Sofja Kovalevskaja Award 2017 – Award Winners

Ufuk Günesdogan

Developmental Biology, Cell Biology

Heredity’s information carriers
We have long known that DNA is not the only information carrier involved in heredity. Identical twins, for example, are born with the same genes but, epigenetically, may develop differently over the course of their lives: whilst one twin may fall victim to diabetes, the other will not. Which mechanisms are at work here is the field studied by epigenetics. The developmental biologist Ufuk Günesdogan investigates issues relating to the development of germ track cells from which sperm cells and egg cells are formed. In particular, he focuses on the role of histones, proteins that are part of DNA packaging and around which the metre-long threads of DNA wind themselves like a spool. But histones are not only packaging, they store additional information which can also be transmitted. Amongst other things, Günesdogan would like to investigate how histone mutations influence the regulation of gene expression.

Host institute: University of Göttingen, Johann Friedrich Blumenbach Institute for Zoology and Anthropology
Host: Professor Dr Ernst A. Wimmer

Ufuk Günesdogan
Photo: private
  • Dr Ufuk Günesdogan
    was born in Germany in 1979 and studied Biology at TU Braunschweig from 1999 to 2004, staying on for a year to work as a research assistant. In 2006, he became a doctoral researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen, completing his doctorate in 2010. On the strength of various grants, including a Royal Society Research Grant, Ufuk Günesdogan has been working at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom, as a postdoc since 2010.

Enrique Jiménez

Egyptian and Near-Eastern Classical Studies

Pioneering source work
Some 550,000 texts, engraved in clay tablets in cuneiform, are the main sources of Ancient Oriental Studies. Many of these texts have been languishing, unpublished, in collections and museums around the world. At the same time, the corpus has been growing constantly as excavations unearth ever more clay tablets and writings. The Ancient Orient scholar Enrique Jiménez is a pioneer in unravelling cuneiform of this kind. He is recognised as a specialist with outstanding knowledge of sources who is not satisfied with simply deciphering historical writings. A supporter of the digital humanities, Jiménez works on collating the texts digitally and making them generally accessible online. He was, for instance, involved in Yale University’s Cuneiform Commentaries Project that has published commentaries from Mesopotamia, one of the oldest cohesive groups of hermeneutic texts online. He will pursue a similar goal as a Sofja Kovalevskaja award winner: At the institute of Humboldt Professor Karen Radner in Munich, Jiménez plans to work on and digitally publish a corpus of some 10,000 lines online. He will amalgamate text fragments that are currently distributed around different museums.

Host institute: LMU Munich, Chair of Ancient History of the Near and Middle East
Host: Humboldt Professor Dr Karen Radner

Enrique Jiménez
Photo: private
  • Dr Enrique Jiménez
    was born in Spain in 1985 and studied Classical and Hebrew Philology at Complutense University of Madrid from 2003 to 2012. The pursuit of Assyrian Studies took him, amongst others, to Yale University in the United States and Heidelberg University. Enrique Jiménez completed his doctorate at Complutense University in 2013 and subsequently returned to Yale as a postdoc. He came back to Complutense University in 2017 where he has since been working in the Department of Hebrew and Aramaic Studies.

Laura Leal-Taixé

Artificial intelligence, Image and Language Processing

Envisaging machine vision
Online map services like Google Maps do more than just help us plan a route. They deliver information on the location of shops and restaurants, for example, or update us on traffic news. So far, information on social aspects, such as how people interact in public spaces and what movement patterns result, has not been part of the portfolio. Analysing and interpreting this kind of dynamic scenario data is currently one of the major challenges facing image processing. And this is where Laura Leal-Taixé’s research comes in: As a Sofja Kovalevskaja award winner, she wants to develop artificial intelligence methods to recognise the behaviour of crowds, motion paths and interactions in video sequences and integrate this social information into digital maps. The aim of her research is to analyse data on the spatial environment more precisely in order to differentiate more easily between streams of vehicles and streams of pedestrians. Leal-Taixé’s results could also help to design public spaces more sustainably.

Host institute: TUM, Department of Computer Science and Mathematics, Chair of Computer Vision & Pattern Recognition, Garching
Host: Professor Dr Daniel Cremers

Laura Leal-Taixe
Photo: Quirin Lohr
  • Dr Laura Leal-Taixé
    was born in Spain in 1984 and studied telecommunications engineering at BarcelonaTech (UPC) before transferring to Northeastern University in Boston, USA, for her Master’s thesis in 2007. In 2009, she became a research associate at Leibniz Universität Hannover, where she completed her doctorate in 2013. Laura Leal-Taixé then spent two years as a postdoc at ETH Zurich in Switzerland. Since 2016, she has been continuing her research at TUM in Munich.

David J. E. Marsh (Doddy)

Astrophysics

The search for dark matter
It accounts for a huge part of our universe but we still do not know very much about it: dark matter is one of the great puzzles of physics. Impossible to see with the naked eye or even a telescope, it is largely unclear to this day what it is actually made of. Current cosmology believes that the main components of dark matter are WIMPs – weakly interacting massive particles. But no-one has been able to prove this hypothesis so far. On his search for alternative models, David J. E. Marsh’s research has thrown up new ways of approaching the issue. The astrophysicist is investigating to what extent dark matter might be composed of axions, another ultra-light elementary particle which has not yet been proven in experiments either. Marsh’s work delivers theoretical calculations that predict individual properties in axions that can then be proven or excluded by astronomical observation. He plans to spend his time as a Sofja Kovalevskaja award winner extending his calculation models and combining them with computer simulations.

Host institute: University of Göttingen, Institute for Astrophysics
Host: Professor Dr Jens Niemeyer

David J. E. Marsh
Photo: David Tett
  • Dr David J. E. Marsh
    was born in England in 1987 and studied mathematical physics at the University of Edinburgh from 2005 to 2009, subsequently moving to Oxford University where he completed his doctorate in 2012. His first postdoctoral position took him to the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Canada, from where he returned to the UK to become a Royal Astronomical Society postdoctoral fellow at King’s College London in 2015.

Anna Martius, née Levina

Systemic Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience

The brain on the edge of chaos
Millions of neurons interact in the brain that organises itself into a complex system. The neuroscientist Anna Martius focuses her attention on what is known as criticality, an important characteristic of the brain’s self-organisation: In a critical state, the transmission of signals resembles an avalanche. If a nerve cell transmits an electrical impulse, it can trigger another impulse in the next neuron down the line, but does not necessarily do so. Depending on whether and how often impulses are transmitted it can lead to a chain of neuronal discharges like an avalanche. It is believed that these events play an important role in processing information in the brain. In earlier work, Anna Martius already made significant contributions to the mathematical analysis and modelling of such critical states in neuronal systems. In the future, she not only wants to drive our understanding of neuronal dynamics in the brain but, as a Sofja Kovalevskaja award winner, to concentrate on analysing particularly efficient neuronal networks, which are also important for developing artificial intelligence.

Host institute: University of Tübingen, Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience
Host: Professor Dr Matthias Bethge

Anna Martius
Photo: private
  • Dr Anna Martius, née Levina
    was born in the Soviet Union in 1981 and studied Mathematics at St Petersburg State University. In 2004, she relocated to the University of Göttingen where she completed her doctorate in 2008. Her first postdoctoral position was at Göttingen’s Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organisation from where she transferred to the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences in Leipzig in 2011. From 2015 to 2017, Anna Martius was a Fellow at the Institute of Science and Technology in Klosterneuburg, Austria. Since April 2017, she has been pursuing her research at the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics in Tübingen.

Matteo Smerlak

Statistical Physics, Theoretical Biology

Predicting evolution
Matteo Smerlak’s background is in mathematical, theoretical physics and his work on quantum gravity has already attracted much attention. Recently, he has moved more towards interdisciplinary research at the boundaries of physics and biology, innovatively linking statistical physics with theoretical biology. In concrete terms, he addresses the complex systems, huge networks, which, to a large extent, organise themselves without central control and demonstrate complex collective behaviour. Systems of this kind are to be found in economics and sociology, but especially in biology. This is where Matteo Smerlak applies methods borrowed from statistical physics to evolutionary biology to derive both universal and statistical laws of evolution. Using this approach, the Sofja Kovalevskaja award winner wants to focus on fundamental questions such as the predictability of evolutionary developments.

Host institute: Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig
Host: Professor Dr Jürgen Jost

Matteo Smerlak
Photo: Perimeter
Institute
  • Dr Matteo Smerlak
    was born in France in 1984 and took a Master’s in theoretical physics at the École normale supérieure in Paris in 2007. For his doctorate, which he completed in 2011, he moved to Aix-Marseille University, subsequently continuing his research as a junior scientist at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (Albert Einstein Institute) in Potsdam. Since 2013, Matteo Smerlak has been a postdoc at the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Canada, from where he has repeatedly taken on teaching assignments to the African Institutes for Mathematical Sciences in South Africa, Cameroon and Ghana.


Contact

Kristina Güroff
Nina Hafeneger
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-455/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Head of
Press, Communications and Marketing
Phone: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preis 2017 – Die Preisträger

Ufuk Günesdogan

Entwicklungsbiologie, Zellbiologie

Informationsträger der Vererbung
Längst ist bekannt, dass die DNA bei der Vererbung nicht der einzige Informationsträger ist. So werden beispielsweise eineiige Zwillinge mit den gleichen Genen geboren, können sich im Laufe ihres Lebens aber epigenetisch unterschiedlich entwickeln: Während der eine Zwilling etwa eine Anfälligkeit für Diabetes ausbildet, bleibt der andere davon verschont. Welche Mechanismen dabei wirken, untersucht die Epigenetik. Der Entwicklungsbiologe Ufuk Günesdogan geht dabei Fragen nach, die bereits bei der Entwicklung von Urkeimbahnzellen ansetzen, aus denen Spermien und Eizellen entstehen. Er befasst sich insbesondere mit der Rolle der Histone. Diese Proteine gehören zur Verpackung der DNA, der meterlange DNA-Faden wickelt sich um sie wie um eine Spule. Doch die Histone sind nicht nur Verpackung, sie speichern zusätzliche Informationen, die ebenfalls weitervererbt werden können. Günesdogan möchte unter anderem untersuchen, wie Histonmutationen die Regulation der Genexpression beeinflussen.

Gastinstitut: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Johann-Friedrich-Blumenbach Institut für Zoologie und Anthropologie
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Ernst A. Wimmer

Ufuk Günesdogan
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Ufuk Günesdogan
    wurde 1979 in Deutschland geboren und studierte von 1999 bis 2004 Biologie an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig, wo er anschließend noch ein Jahr als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter blieb. Ab 2006 war er als Doktorand am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen tätig, 2010 wurde er promoviert. Mit Unterstützung verschiedener Stipendien, u. a. einem Royal Society Research Grant, forscht Ufuk Günesdogan seit 2010 als Postdoktorand an der Universität Cambridge, Vereinigtes Königreich.

Enrique Jiménez

Ägyptische und Vorderasiatische Altertumswissenschaften

Pionierleistungen bei der Quellenarbeit
Etwa 550.000 Texte, in Keilschrift in Tontafeln geritzt, sind die Hauptquellen der Altorientalistik. Ein Großteil der Texte lagert bislang unveröffentlicht in Sammlungen und Museen weltweit. Zugleich wächst der Korpus stetig weiter, da Ausgrabungen immer neue Tontafeln und Schriften zutage fördern. Beim Erschließen solcher Keilschriften leistet der Altorientalist Enrique Jiménez Pionierarbeit. Er gilt als Spezialist mit herausragender Quellenkenntnis, dem es nicht nur um das reine Entziffern der historischen Schriften geht. Als Vertreter der Digital Humanities arbeitet Jiménez daran, die Texte digital zusammenzuführen und allgemein zugänglich zu machen. So war er beispielsweise am Cuneiform Commentaries Project der Yale University beteiligt, das mit der Kommentarliteratur aus Mesopotamien eine der ältesten Reihen zusammenhängender hermeneutischer Texte online publiziert. Als Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger verfolgt er ein ähnliches Anliegen: Am Institut der Humboldt-Professorin Karen Radner in München plant Jiménez ein Korpus von etwa 10.000 Zeilen zu bearbeiten und digital zu veröffentlichen. Dabei wird er Textfragmente zusammenführen, die derzeit verstreut in unterschiedlichen Museen weltweit lagern.

Gastinstitut: Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Lehrstuhl für die Alte Geschichte des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens
Gastgeberin: Humboldt-Professorin Dr. Karen Radner

Enrique Jiménez
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Enrique Jiménez
    1985 in Spanien geboren, studierte zwischen 2003 und 2012 an der Complutense Universität, Madrid, Klassische und Hebräische Philologie. Ein Studium der Assyriologie führte ihn unter anderem an die Yale University in den USA und an die Universität Heidelberg. 2013 wurde Enrique Jiménez an der Complutense Universität promoviert und ging anschließend als Postdoktorand erneut nach Yale. 2017 kehrte er an die Complutense Universität zurück und forscht dort seitdem am Department für Hebräische und Aramäische Studien.

Laura Leal-Taixé

Künstliche Intelligenz, Bild- und Sprachverarbeitung

Visionen für das maschinelle Sehen
Online-Kartendienste wie Google Maps bieten bereits mehr als nur Hilfe bei der Routenplanung. Sie liefern Informationen etwa über Standorte von Geschäften und Restaurants oder die Verkehrslage. Informationen über soziale Aspekte, beispielsweise wie Menschen im öffentlichen Raum interagieren und welche Bewegungsmuster sich ergeben, gehören bislang nicht dazu. Solche Daten aus dynamischen Szenen zu analysieren und zu interpretieren ist aktuell eine der großen Herausforderungen für die Bildverarbeitung. Laura Leal-Taixés Forschung setzt hier an: Als Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträgerin möchte sie Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz entwickeln, um das Verhalten von Menschenmassen, Bewegungspfade und Interaktionen in Videosequenzen zu erkennen und solche sozialen Informationen in digitale Karten zu integrieren. Ziel von Leal-Taixés Forschung ist es, Daten zur räumlichen Umgebung exakter zu analysieren, um beispielsweise zwischen Fahrzeug- und Fußgängerströmen besser unterscheiden zu können. Ihre Ergebnisse sollen es zudem ermöglichen, öffentlichen Raum nachhaltiger zu gestalten.

Gastinstitut: Technische Universität München, Lehrstuhl für Bildverarbeitung, Garching
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Daniel Cremers

Laura Leal-Taixe
Foto: Quirin Lohr
  • Dr. Laura Leal-Taixé
    wurde 1984 in Spanien geboren. An der Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya in Barcelona studierte sie Telekommunikationstechnik, bevor sie 2007 für ihre Masterarbeit an die Northeastern University nach Boston in die USA ging. 2009 wechselte sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an die Leibniz Universität in Hannover, wo sie 2013 promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorandin ging Laura Leal-Taixé dann zunächst zwei Jahre an die ETH Zürich in der Schweiz. Seit 2016 forscht sie an der Technischen Universität München.

David J. E. Marsh (Doddy)

Astrophysik

Suche nach der Dunklen Materie
Sie macht einen großen Teil unseres Universums aus, wir wissen aber nur sehr wenig über sie: Die Dunkle Materie zählt zu den größten Rätseln der Physik. Für das menschliche Auge oder Teleskope ist sie unsichtbar, woraus sie genau besteht ist bis heute weitgehend unklar. Nach der aktuell gängigen Standardvorstellung der Kosmologie sind so genannte WIMPs – schwach wechselwirkende massereiche Teilchen – Hauptbestandteile der Dunklen Materie. Doch die erhofften Nachweise für diese Hypothese sind bisher ausgeblieben. Bei der Suche nach Alternativmodellen liefert die Forschung von David J. E. Marsh (Doddy) neue Ansätze. Der Astrophysiker untersucht, inwiefern die Dunkle Materie aus Axionen bestehen könnte, einem ebenfalls noch nicht experimentell nachgewiesenen ultraleichten Elementarteilchen. Marsh liefert mit seinen Arbeiten theoretische Berechnungen, um einzelne Eigenschaften der Axione vorherzusagen und diese anschließend bei astronomischen Beobachtungen nachzuweisen oder auszuschließen. Als Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger plant er die Berechnungsmodelle zu erweitern und mit Computersimulationen zu kombinieren.

Gastinstitut: Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Institut für Astrophysik
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Jens Niemeyer

David J. E. Marsh
Foto: David Tett
  • Dr. David J. E. Marsh
    1987 in England geboren, studierte von 2005 bis 2009 Mathematische Physik an der Universität von Edinburgh. Anschließend ging er an die University of Oxford, wo er 2012 promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorand forschte David J. E. Marsh zunächst am Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Kanada, bevor er 2015 als Royal Astronomical Society Postdoctoral Fellow an das King’s College in London wechselte.

Anna Martius, geb. Levina

Systemische Neurowissenschaft

Das Gehirn am Rande des Chaos
Millionen Neuronen interagieren im Gehirn, das sich als komplexes System selbst organisiert. Die Neurowissenschaftlerin Anna Martius befasst sich insbesondere mit der so genannten Kritikalität. Diese gilt als wichtige Eigenschaft bei der Selbstorganisation des Hirns: Im kritischen Zustand verläuft die Signalweitergabe ähnlich wie bei einer Lawine. Sendet eine Nervenzelle einen elektrischen Impuls, kann dies in einem nachgeschalteten Neuron ebenfalls einen Impuls auslösen, muss es aber nicht. Je nachdem, ob und wie oft Impulse weitergegeben werden, kann es zu lawinenartigen Ketten neuronaler Entladungen kommen. Diesen Vorgängen wird eine wichtige Rolle bei der Informationsverarbeitung im Gehirn zugesprochen. Anna Martius hat bereits in frühen Arbeiten wesentliche Beiträge zur mathematischen Analyse und Modellierung solcher kritischer Zustände in neuronalen Systemen vorgelegt. Künftig will sie nicht nur das Verständnis neuronaler Dynamiken im Gehirn weiter vorantreiben. Als Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträgerin will sie sich zudem stark auf die Analyse besonders leistungsfähiger neuronaler Netze konzentrieren, die auch bei der Entwicklung von künstlicher Intelligenz von Bedeutung sind.

Gastinstitut: Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Werner Reichardt Centre for Integrative Neuroscience
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Matthias Bethge

Anna Martius
Foto: privat
  • Dr. Anna Martius, geb. Levina
    1981 in der UdSSR geboren, studierte an der St. Petersburg State University Mathematik. 2004 ging sie an die Universität Göttingen, wo sie 2008 promoviert wurde. Als Postdoktorandin forschte sie zunächst am Göttinger Max-Planck-Institut für Dynamik und Selbstorganisation, 2011 wechselte sie dann zum Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften in Leipzig. Von 2015 bis 2017 war Anna Martius Fellow am Institute of Science and Technology in Klosterneuburg, Österreich. Seit April 2017 forscht sie am Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik in Tübingen.

Matteo Smerlak

Statistische Physik, Theoretische Biologie

Die Evolution vorhersagen
Matteo Smerlak kommt aus der mathematischen, theoretischen Physik und hat zur Quantengravitation bereits viel beachtete Arbeiten vorgelegt. Zuletzt hat er sich verstärkt der interdisziplinären Forschung zugewandt: Smerlak arbeitet an der Grenze von Physik und Biologie und verknüpft dabei auf innovative Weise die statistische Physik mit der theoretischen Biologie. Konkret widmet er sich den komplexen Systemen, großen Netzwerken, die sich ohne zentrale Kontrolle in hohem Maße selbst organisieren und ein komplexes Kollektivverhalten aufweisen. Solche Systeme finden sich im Bereich der Wirtschaft oder der Soziologie, insbesondere aber in der Biologie. Hier wendet Matteo Smerlak Verfahren der statistischen Physik auf die Evolutionsbiologie an, um universelle Gesetzmäßigkeiten und statistische Gesetze der Evolution herzuleiten. Als Sofja Kovalevskaja-Preisträger will er damit grundlegende Fragen aufgreifen, wie etwa die nach der Vorhersagbarkeit von evolutionären Entwicklungen.

Gastinstitut: Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften, Leipzig
Gastgeber: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Jost

Matteo Smerlak
Foto: Perimeter
Institute
  • Dr. Matteo Smerlak
    wurde 1984 in Frankreich geboren und machte 2007 seinen Master in Theoretischer Physik an der École normale supérieure in Paris. Für seine Promotion, die er 2011 abschloss, wechselte er an die Aix-Marseille Université. Anschließend forschte er zwei Jahre als Junior Scientist am Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik (Albert-Einstein-Institut) in Potsdam. Seit 2013 ist Matteo Smerlak als Postdoctoral Researcher am Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo, Kanada. Zwischendurch führten ihn immer wieder Lehrtätigkeiten an die African Institutes for Mathematical Sciences in Südafrika, Kamerun und Ghana.


Kontakt

Kristina Güroff
Nina Hafeneger
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-455/450
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de

Georg Scholl
Leiter Referat
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-258
Fax: +49 228 833-441
presse(at)avh.de