Internet Explorer not supported

Please choose an alternative web browser to fully use our website.

Scholars at Risk Network - Germany Section

The German Section of the global Scholars at Risk Network is composed of German universities, research institutions and science organisations that campaign to support and offer sanctuary to researchers under threat as well as to protect academic freedom.

Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


SAR Germany Section – Secretariat
Katja Machacsek
Programme Officer
Philipp Schwartz Initiative
Phone: +49 (0)228 833 182
Fax: +49 (0)228 833 114


Frank Albrecht
Programme Director
Philipp Schwartz-Initiative



The German section of the Scholars at Risk Network (for short: SAR Germany Section) was established under the auspices of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation on 20 September 2016 in Bonn. The SAR Germany Section organises, amongst other things, a series of events, all with the aim of promoting sustained experience and information sharing on the situation of endangered researchers in Germany and beyond. Participation in these events is open to all interested universities and research institutions. Severe cases of endangerment of single researchers or groups of researchers may be reported to the German Rectors’ Conference (Hochschulrektorenkonferenz), a member of the SAR Germany Section’s Steering Group (PDF) (contact person: Dr. Gordon Bölling, boelling[at]

The members of the SAR Germany Section

All institutions in Germany that have registered with the Scholars at Risk Network also belong to the SAR Germany Section. Until 31 March 2022, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has taken on the role of central contact point for the German Section. German universities and research institutions are invited to become members of the worldwide SAR Network and thus automatically join the SAR Germany Section.

All member institutions of the German network and their respective contact persons can be found in the legend to the map of Germany below. In some federal states there are also regional networks.

The Scholars at Risk Network in Europe

The activities of the national Scholars at Risk sections in Europe are supported by Scholars at Risk Europe, the European office of the global Scholars at Risk network. SAR Europe is hosted at Maynooth University, Ireland. It coordinates InSPIREurope, an ambitious 10-partner Europe-wide initiative to support researchers at risk. Partners include the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Collège de France, the European University Association, as well as universitites in Norway, Sweden, Poland, and Greece. InSPIREurope is funded under the European Commission’s Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions, and will forge a coordinated, cross-sectoral, Europe-wide alliance for researchers at risk. Please find more information on the project here.

The worldwide Scholars at Risk Network

The SAR Germany Section is part of the worldwide Scholars at Risk Network (for short: SAR Network), an international network of more than 500 universities in 38 countries which support researchers under threat. The worldwide SAR Network’s offices in New York can help to arrange placements for endangered researchers at host institutions and to ascertain risk status for the Philipp Schwartz Initiative.

*founding member

RWTH Aachen
Dr. Henriette Finsterbusch
E-Mail: henriette.finsterbusch[at]

U Bayreuth*
Thorsten Parchent
E-Mail: thorsten.parchent[at]

Alice Salomon HS Berlin*
Prof. Dr. Esra Erdem
E-Mail: esra.erdem[at]

Bard College Berlin*
Prof. Dr. Kerry Bystrom
E-Mail: k.bystrom[at]

FU Berlin*
Dr. Stefan Rummel
E-Mail: stefan.rummel[at]

HWR Berlin*
Prof. Dr. Susanne Meyer
E-Mail: susanne.meyer[at]

HU Berlin
Dr. David Glowsky
E-Mail: david.glowsky[at]

International Psychoanalytic University Berlin*
Carmen Scher
E-Mail: carmen.scher[at]

TU Berlin
Baris Ünal
E-Mail: baris.uenal[at]

FH Bielefeld
Judith Peltz
E-Mail: judith.peltz[at]

U Bielefeld*
Dr. Markus Symmank
E-Mail: markus.symmank[at]

RU Bochum*
Iris Vernekohl
E-Mail: iris.vernekohl[at]

U Bonn*
Jessica Greis-Mills

U Bremen
Julia Holz
E-Mail: julia.holz[at]

Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (German Academic Exchange Service, DAAD)
Dr. Gisela Zimmermann
E-Mail: zimmermann[at]

TU Darmstadt*
Aaron Szczerba
E-Mail: aaron.szczerba[at]

Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Kathrin Kohs
E-Mail: kathrin.kohs[at]

TU Dresden*
Natalie Jane Brindle
E-Mail: natalie_jane.brindle[at]

U Düsseldorf
Dr. Sigrun Wegener-Feldbrügge
E-Mail: wegenerf[at]

U Duisburg-Essen*
Petra Günther
E-Mail: welcome[at]

KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Marina Mayer

Europa-Universität Flensburg
Antje Dreyer
E-Mail: antje.dreyer[at]

Europa-U Frankfurt (Oder)
Claudia Casiano-Perez
E-Mail: casiano[at]

U Freiburg
Katharina Aly
E-Mail: katharina.aly[at]

U Gießen
Silvia Boide
E-Mail: silvia.boide[at]

U Göttingen*
Dr. Philipp Jeserich
E-Mail: international[at]

U Greifswald
Prof. Dr. Cordelia Heß
E-Mail: cordelia.hess[at]

FernUni Hagen
Dr. Ingrid Thaler
E-Mail: ingrid.thaler[at]

U Hamburg*
Kristin Günther
E-Mail: kristin.guenther[at]

U Hannover
Manuela Schimmels
E-Mail: manuela.schimmels[at]

Stiftung (Foundation) U Hildesheim
Dr. Christian Dittmann
E-Mail: christian.dittmann[at]

Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (German Rectors' Conference)
Dr. Gordon Bölling
E-Mail: boelling[at]

Marijke Wahlers
E-Mail: wahlers[at]

U Hohenheim
Hans-Peter Letzgus
E-Mail: Hans-Peter.Letzgus[at]

Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
Dr. Claudia Hillinger
E-Mail: claudia.hillinger[at]

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology*
Dr. Petra Roth
E-Mail: petra.roth[at]

U Kassel
Dr. Randolf Oberschmidt
E-Mail: oberschmidt[at]

TH Köln
Martina Brüderle
E-Mail: martina.bruederle[at]

U Köln*
Dr. Johannes Müller
E-Mail: johannes.mueller[at]

U Konstanz
Dr. Johannes Dingler
E-Mail: johannes.dingler[at]

HS Mannheim*
Prof. Dr. Dieter Leonhard
E-Mail: rektor[at]

Dr. Michaela Hergersberg
E-Mail: michaela.hergersberg[at]

TU München
Katharina Schumacher
E-Mail: schumacher[at]

U Münster
Silke-Maria Homeyer
E-Mail: maria.homeyer[at]

U Paderborn
Davina Stiller
E-Mail: davina.stiller[at]

U Potsdam
Claudia Rößling
E-Mail: claudia.roessling[at]

University Alliance Ruhr Liaison Office New York
Peter Rosenbaum
E-Mail: rosenbaum[at]

U Siegen*
Dr. Nina Fenn
E-Mail: nina.fenn[at]

U Tübingen*
Kirsten Sonnenschein
E-Mail: kirsten.sonnenschein[at]

U Wuppertal
Andrea Bieck
E-Mail: bieck[at]

  • Baden-Wuerttemberg (Contact details to follow)
  • Bavaria (Contact details to follow)
  • North Rhine-Westphalia (Contact details to follow)
  • University Alliance Ruhr (Contact: Peter Rosenbaum, E-Mail: rosenbaum[at]
SAR Sections are groups of higher education institutions and associations, that are members of the SAR network, nationally or regionally focused and organized specifically to coordinate participation in SAR activities. Unless otherwise indicated, the views represented by a SAR section, its members, or its affiliates reflect those of the originating author or section, and do not necessarily represent the views of SAR, other SAR sections, individual members, affiliates, board, staff, or sponsors. The use of the SAR name, logo, or other identifying material is for the sole purpose of identifying the relationship of the section, its members, or its affiliates with SAR, subject to approval of such use by the SAR board, as provided in the SAR bylaws.