Press release

Awards for researchers from developing and transition countries

  • from
  • No. 33/2018
Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation presents its Georg Forster Research Awards, each valued at €60,000.

Seven researchers will receive this year’s Georg Forster Research Awards, which are granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The award honours researchers from developing and transition countries who have earned international recognition for their research work and seek to solve development-related issues. The award winners are nominated by specialist colleagues from Germany and invited to establish or expand cooperations with them. Valued at €60,000 each, the Georg Forster Research Awards are financed by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).

These are the newly selected award winners:

  • Constitutional law scholar Jesús María Casal Hernández from Venezuela is the director of the Department of Public Law at Universidad Católica Andrés Bello. He will intensify and expand his collaboration with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law in Heidelberg.
  • Linguist Marleen Haboud is a professor at Pontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador in Quito. The award will enable her to collaborate with Ruhr-Universität Bochum.
  • Petrologist Hassan Mohamed Helmy is a professor at the Department of Geology at Minia University in Egypt. In Germany he will work with specialist colleagues at the University of Bonn.
  • Theoretical physicist Dejan Milošević from Bosnia-Herzegovina is a professor at the University of Sarajevo. He will cooperate with the Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy (MBI) in Berlin.
  • Pharmacologist Petra Obioma Nnamani is a coordinator for public health & environmental sustainability at the University of Nigeria Nsukka. She will work with specialist colleagues at the Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research Saarland (HIPS).
  • Immunologist Ilesh Vinodrai Jani is the director general of the National Institute of Health (Instituto Nacional de Saúde) in Maputo, Mozambique. He will use the award to cooperate with the Department of Infectious Diseases & Tropical Medicine at the University of Munich.
  • Chemist Egmont Rohwer from South Africa is a professor at the University of Pretoria. He will cooperate with specialist colleagues at the University of Rostock and the Helmholtz Zentrum Munich – German Research Center for Environmental Health.

The Humboldt Foundation is currently accepting nominations for the next round of the Georg Forster Research Award. The closing date is 28 February 2019. 

This research award is named after the naturalist, travel writer and journalist Georg Forster (1754-1794), a friend of Alexander von Humboldt.


The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time researching in Germany. The Foundation maintains a network of well over 29,000 Humboldtians from all disciplines in more than 140 countries worldwide – including 55 Nobel Prize winners.

Previous Press Release New Alexander von Humboldt Professors chosen
Next Press Release Press invitation to the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation’s New Year’s Reception on 17 January in Berlin