Scholars at Risk Network - Germany Section

The German Section of the global Scholars at Risk Network is composed of German universities, research institutions and science organisations that campaign to support and offer sanctuary to researchers under threat as well as to protect academic freedom.

Scholars at Risk Network - Germany Section

The German Section of the Scholars at Risk Network (for short: SAR Germany Section) was established under the auspices of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation on 20 September 2016 in Bonn. The German SAR Network organises, amongst other things, a series of events, all with the aim of promoting sustained experience and information sharing on the situation of endangered researchers in Germany and beyond. Participation in these events is open to all interested universities and research institutions.

The members of the SAR Germany Section

All institutions in Germany that have registered with the Scholars at Risk Network also belong to the German SAR Network. Until 31 March 2022, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation has taken on the role of central contact point for the German Section. German universities and research institutions are invited to become members of the worldwide SAR Network and thus automatically join the SAR Germany Section.

The worldwide Scholars at Risk Network

The SAR Germany Section is part of the worldwide Scholars at Risk Network (for short: SAR Network), an international network of more than 500 universities in 38 countries which support researchers under threat. The worldwide SAR Network’s offices in New York can help to arrange placements for endangered researchers at host institutions and to ascertain risk status for the Philipp Schwartz-Initiative.

List of members including contacts and contact information

*founding member
  • U Bayreuth*
    Contact: Thorsten Parchent

    E-Mail: thorsten.parchent(at)

  • Alice Salomon HS Berlin*
    Contact: Prof. Dr. Esra Erdem

    E-Mail: esra.erdem(at)

  • Bard College Berlin*
    Contact: Prof. Dr. Kerry Bystrom


  • FU Berlin*
    Contact: Dr. Stefan Rummel

    E-Mail: stefan.rummel(at)

  • HWR Berlin*
    Contact: Prof. Dr. Susanne Meyer

    E-Mail: susanne.meyer(at)

  • HU Berlin
    Contact: Sarah Hartmann

    E-Mail: sarah.hartmann(at)

  • International Psychoanalytic University Berlin*
    Contact: Carmen Scher

    E-Mail: carmen.scher(at)

  • U Bielefeld*
    Contact: Eleni Andrianopulu

    E-Mail: eleni.andrianopulu(at)

  • RU Bochum*
    Contact: Iris Vernekohl

    E-Mail: iris.vernekohl(at)

  • U Bonn*
    Contact: Simon Benhöfer

    E-Mail: benhoefer(at)

  • U Bremen
    Contact: Julia Holz

    E-Mail: julia.holz(at)

  • TU Darmstadt*
    Contact: Ulrike Buntenbruch

    Kontakt: buntenbruch(at);

  • Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
    Contact: Kathrin Kohs

    E-Mail: kathrin.kohs(at)

  • TU Dresden*
    Contact: Claudia Reichert

    E-Mail: claudia.reichert(at)

  • U Düsseldorf
    Contact: Prof. Dr. Andrea Hülsen-Esch

    E-Mail: prorektorin.internationales(at)

  • U Duisburg-Essen*
    Contact: Petra Günther

    E-Mail: petra.guenther(at)

  • KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
    Contact: Dr. Martin Groos

    E-Mail: m.groos(at)

  • U Erlangen-Nürnberg*
    Contact: Dr. Natalia Jörg

    E-Mail: natalia.joerg(at)

  • Europa-U Frankfurt (Oder)
    Contact: Julian Irlenkäuser

    E-Mail: irlenkaeuser(at)

  • U Freiburg
    Contact: Katharina Aly

    E-Mail: katharina.aly(at)

  • German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)
    Contact: Julia Kracht

    E-Mail: kracht(at)

  • German Rectors' Conference (Hochschulrektorenkonferenz)
    Dr. Gordon Bölling

    E-Mail: boelling(at)

    Marijke Wahlers

    E-Mail: wahlers(at)

  • U Giessen
    Contact: Barbara Dralle

    E-Mail: barbara.dralle(at)

  • U Göttingen*
    Contact: Nadine Dreyer

    E-Mail: nadine.dreyer(at)

  • U Hamburg*
    Contact: Jan Frömming

    E-Mail: jan.froemming(at)

  • Foundation U Hildesheim
    Contact: Dr. Johanna Jobst

    E-Mail: johanna.jobst(at)

  • U Hohenheim
    Contact: Hans-Peter Letzgus

    E-Mail: hans-peter.letzgus(at)

  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology*
    Contact: Dr. Petra Roth

    E-Mail: petra.roth(at)

  • U Kassel
    Contact: Dr. Randolf Oberschmidt

    E-Mail: oberschmidt(at)

  • TH Köln
    Contact: Carola Janda

    E-Mail: carola.janda(at)

  • U Köln*
    Contact: Dr. Johannes Müller

    E-Mail: johannes.mueller(at)

  • U Konstanz
    Contact: Dr. Johannes Dingler

    E-Mail: johannes.dingler(at)

  • HS Mannheim*
    Contact: Prof. Dr. Dieter Leonhard

    E-Mail: rektor(at)

  • Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
    Contact: Dr. Barbara Spielmann

    E-Mail: spielmann(at)

  • U Münster
    Contact: Silke-Maria Homeyer

    E-Mail: maria.homeyer(at); audrey.busch(at); nina.nolte(at)

  • U Paderborn
    Contact: Daniela Gerdes

    E-Mail: gerdes(at)

  • U Potsdam
    Contact: Claudia Rößling

    E-Mail: claudia.roessling(at)

  • University Alliance Ruhr (RU Bochum, TU Dortmund, U Duisburg-Essen)
    Contact: Peter Rosenbaum

    E-Mail: rosenbaum(at)

  • U Siegen*
    Contact: Dr. Nina Fenn

    E-Mail: nina.fenn(at)

  • U Tübingen*
    Contact: Kirsten Sonnenschein

    E-Mail: kirsten.sonnenschein(at)


SAR Germany Section – Secretariat
Katja Machacsek
Programme Officer
Strategic Planning Division
Phone: +49 (0)228 833 182


Dr. Barbara Sheldon
Head of Strategic Planning Division
Managing Director Philipp Schwartz Initiative

Frank Albrecht
Programme Director
Philipp Schwartz-Initiative