The Humboldt Foundation congratulates funding recipient upon being chosen to receive a Leibniz Prize

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation would like to extend its congratulations to the newly selected winners of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize! The Humboldtian Eike Kiltz is also one of the ten researchers being honoured by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

  • from
Portraitbild eines lachenden Mannes mit braunen Haaren und einer Kapuzenjacke.
Leibniz Award winner and Humboldtian Eike Kiltz
Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

The theoretical computer scientist Eike Kiltz, an international expert in the area of IT security and practice-oriented modern cryptography, will receive the Leibniz Prize for his fundamental and groundbreaking work in the field of public key cryptography. This is a process that enables information to be securely encrypted and communicated via public channels, the establishment of secure connections and the digital signing of documents. With his work, Leibniz Prize winner Kiltz has been laying the foundation for new cryptographic methods, which would be secure even when quantum computers are potentially used, the DFG stated in its announcement of the award.

Eike Kiltz has held the chair for cryptography at Ruhr-Universität Bochum since 2010 and currently heads the Cluster of Excellence “Cyber Security in the Age of Large-Scale Adversaries” (CASA) as one of its speakers. He received a Sofja Kovalevskaja Award for outstanding young researchers from the Humboldt Foundation in 2010. 

The chemist Peter Schreiner, who in his capacity as a Henriette Herz Scout recruits talented researchers from abroad, is also one of the latest Leibniz Prize winners. He was awarded the prize for his outstanding work in the field of physical organic chemistry. He has been a professor at the Institute of Organic Chemistry at the University of Giessen since 2002.  

And the newly selected Leibniz Award winners Tobias Erb, Jonas Grethlein, Ulrike Herzschuh, Rohini Kuner and Jörn Leonhard are also part of the Humboldt Network: They all serve on a voluntary basis as hosts to individuals who have been sponsored by the Humboldt Foundation and come from abroad for research stays in Germany. 

Each Leibniz Prize comes with €2.5 million in funding. The award ceremony for the Leibniz Prizes will be held on 13 March 2024 in the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Berlin.

Previous News Release A common history
Next News Release Anniversary: the CAPES-Humboldt Research Fellowship turns ten