Dossier Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award

Pattern of green spots with lettering Max Planck Humboldt Research Award
Saturn-ähnliches Dekortationsbild


Press, Communications and Marketing
Tel.: +49 228 833-144
Fax: +49 228 833-441

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and Max Planck Society International Research Award

From 2018, a joint Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and Max Planck Society award will be granted on an annually rotating basis to a research in the natural and engineering sciences, the life sciences, or the humanities and social sciences. It is being financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Every year, one researcher from abroad with outstanding future potential will be honoured.

Max Planck-Humboldt Research Award: Programme website 

The award seeks to recruit outstanding and particularly innovative international researchers to work at German universities and research institutions for a fixed-term period, which they can organise flexibly. The award amount of €1.5 million is earmarked for building a temporary research group in Germany or developing innovative research formats. In addition, the award winner will receive €80,000 in personal funding.

In 2017, the existing award granted by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and the Max Planck Society, the "Max Planck Research Award", was re-designed. A two-tier, science-driven selection procedure will now identify three candidates who are interested in a flexible research residency at a German research institution, preferably a university. At the same time, it will be determined whether the German partner is an appropriate match in terms of research direction and concrete plans for collaboration. A selection committee, which will include the Presidents of the Humboldt Foundation and the Max Planck Society, will then select the award winner.

Every year from 2004 to 2016, one researcher working in Germany and one working abroad were granted a theme-based award. Over this period, the award amount of the “Max Planck Research Award” was €750,000 each.

Supported by