige Jahre in Kliniken in Mombasa und Kilifi, bevor sie 2004 nach Großbritannien ging. Dort machte Faith Osier an der University of Liverpool ihren Master und wurde 2008 an der Open University in Biologie promoviert. Als Postdoktorandin und Kinderärztin war sie anschließend in Oxford sowie in Kilifi, Kenia, tätig, seit 2010 ist sie dort Clinical Research Fellow. Von 2011 bis 2013 war sie außerdem Visiting Research Fellow am Burnet Institute for Medical Research in Melbourne, Australien.

William Shepherd

Elementarteilchenphysik

Der Dunklen Materie auf der Spur
Die Dunkle Materie gehört zu den großen Geheimnissen des Universums. Laborexperimente konnten sie nicht nachweisen, auch Detektoren sprechen nicht auf sie an. Bemerkbar macht sie sich indirekt, etwa dadurch, dass sie die Expansion des Universums in den letzten fünf Milliarden Jahren beschleunigt hat. Forscher schätzen, dass es mehr als fünfmal so viel Dunkle Materie gibt als die uns vertraute. Am Teilchenbeschleuniger im CERN nahe Genf, dem Large Hadron Collider, laufen Experimente, die neue Teilchen entdecken und der Dunklen Materie endlich auf die Spur kommen sollen. Der Teilchenphysiker William Shepherd entwickelt Instrumente, um die hierbei massenhaft anfallenden Daten zu analysieren und die Zusammenhänge zu entschlüsseln. Er entwickelt außerdem theoretische Modelle, die es ermöglichen, die Ergebnisse aus verschiedensten experimentellen Methoden und Quellen zusammenzuführen und Versuchsanordnungen weiterzuentwickeln.

Gastinstitut: Universität Mainz, Institut für Physik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Matthias Neubert

William Shepherd
Foto: Bjarne Sørensen
  • Dr. William Shepherd
    1984 in den USA geboren, studierte Physik und Mathematik an der Northwestern University in Evanston, USA, wo er 2009 auch seinen Master in Physik und Astronomie machte. Für seine Promotion, die er 2011 in Physik abschloss, wechselte William Shepherd an die University of California, Irvine, anschließend lehrte er für ein halbes Jahr an verschiedenen Colleges. Als Postdoktorand war er ab 2012 zunächst an der University of California, Santa Cruz tätig, seit 2015 dann an der Niels Bohr International Academy der University of Copenhagen in Dänemark.

Safa Shoai

Organische Photovoltaik

Bye-bye Silizium? Die Solarzellen der Zukunft könnten organisch sein
Könnten organische Solarzellen herkömmliche Siliziumsolarzellen als ressourcenschonendere und technisch bessere Alternative ablösen? Noch ist ihr Wirkungsgrad halb so hoch wie bei herkömmlichen Solarzellen und damit zu gering. Die Physikerin Safa Shoai erforscht die Grundlagen, um organische Solarzellen effektiver zu machen und günstiger produzieren zu können. Der Schlüssel hierzu sind organische Halbleiter, die nicht nur in Solarzellen, sondern auch in flexiblen Displays oder biokompatibler Elektronik eingesetzt werden können. Hierfür untersucht Shoai die Morphologie der photoaktiven Blendschicht organischer Solarzellen. Diese besteht üblicherweise aus einem Gemisch (Blend) zweier Materialien, der sogenannten Donator- und Akzeptorphase. Safa Shoai erforscht, ob die einzelnen organischen Halbleiter kristallin oder amorph sind, und wie eng die beiden Reaktionspartner Donator und Akzeptor miteinander vermischt sind.

Gastinstitut: Universität Potsdam, Institut für Physik und Astronomie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Dieter Neher

Safa Shoai
Foto: Martin Stolterfoht
  • Dr. Safa Shoai
    1984 im Iran geboren, studierte von 2002 bis 2006 Physik an der University of Manchester, Großbritannien. Anschließend ging sie ans Imperial College London, wo sie 2010 in Physikalischer Chemie promoviert wurde. Dort und am National Physical Laboratory forschte sie bis 2014. Als Postdoctoral Research Fellow ist sie seitdem an der University of Queensland in Australien.


Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Nina Hafeneger
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de