Press release

Invitation: Alexander von Humboldt Professorships to be awarded on 11 May in Berlin

Selected to receive Germany’s most valuable research award, 12 top researchers are moving to a German university. The presentation will be broadcast live.

  • from

The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship brings top international researchers from abroad to German universities. The award, which comes with up to €5 million in funding, offers optimal financial conditions and maximum flexibility for conducting leading-edge research in Germany. The new Humboldt Professors are relocating from other countries to Germany, where they will work at universities in Aachen, Darmstadt, Dortmund, Dresden, Erlangen, Jena, Karlsruhe, Leipzig, Mainz and Saarbrücken.

The awards will be presented by Sabine Döring, State Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, and Robert Schlögl, who assumed office as president of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation on 1 January 2023.

Time: 11 May 2023, 7 p.m. (doors open at 6 p.m.)
Venue: Deutsche Telekom AG, Berlin office, Französische Str. 33a-c, 10117 Berlin

Evening programme (PDF, 127 KB) 

Information regarding all of this year’s Humboldt Professors is available here. Photos from the event will be made available for download on the respective award winner’s dossier page on the day after the award ceremony.

To receive accreditation to the event, please send a copy of your press ID by e-mail to presse[at] by 9 May. It is permitted to film, photograph and make audio recordings during the award ceremony. We would be happy to arrange interviews with the award winners. These interviews can, by individual arrangement, be conducted in advance.

Press contact on location: Kristina Güroff, Tel. 0151-14015796

Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Recipients of an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship:

  • Bas E. Dutilh, Bioinformatics -> Jena
    has moved from Utrecht University to the University of Jena
  • Miki Ebisuya, Developmental Biology -> Dresden
    has relocated from EMBL Barcelona to TU Dresden
  • Hanna Kokko, Theoretical Evolutionary Ecology -> Mainz
    has moved from the University of Zurich to the Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz
  • Tina Malti, Developmental Psychology -> Leipzig
    has moved from the University of Toronto to Leipzig University
  • Edvardas Narevicius, Atomic and Molecular Physics -> Dortmund
    has relocated from the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot to TU Dortmund University

Recipients of an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship for Artificial Intelligence:

  • Hector Geffner, Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning -> Aachen
    has relocated from the University of Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona to RWTH Aachen University
  • Vincent C. Müller, Philosophy / Ethics of AI -> Erlangen
    has relocated from Eindhoven University of Technology to the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Sayan Mukherjee, Mathematical Statistics -> Leipzig
    has moved from Duke University in Durham to Leipzig University and the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences
  • André Platzer, Theoretical Compute Science / Artificial Intelligence -> Karlsruhe
    has moved from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh to the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • Heike Vallery, Medical Robotics -> Aachen
    has moved from TU Delft to RWTH Aachen University
  • Ingmar Weber, Computational Social Science -> Saarbrücken
    has moved from Hamad Bin Khalifa University in Doha to Saarland University
  • Angela Yu, Computational Neuroscience -> Darmstadt
    has switched from the University of California San Diego to the Technical University of Darmstadt

The livestream of the award ceremony will be available on 11 May.

(Press release 9/2023)

Every year, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation enables more than 2,000 researchers from all over the world to spend time conducting research in Germany. The Foundation maintains an interdisciplinary network of well over 30,000 Humboldtians in more than 140 countries around the world – including 59 Nobel Prize winners.

Previous Press Release More than 200 researchers from 54 countries to attend network meeting in Mainz
Next Press Release New Humboldt Professorships conferred: Robert Schlögl makes case for strong research funding