Press release

Alexander von Humboldt Professorships to be awarded on 13 May in Berlin

Selected to receive an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, Germany’s most valuable research award, 12 top researchers are moving to a German university.

  • from
Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship brings top international researchers from abroad to German universities. The award, which comes with up to €5 million in funding, offers optimal financial conditions and maximum flexibility for conducting leading-edge research in Germany. The new Humboldt Professors are relocating from other countries to Germany, where they will work at research institutes in Berlin, Bochum, Braunschweig, Darmstadt, Erlangen, Freiburg, Hannover, Munich, Potsdam and Stuttgart.

The awards will be presented to them by Federal Minister of Education and Research Bettina Stark-Watzinger and Robert Schlögl, President of the Humboldt Foundation.

Time: 13 May 2024, 7 p.m. (doors open at 6 p.m.)
Venue: Deutsche Telekom AG, Berlin office, Französische Str. 33 a-c, 10117 Berlin AG, Französische Str. 33a-c, 10117 Berlin

Information regarding all of this year’s Humboldt Professors is available here. Photos from the event will be made available for downloading on the day after the award ceremony.

To receive accreditation to the event, please send a copy of your press ID by e-mail to presse[at] It is permitted to film, photograph and make audio recordings during the award ceremony. We would be happy to arrange interviews with the award winners. These interviews can, by individual arrangement, be conducted in advance.
Press contact on location: Kristina Güroff, Tel. 0151-14015796

Recipients of an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship:

  • F. Ömer Ilday, Physics / Materials Science -> Bochum
    is moving from Bilkent University in Ankara to Ruhr University Bochum
  • Benoît Ladoux, Biophysics -> Erlangen
    is leaving the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS) to join FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Michaela Mahlberg, Applied Linguistics -> Erlangen
    is moving from the University of Birmingham to FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • J. Daniel Prades, Electronic Technology -> Braunschweig
    is relocating from the University of Barcelona to TU Braunschweig
  • Robert Raußendorf, Quantum Information -> Hannover
    is moving from the University of British Columbia in Vancouver to Leibniz University Hannover
  • Dieter Schmalstieg, Computer Graphics and Visualisation -> Stuttgart
    is moving from Graz University of Technology to the University of Stuttgart
  • Ariel Dora Stern, Digital Health -> Potsdam
    is switching from the Harvard Business School to the University of Potsdam (Hasso Plattner Institute)
  • Arnim Wiek, Sustainability Science -> Freiburg
    is leaving Arizona State University to make the switch to the University of Freiburg

Recipients of an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship for Artificial Intelligence:

  • Stefanie Jegelka, Machine Learning -> München
    is moving from MIT to  the Technical University of Munich - TUM
  • Marcus Rohrbach, Multimodal Reliable AI -> Darmstadt
    is coming to TU Darmstadt from Meta AI
  • Peter N. Robinson, Computational Biology -> Berlin
    is relocating from Jackson Laboratory, Connecticut, to Freie Universität Berlin and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Suvrit Sra, Mathematics and Machine Learning -> München
    is leaving MIT to join  the Technical University of Munich - TUM

The livestream of the award ceremony will be available on 13 May.

(Press release 8/2024)

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time conducting research in Germany. The Foundation maintains an interdisciplinary network of well over 30,000 Humboldtians in more than 140 countries around the world – including 61 Nobel Prize winners.

Previous Press Release More than 120 researchers from 35 countries to attend network meeting in Magdeburg
Next Press Release “Cutting-edge research needs freedom”: Humboldt Professorships are bringing top international researchers to Germany