Ambassador Scientists

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s Ambassador Scientists disseminate information about Germany as a research location at universities and research institutions at home and abroad, focussing particularly on the Foundation’s sponsorship programmes and international network. They work for the Foundation in an honorary capacity as alumni, hosts or reviewers.

Abroad the Ambassador Scientists also advise the Humboldt Foundation and other German funding organisations on local programme promotion and networking. They are points of contact for Humboldt alumni and Humboldt associations. Currently 42 Ambassador Scientists in 30 countries are supporting the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

Country Name Home institution E-Mail Research area Place  
Argentina Chicote, Prof. Dr. Gloria Universidad Nacional de La Plata, gchicote@conicet.gov.ar Romance Literature La Plata  
Brazil de Araujo, Prof. Dr. Marcelo Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UERJ) dodeskadan@yahoo.co.uk Practical Philosophy Rio de Janeiro  
  Stucchi De Camargo, Prof. Dr. Andréa Simone Universidade de Sao Paulo (USP) andreasc@ifsc.usp.br Spectroscopy Sao Paulo  
  Martins, Prof. Dr. Leonardo Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte (UFRN) leonardomartins1@yahoo.de General Public Law, Administrative Law Natal  
Bulgaria Bacvarov, Dr. Krum Ernstov Bulgarian Academy of Sciences krum.bacvarov@gmail.com Prehistory Sofia  
Cameroon Simo, Prof. Dr. David Universite de Yaounde I simobiegain20@yahoo.fr Modern German literature Yaounde  
Canada Grondin, Prof. Dr. Jean Université de Montréal jean.grondin@umontreal.ca Philosophy Montréal  
  Orvig, Prof. Dr. Chris University of British Columbia orvig@chem.ubc.ca Molecular chemistry, complex chemistry Vancouver  
Chile N.N          
China, PR Zhao, Prof. Dr. Leilian Renmin University of China leiliantieshan@hotmail.com Modern German Literature Peking  
  Zou, Prof. Dr. Aihua East China University of Science and Technology aihuazou@ecust.edu.cn Physical chemistry Shanghai  
Columbia Uribe, Prof. Dr. Bernardo Universidad del Norte bjongbloed@uninorte.edu.co Geometry, Topology Barranquilla  
  Veloza Salcedo, Prof. Dr. Luz Stella Universidad Nacional de Colombia Lsvelozas@unal.edu.co Radiotherapy and Radiobiology Bogota  
Egypt Hanafy, Dr. Moemen Sayed National Research Center mshanafy@yahoo.com Pure research in plant biology Cairo  
Ethiopia Mekonnen, Prof. Dr. Yalemtsehay Addis Ababa University yalemtmek55@gmail.com Physiology Addis Ababa  
France Defrance, Prof. Dr. Corine Universite de Paris I (Pantheon-Sorbonne) corine.defrance@wanadoo.fr Modern history Paris  
India Pandurang, Prof. Dr. Mala Dr. B.M.N. College of Home Science mpandu@bmncollege.com Other Regional Studies, Languages and Cultures Mumbai  
  Janardhana Raju, Prof. Dr. Nandimandalam Jawaharlal Nehru University rajunj7@gmail.com Geochemistry (Inorganic, Organic, Biological) New Delhi  
  Sen Gupta, Prof. Dr. Sayam Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) sayam.sengupta@iiserkol.ac.in Inorganic Molecular Chemistry Kolkata  
  Roy, Dr. Nirupam Indian Institute of Science nroy@iisc.ac.in Astronomy Bengaluru  
Iran Balalaie, Prof. Dr. Saeed K. N. Toossi University of Technology balalaie@kntu.ac.ir Organic chemistry Teheran  
Israel Sergi, Dr. Omer Tel Aviv University omertelaviv@gmail.com Theology / Archaeology Tel Aviv  
Italy N.N.          
Japan Takayama, Prof. Dr. h.c. Kanako Kyoto University takayama@law.kyoto-u.ac.jp General criminal law Kyoto  
Jordan Hayajneh, Prof. Dr. Hani Yarmouk University hani.hayajneh@googlemail.com Semitic studies Irbid  
Kenya Matasyoh, Prof. Dr. Josphat Egerton University josphat2001@yahoo.com Natural products chemistry Egerton  
Korea Tsche, Prof. Dr. Kwang-Jun Kyung Hee University asgard@khu.ac.kr General Private Law Seoul  
Malaysia Pradhan, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Biswajeet University Putra Malaysia biswajeet24@gmail.com Geodesy Kuala Lumpur  
Mexiko Castro-Obregon, Prof. Dr. Susana Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico scastro@ifc.unam.mx Animal Genetics, Cell and Developmental Biology    
  Saldana, Dr. Juan Munoz Centro de Investigacion y de Estudios Avanzados (CINVESTAV) jmunoz@cinvestav.mx Materials Engineering    
Morocco Lahkim Bennani, Prof. Dr. Azelarabe Universite Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdellah Lazelarabe@hotmail.com Philosophy Fes  
Nepal Bhattarai, Prof. Dr. Tribikram Tribhuvan University drtbb@mail.com.np Plant Physiology Kathmandu  
Nigeria N.N.          
Pakistan Mehnaz, Prof. Dr. Samina Forman Christian College saminamehnaz@gmail.com Microbiology Lahore  
Poland N.N.          
Romania Babes, Prof. Dr. Alexandru University of Bucharest alexandrubabes@hotmail.com Cellular Neuroscience Bucharest  
Russian Federation Yurkovskaya, Alexandra V., Prof. Dr. Russian Academy of Sciences yurk@tomo.nsc.ru Physical chemistry Novosibirsk  
  Kovalev, Prof. Dr. Yuri Y. Russian Academy of Sciences, Astro Space Center yykovalev@gmail.com Astrophysics Moscow  
  Polubojarinowa, Prof. Dr. Larissa St. Petersburg State University larpolub@hotmail.com General and Comparative Literature St. Petersburg  
South Africa Van Otterlo, Prof. Dr. Willem A. L. University of Stellenbosch wvo@sun.ac.za Organic Molecular Chemistry Stellenbosch  
Taiwan Chang, Prof. Dr. Ku-ming Academia Sinica kchang@sinica.edu.tw History of science Taipei City  
Tunisia Bouaziz, Dr. Moncef University of Sfax moncef.bouaziz@gmail.com Geodesy, Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing, Geoinformatics, Cartography Kartographie Sfax  
Turkey Arkin Olgar, Prof. Dr. Handan Ankara University holgar@eng.ankara.edu.tr Statistical Physics, Soft Matter, Biological Physics, Nonlinear Dynamics Ankara  
USA Humboldtians on Campus Washington, D.C.        
Uzbekistan Mirzaev, Prof. Dr. Sirojiddin Academy of Sciences mirzaev@web.de Physics Tashkent  
Vietnam Hoang, Prof. Dr. Anh Tuan Vietnam National University (VNU) tuan@ussh.edu.vn Early Modern History Hanoi